jairamesh Posted August 1, 2012 Posted August 1, 2012 http://www.thehindu.com/business/Economy/article3712510.ece?homepage=true In a bid to give a big boost to trade and bilateral relations and enhance economic cooperation, the Union government on Wednesday notified a law permitting investments by Pakistan citizens and companies in India in sectors/activities other than defence, space and atomic energy. "The government has reviewed the policy and decided to permit a citizen of Pakistan or an entity incorporated in Pakistan to make investments in India, under the government route, in sectors/ activities other than defence, space and atomic energy," says the notification issued by the Department of Industrial Policy and Promotion. "The citizens and companies of Pakistan would also be able to float joint ventures and participate in any kind of investment ventures, including real estate, stock market, energy and other sectors. These investments will be screened and vetted before being given approval," a senior DIPP official said. Pakistan was the only country in the negative list under the Foreign Exchange Management Act (FEMA), which prohibits investments in India. Sri Lanka was removed from the list in 2006 and Bangladesh in 2007. Officials in the Industry Ministry said that in order to address the security concerns over investments from Pakistan, FDI proposals from Islamabad would be routed through the Foreign Investment Promotion Board (FIPB), which is headed by the Economic Affairs Secretary in the Finance Ministry. Both countries had agreed to allow one-year multiple entry visas for business visitors and entry and exit through different cities. This is the epitome of pathetic decisions from central government, for gazillions reasons. Incredible:facepalm:
Clarke Posted August 1, 2012 Posted August 1, 2012 What's wrong with that ? Don't you wanna try the buffet @ Jamat-ul-Dawat :P Please elaborate on the gazillion reasons though; don't tell me we should punish the avg industrialist because he shares the country with a terror group. If the investment helps our people, what's wrong with that ? We can then hopefully sell our Indicas there.
jairamesh Posted August 1, 2012 Author Posted August 1, 2012 What's wrong with that ? Don't you wanna try the buffet @ Jamat-ul-Dawat :P Please elaborate on the gazillion reasons though; don't tell me we should punish the avg industrialist because he shares the country with a terror group. If the investment helps our people, what's wrong with that ? We can then hopefully sell our Indicas there. Really, how about the obvious one, the traceability of revenues and profits going back to Pakistan. This is like a wet dream for all the mullahs in Pakistan needing funds for their well intended peacekeeping missions.
jairamesh Posted August 1, 2012 Author Posted August 1, 2012 What's wrong with that ? Don't you wanna try the buffet @ Jamat-ul-Dawat :P Please elaborate on the gazillion reasons though; don't tell me we should punish the avg industrialist because he shares the country with a terror group. If the investment helps our people, what's wrong with that ? We can then hopefully sell our Indicas there. I have read or heard nothing of sort regarding reciprocal terms of trade.
Lurker Posted August 1, 2012 Posted August 1, 2012 Really' date=' how about the obvious one, the traceability of revenues and profits going back to Pakistan. [b']This is like a wet dream for all the mullahs in Pakistan needing funds for their well intended peacekeeping missions. Eggjactly. Because if it is one thing Mullahs of Pakistan excel in, it is International Investment policies :hysterical:
jairamesh Posted August 1, 2012 Author Posted August 1, 2012 Eggjactly. Because if it is one thing Mullahs of Pakistan excel in, it is International Investment policies :hysterical: You well know what I was getting it. Being pedantic doesn't make it any less serious.
Lurker Posted August 1, 2012 Posted August 1, 2012 You well know what I was getting it. Being pedantic doesn't make it any less serious. No I don't. Pray do tell what you are getting at without making fun of bechara Mullahs.
Khalpat Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 On a lighter note, they got so happy with the news that they did some aatishbaaji today in Pune.
Lurker Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 On a lighter note' date=' they got so happy with the news that they did some aatishbaaji today in Pune.[/quote'] Arre Khalpat bhaiya Inhe firkhaa parasti mat sikhaa dena ke ye bachche zameen se choom kar titli ke toote par uthaate hain... :agree: Just kidding. Aise hi Munawwar Rana saab ka kalam padh reha tha, socha shayad aapko bhi pasand aa jaaye.
Khalpat Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 Arre Khalpat bhaiya Inhe firkhaa parasti mat sikhaa dena ke ye bachche zameen se choom kar titli ke toote par uthaate hain... :agree: Just kidding. Aise hi Munawwar Rana saab ka kalam padh reha tha, socha shayad aapko bhi pasand aa jaaye. :two_thumbs_up: For you one of the gem and my fav मियां मैं शेर हूँ शेरो की गुर्राहट नहीं जाती मैं लहज़ा नरम भी कर लू तो झिन्झालाहत नहीं जाती मैं एक दिन बेखयाली में सच बोल बैठा था मैं कोशिश कर चुका हूँ मुंह की कड़वाहट नहीं जाती Out before I am kicked off by Mods and OP
b555 Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 On a lighter note' date=' they got so happy with the news that they did some aatishbaaji today in Pune.[/quote'] :((:((:((
Stuge Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 Now people like Dawood can do direct investment ? RIght :hysterical:
ganeshran Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 There would be enough red tape around this to make it very difficult for mid level investors to invest. the measures would be helpful for the big businesses who have enough clout to get things moving with the governments of both countries
Stuge Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 There would be enough red tape around this to make it very difficult for mid level investors to invest. the measures would be helpful for the big businesses who have enough clout to get things moving with the governments of both countries You've pretty much answered my query that even with sanctions removed investing in India won't be a piece of cake as far as Pakistani's are concerned . Its not a straight forward as the headline says as if any tom dick and harry can invest .
Clarke Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 You've pretty much answered my query that even with sanctions removed investing in India won't be a piece of cake as far as Pakistani's are concerned . Its not a straight forward as the headline says as if any tom dick and harry can invest . What do you know ? The Congress party will actually encourage the mullahs to invest in local madrasas to keep the minority vote bank and produce local jobs that have 72 retirement benefits #TrueStory
Stuge Posted August 2, 2012 Posted August 2, 2012 Stop being so cynical that you lose the point of argument .I myself don't trust our govt ,but making such comments doesn't really make sense .