bulbul Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 Gussa zyaada aata hai; ab pehle se kam aata hai, lekin usske aane ka kaaran kya hai, that's the important thing. When I look at the mediocrity of Indian cinema, when I look at some rubbish being made and people hailing it because it is touching 100 crores, I get angry. I say ki tum logon ka koi dharam imaan hai nahi kya? about Bhansali He told some interviewer that you never came here after "Guzaarish", you're here now - and he's right. Maybe this is some kind of revenge he's taking on the mediocrity that exists. He's seeking some kind of recognition and acceptance, and if it's coming through this kind of cinema, then it's sad. But I would like to meet and talk to him to understand that what drives an artist to this. I hope I'll never be driven to this he may be right in one way saying that rubbish films make so much money... but end of day movie is afterall a medium of entertainment for most people...i dont think a hard working , daily wage worker wil worry more about intelectual contents ..end of a hard weeks work he may just prefer a silly laugh and over the top action ... http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/bollywood/news-interviews/Rubbish-films-are-making-100-crore/articleshow/14124072.cms
Prakat Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 I don't know why he should be bothered about how much money mediocre films are making. That's how it always was and is all over the world. The 40 rupees that goes into the Rowdy Rathore box office will never come into the Dhobi Ghat box office. So it's not like somehow people are getting distracted by crap films and not going to better films. The guy who will watch RR won't spend his money to watch DG even if it was the only film playing in his local cinema. People with stories to tell and who can make it with an appropriate sensibility should focus on getting their money back and then some. If they happen to make a lot more then all the better. But they will always remain the back page news in the Box Office Monthlies.
Crookbond Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 I don't know why he should be bothered about how much money mediocre films are making. That's how it always was and is all over the world. The 40 rupees that goes into the Rowdy Rathore box office will never come into the Dhobi Ghat box office.So it's not like somehow people are getting distracted by crap films and not going to better films. The guy who will watch RR won't spend his money to watch DG even if it was the only film playing in his local cinema. People with stories to tell and who can make it with an appropriate sensibility should focus on getting their money back and then some. If they happen to make a lot more then all the better. But they will always remain the back page news in the Box Office Monthlies. :hmmmm2:
Prakat Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 :hmmmm2: 40 is price of a ticket in small towns where these movies make their money. The majority of BO money comes from non-cosmo India, which is why these movies get made the way they do in the first place. If this money wasn't there then we would have more films that speak to us. rr/dg=abbreviations of movies referred to earlier in post.
Crookbond Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 40 Rupees - Sach Mein? IDK - Which towns are these?
bulbul Posted June 15, 2012 Author Posted June 15, 2012 40 Rupees - Sach Mein? IDK - Which towns are these? Even in Bangalore we have small theters show movie for less than 100 PK is right Multiplexes are not the only sources for generating money... And movies like RR work in both Multiplex and single screens while movies like Shanghai wont work in single theters..
veer Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 I don't know why he should be bothered about how much money mediocre films are making. That's how it always was and is all over the world. He is not worried about the money part.. he is saying people are calling some crappy movie as 'great' because it made that much money.. seriously cant believe Dabang made that much money.. and then singham came and then RR.. I think it's more to do with police cop being 'super powerful' fights with 'super powerful ' gunda that keeps ppl going. If i take an american buddy of mine and show him any of these three movies, he will laugh at bollywood... but that's how the trend is now.
Prakat Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 He is not worried about the money part.. he is saying people are calling some crappy movie as 'great' because it made that much money.. seriously cant believe Dabang made that much money.. and then singham came and then RR.. I think it's more to do with police cop being 'super powerful' fights with 'super powerful ' gunda that keeps ppl going. If i take an american buddy of mine and show him any of these three movies, he will laugh at bollywood... but that's how the trend is now. I like VVC. We need more people like him. And he is backing up his words with actions. He is basically the anti-thesis of Mahesh Bhatt. Mahesh embraced cynicism and it shows in how all his movies now pander to the lowest common denominator.
GautiMaan Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 I think they will remake a Vijaykanth movie next:hehe:
velu Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 I think they will remake a Vijaykanth movie next:hehe: Narasimha :yay:
Clarke Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 Does get one thinking though, movies like Dabangg & Singham as well as less successful ones like BHTB have generally very good reviews among critics.
DomainK Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 It's a commercial market. Some films sell, some dont. Great films with low entertainment value will earn much less than bad films with high entertainment value. Yes, a Saawariya will always earn way less than a Bodyguard. Stop whinning.
ganeshran Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 Have had this conversation plenty of times with friends who bemoan the lack of quality cinema in the Indian industry. The main problem is that movies like Rowdy Rathore and Singham make more money and are considered safe bets by the producers. They are just servicing a demand for such masala entertainment that exists. Why Hollywood is able to market a larger proportion of more serious cinema amongst the masala entertainers it produces is because it serves a larger audience and even movies targeting niche audiences are able to make to make money.
CSK Fan Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 It's a commercial market. Some films sell' date=' some dont. Great films with low entertainment value will earn much less than bad films with high entertainment value. Yes, a Saawariya will always earn way less than a Bodyguard. Stop whinning.[/quote'] Again comprehension fail. He is not complaining baout movies earning 100 croroes. He is complaining about the fact that just because a moviemakes 100 crore, people call it great
audioman Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 ^ His comprehension fail then. If people wanted to watch these movies, and so many of them liked it that it made 100 crores, does it not then mean that all these people think the movie was great? "People". Anyways, there is a very easy way to fix this problem - trim your budget dude. Guzaarish and Saawariya could have been made just as good on an Anurag Kashyap budget. Trim that down and voila, you have a film on your hands that can actually make a profit at the B/O and still be a good film.
Desi Cartman Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 I think his point is that its disheartening to see movies like Housefull makes 100s of crores as they are basically garbage. There is no creativity and no story ... its just 100 mins of stupid lame jokes and 30 mins of song and dance. Look at the crap that gets released every week .. for eg any Akshay kumar movie in the last 3 years, none of them had any story or logic
Prakat Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 ^ His comprehension fail then. If people wanted to watch these movies, and so many of them liked it that it made 100 crores, does it not then mean that all these people think the movie was great? "People". Anyways, there is a very easy way to fix this problem - trim your budget dude. Guzaarish and Saawariya could have been made just as good on an Anurag Kashyap budget. Trim that down and voila, you have a film on your hands that can actually make a profit at the B/O and still be a good film. Couldn't agree with you more there. There is a definite lack of restraint when it comes to budgeting for these massive ego trips, be it from the producer's end or from the filmmaker's. Bhansali for instance, on the back of his previous hit decided that he could spin gold and found a financier who thought it was a cert. If only he was self-aware enough to realize that Saawariya was always going to have a small audience then he could have gotten away with it being hailed as a hit although the movie itself was goat sh1t. Instead he gets all miffed that the Indian audience couldn't understand his art and after wallowing in his self-pity aka Guzaarish he decides to give the audience what it wants and with a vengeance. Rowdy Rathore, from what I've seen in the trailers, is as camp as it gets with Akshay looking like an 80s Rowdy's sidekick, mouthing lines such as, "Don't angry me!". It's like he uses pages from Wren & Martin to wipe his ass every morning.
suraj Posted June 15, 2012 Posted June 15, 2012 TBH 3 idiots was also entertaining but over the top masala entertainment and quite a bit of exaggeration in many ways Vidhu made lot of money from that so he should not complain
Stuge Posted June 16, 2012 Posted June 16, 2012 4D can you make rubbish films ? if yes please include me as well .Will help till you part with Rs 10 crores out of 100 :P Watch movies in pragati maidan hall .. cheapest way to watch movies in delhi lol