Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 So, your essence of argument is Sehwag Balls Faced - 271, Average - 21.88 is an impact player BUT Gambhir Ballsed Faced - 688, Average - 27.83 is NOT an impact player. Yeh Kaunsa Najafgarh logic hai bhaai? :cantstop: in T20s SR is equally important yaar
Crookbond Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Gambhir is 121 and Sehwag is 145 What do I do with the SR if the batsman is not staying at the crease? :dontknow: SR comes into play when a batsman plays at the crease. a 6 runs in 3 balls will give you 200 SR. I would rather have a 121 with more runs scored than a 145 who scores 10-15 runs every time he bats. Not to add his dodgy fitness and on-field liability. All the impact goes phussssss! I still can not believe Sehwag had an ankle injury while celebrating. :hysterical:
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 With Gambhir' date=' it is just a blip in form, not with Sehwag. He is always like that. We are still sure Gambhir will score runs like he did against England, but not sure with Sehwag that if he will even have that 1 impact inning and if will have how long will it take.[/quote'] Sehwag wasnt there in England,how does that give GG an advantage? also u have to consider the team composition,we have Virat n Rohit who like to take thier time before opening up,Yuvraj was struggling,Dhoni also poor SR in T20s,so apart from Raina there was no one who could attack the bowling from word go.Sehwag is suited for that role
Number Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 it wasnt' date='as long as he played at 5-6[/quote'] And Kohli Should've been dropped from T20 squad based on his IPL performance.
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Gambhir is 121 and Sehwag is 145 What do I do with the SR if the batsman is not staying at the crease? :dontknow: SR comes into play when a batsman plays at the crease. a 6 runs in 3 balls will give you 200 SR. I would rather have a 121 with more runs scored than a 145 who scores 10-15 runs every time he bats. Not to add his dodgy fitness and on-field liability. All the impact goes phussssss! I still can not believe Sehwag had an ankle injury while celebrating. :hysterical: its not like difference in avg is huge.its just 6 runs. about staying on,thats why I said it was a punt worth taking,a Sehwag can give u 30 off 15 balls n can put bowlers on backfoot,the fear factor is always there. about fitness,true its shoddy,but he was available for that game.also he gives a decent part time bowling option,so it evens out anyway
Lord Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 And Kohli Should've been dropped from T20 squad based on his IPL performance. he did well v both NZ n SL in T20s.hes obviously in red hot form,irrespective of formats,dunno wats ur point
Crookbond Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 If Kohli is in red hot form irrespective of the formats, Sehwag is in blue cold form irrespective of the formats!
G_B_ Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 If Kohli is in red hot form irrespective of the formats' date=' Sehwag is in blue cold form irrespective of the formats![/quote'] Sehwag is also too injury prone. Its like he keeps going from one injury to another be it shoulder or ankle. More than his form I am tired of Sehwag's medical issues. One thing about Gambhir is that atleast he looks and appears fit and does not have those sort of issues.
rkt.india Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Sehwag wasnt there in England,how does that give GG an advantage? also u have to consider the team composition,we have Virat n Rohit who like to take thier time before opening up,Yuvraj was struggling,Dhoni also poor SR in T20s,so apart from Raina there was no one who could attack the bowling from word go.Sehwag is suited for that role against England in T20.
CG Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 So, your essence of argument is Sehwag Balls Faced - 271, Average - 21.88 is an impact player BUT Gambhir Ballsed Faced - 688, Average - 27.83 is NOT an impact player. Yeh Kaunsa Najafgarh logic hai bhaai? :cantstop: Gambhir has played 32 t20 international compared to shewags 19. so i do not see why balls faced is being talked about .Gambhir is better than shewag in t20s and odis.
Crookbond Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 Gambhir has played 32 t20 international compared to shewags 19. so i do not see why balls faced is being talked about .Gambhir is better than shewag in t20s and odis. That was my point - read the full discussion.
vamos_rafa Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 If Kohli is in red hot form irrespective of the formats' date=' Sehwag is in blue cold form irrespective of the formats![/quote'] This.
BeautifulGame Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 its not like difference in avg is huge.its just 6 runs. about staying on,thats why I said it was a punt worth taking,a Sehwag can give u 30 off 15 balls n can put bowlers on backfoot,the fear factor is always there. about fitness,true its shoddy,but he was available for that game.also he gives a decent part time bowling option,so it evens out anyway :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Sehwag bowled only one over in his T20 int career and nearly cost us the T20 world cup in 2007 with that over. Sehwag has a pathetic record (ave 8 ) against Australia in T20 unlike Gambhir who has a good record.So it makes perfect sense to drop Sehwag ahead of Gambhir for Australia match.
The Outsider Posted October 10, 2012 Posted October 10, 2012 I understand that sir. Even I have been a fan of his batting. But' date=' that would not stop me from seeing the fact that he has been struggling to do even provide an impact as well. I hope you would agree to this bit atleast.[/quote'] Sir? Why? And I am not blind to watching Sehwag's batting go down. And I agree with you on that. However, Sehwag has more chances of putting in test class performances than Dhoni and given the fact that Lords, Nottingham, Melbourne, and Perth could have been salvaged with better captaincy I would take someone who is an equally poor performer but at least in the captaincy can bring in some fresh perspective than bowling Raina with the opposition at 70/5.
rkt.india Posted October 11, 2012 Posted October 11, 2012 Sir? Why? And I am not blind to watching Sehwag's batting go down. And I agree with you on that. However, Sehwag has more chances of putting in test class performances than Dhoni and given the fact that Lords, Nottingham, Melbourne, and Perth could have been salvaged with better captaincy I would take someone who is an equally poor performer but at least in the captaincy can bring in some fresh perspective than bowling Raina with the opposition at 70/5. You think Sehwag could have captained batter? You did not watch Indian-WI ODI series then. I would Gambhir as captain any day over Sehwag. Sehwag is a disinterested captain whichever team he has captained whether its India or his IPL team DD.
CG Posted October 11, 2012 Posted October 11, 2012 You think Sehwag could have captained batter? You did not watch Indian-WI ODI series then. I would Gambhir as captain any day over Sehwag. Sehwag is a disinterested captain whichever team he has captained whether its India or his IPL team DD. He captained the fast bowlers well particularly aaron and yadav,yes he did russel and rampaul to hit out but then they were slogging.
rkt.india Posted October 11, 2012 Posted October 11, 2012 He captained the fast bowlers well particularly aaron and yadav' date='yes he did russel and rampaul to hit out but then they were slogging.[/quote'] He is even less proactive than Dhoni. He has already quit DD captaincy. He was one of the poorest captain in IPL last season on show. We need a captain like Gambhir or Kohli who have fire in their attitude and can give back the words to the opposition team players.
vamos_rafa Posted October 11, 2012 Posted October 11, 2012 Sir? Why? And I am not blind to watching Sehwag's batting go down. And I agree with you on that. However, Sehwag has more chances of putting in test class performances than Dhoni and given the fact that Lords, Nottingham, Melbourne, and Perth could have been salvaged with better captaincy I would take someone who is an equally poor performer but at least in the captaincy can bring in some fresh perspective than bowling Raina with the opposition at 70/5. Sir was just to add some more level of decency :winky: And even I am not blind to Dhoni's blunders in captaincy. He has failed more often in the last 1 year than before and that is the worrying sign. But, a captain who himself is not sure of his game, can't lead the side. MS has to be phased out no questions about it but not in a jiffy. It has to be done properly.
Lord Posted October 11, 2012 Posted October 11, 2012 He is even less proactive than Dhoni. He has already quit DD captaincy. He was one of the poorest captain in IPL last season on show. We need a captain like Gambhir or Kohli who have fire in their attitude and can give back the words to the opposition team players. took DD to 3 semifinals out of 5.cant be that bad.
Lord Posted October 11, 2012 Posted October 11, 2012 You think Sehwag could have captained batter? You did not watch Indian-WI ODI series then. I would Gambhir as captain any day over Sehwag. Sehwag is a disinterested captain whichever team he has captained whether its India or his IPL team DD. didnt we win that series 4-1 with bowlers like Vinay,Mithun,Jaddu.even Yadav n Aaron were rookies.not awesome,but not bad by any means