Nova Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Damn northies taking away jaabs from marathi manoos and corrupting the essence of Aamchi Mumbai :mad: The marathi manoos is more liberal minded, even when it comes to jobs, and not conservative.. :cantstop:
vvvslaxman Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 I am not an expert on hindi movies. But from what i have seen Amitabh's screen presence was immense. Amir khan is kind of an actor who is steady and generally won't goof up.
maniac Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 2 different benchmarks Amitabh the better actor....Aamir Khan is in a league of his own due to the quality of movies he has done..... Movies like Deewar and Sholay might be classics for Indian cinema and they definetely appeal to our sentiments but they will be considered a joke when compared to some of the movies produced in international cinema....I might get a lot of hate but it is true...As an Indian I love and cherish these movies but that's about it. But as I already agreed Amitabh has a better range as an actor but kudos to Aamir for encouraging movies like TZP,Lagaan,1947 Earth,Sarfarosh which is high quality cinema....
goose Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Amitabh could carry an entire film with his little toe. 10 minutes of magic from him and you had a 3 hour blockbuster. The first 3 minutes of this clip from Agreepath is unreal. 4X40qITm_So
Sachin=GOD Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 when talking about Amitabh Bachchan people only talk about his films but not about KBC. The way he hosts that show is just outstanding - not many actors around the world can do that.
Lurker Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Amitabh could carry an entire film with his little toe. 10 minutes of magic from him and you had a 3 hour blockbuster. The first 3 minutes of this clip from Agreepath is unreal. Unreal yes. But to Amitabh's credit? No... It is all Mukul Anand's kamaal. Not dissing Amitabh by the way
Nova Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Unreal yes. But to Amitabh's credit? No... It is all Mukul Anand's kamaal. Not dissing Amitabh by the way Yoda-esque is screaming out somewhere: There are no good actors, only good directors! I don't necessarily agree, but that's his mantra.
goose Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Unreal yes. But to Amitabh's credit? No... It is all Mukul Anand's kamaal. Not dissing Amitabh by the way Agneepath minus Amitabh would have flopped horribly.
Lurker Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Agneepath minus Amitabh would have flopped horribly. It flopped anyway :cantstop: Was hardly a success as Amitabh used to belt. Remember there was a second version put right up where Amitabh's vocal version of Manya Surve was taken off and Amitabh was back to being Amitabh. Dont get me wrong, Amitabh is great in Agneepath but Agneepath is a director's movie. Only a Mukul Anand could have delivered it. :winky:
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Aamir is not the best even in his generation as an actor. SRK and Ajay are easily better actors. His choice of movies(except a few like Man, Mela) and their subject has been good throughout his career and it improved further in recent years. :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: He can only express love for his GF to his future mum in law .. thats all he does in most of his movies :cantstop: Amitabh hardly shown any versatilety in his old movies.He acted same in deewar' date='shakti,trishul,don,agneepath and sharabi.[/quote'] Agneepath, deewar and sharabi are fundamentally different movies, add namak halal and you get to see the variety of roles Amitabh could do in his days. delivering a baby using a vaccum cleaner, leaving his GF for no reason so she could become desperate/sad for years wasnt great either. I get your point though that AK has tried harder to do quality cinema but now times have changed and people like quality cinema, 40 years ago (shammi kapoor era) people wanted to see videsh in the movies and hence the highlight was that these movies were shot overseas. AB tried doing good cinema in early 90s but didnt work lol ..he is a good host buy " computer jee " is so ****ing annoying
Desi Cartman Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 It flopped anyway :cantstop: Was hardly a success as Amitabh used to belt. Remember there was a second version put right up where Amitabh's vocal version of Manya Surve was taken off and Amitabh was back to being Amitabh. Dont get me wrong, Amitabh is great in Agneepath but Agneepath is a director's movie. Only a Mukul Anand could have delivered it. :winky: but then, do you think Vinod Khanna (only other action hero around that time) could have carried the movie ? Hrithik did well in the remake but I dont think he could even come close to what AB did.
Sarkar Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 Aamir and all khans can never ever get to Amitabh,s status as an actor can Aamir do films like Deewar Don Sholay where as Amitabh has done all kinds of films.The super star who ruled industry from 1973-1991 being no.1 despite some flops .
Nova Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 It flopped anyway :cantstop: Was hardly a success as Amitabh used to belt. Remember there was a second version put right up where Amitabh's vocal version of Manya Surve was taken off and Amitabh was back to being Amitabh. Dont get me wrong, Amitabh is great in Agneepath but Agneepath is a director's movie. Only a Mukul Anand could have delivered it. :winky: Amitabh's presence made the movie. Direction was good no doubt but Amitabh delivered the goods like it was nobody's business. Malum?
goose Posted October 31, 2012 Posted October 31, 2012 It flopped anyway :cantstop: Was hardly a success as Amitabh used to belt. Remember there was a second version put right up where Amitabh's vocal version of Manya Surve was taken off and Amitabh was back to being Amitabh. Dont get me wrong, Amitabh is great in Agneepath but Agneepath is a director's movie. Only a Mukul Anand could have delivered it. :winky: Yeh it did flop but that was part of it's enduring appeal. Amitabh ranks it as it his favorite film. I remember stumbling across it for the first time on UK television on Channel 4. I didn't even notice the VHS release. No fanfare, no hype. But by the end I knew I had just watched something special.
Alchemist Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Agneepath without Amitabh would be a forgotten movie. I have watched it 36 times. His eyes in that movie say more than the dialoges.
Nova Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 I have watched it 36 times. . Kai boltos? :blink:
Lurker Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 but then' date= do you think Vinod Khanna (only other action hero around that time) could have carried the movie ? Hrithik did well in the remake but I dont think he could even come close to what AB did. That is not the question though, is it? :winky::winky: Goose has hit on this, he just does not realize this. I present to you exhibit A, as in the scene suggesting greatness of Amitabh. 4X40qITm_So The beauty of the scene is the sheer authenticity of this. The fight in Dharavi style chawls, or Dagdi Chawls for Marathis. For mainstream cinema this was an entirely new area in many ways. Look up the superhit movies around this, even a decade later, and you will the fight in gali-mohallas being staged in a Kamalistan Film Studio. Who do you think is the reason behind that?? Amitabh Bacchan?? :winky: By the way not sure why some of you are getting defensive about this? His acting was terrific and he got National Award for the same. Aur kya chahiye bhai tum log ko? :cantstop:
Alchemist Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Kai boltos? :blink: Vakya ani vakya path ahe. Music pan chan ahe tyacha. Original: [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPkllCX5U_0]Second Rendez-vous - Solidarność Live - Tribute To Pope John-Paul II - J M Jarre (Part 2 of 2) - YouTube[/ame]
Nova Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Aur kya chahiye bhai tum log ko? :cantstop: Bow down to the greatness of Amitabh in Agneepath.
Nova Posted November 1, 2012 Posted November 1, 2012 Vakya ani vakya path ahe. Music pan chan ahe tyacha. :hatsoff: There is always some copied element. Didn't know about the music part.