So I used to visit this ISCON temple back in India In Vrindavan. I remeber the early mornign Aarti over there. It was great atmosphere. Today about 10 years later, I had an amazing experience. This American dude came at work and after our conversation, he asked me my name. After I told him my name. He told me the meaning of my name and explained me the origin and stuff. I was just Stunned. I asked him how he knew so much about my name. He told me he actually is a preacher in Hare Rama Hare Krishna temple here in Rockville. Then he started giving me other info about Hindu religion and stuff. Man these guys are the real devotees. I wonder, after being Hindu, I don't have that much knowledge about my own religion, but these guys have dedicated their whole life to Hindu religion and they do continue to work and live an American style life rest of the time. They know more about our religion than what we do. Especially pretenders like me. One has to really appreciate their devotion.

A question to Tics: Now that he has inspired or rather impressed you, will you go to the ISKCON temple on the weekends and become a devotee? If yes..why and if no..why not?

Na I am good. It's like I talk to football NFL fans who go to watch Washing Redskins play in all their home games. Now I love following American Football I won't go watch every home game of Redskisn at the Fed Ex Field stadium. I was just impressed how well they devote themselves into a religion which once they had never even heard about.

I dont remeber if it was ISKON temple or not, its some temple in Toronto and they made women sit behind men in a different area, It was insulting and pathetic. They didnt even allow my 2 year old daughter to sit with me. There was another man who had a 4 year old daughter who asked him why women section is behind men. They guy felt so embarrassed and I wasnt pleased either. My wife who is super religious said she will never go back there. EDIt: it was Swaminarayan Mandir

It's not just ISKCON' date=' westerners in general when they take up Hinduism via one of the many groups, go full deep into it.[/quote'] The only reason people take up another religion is because they are serious about another religion so its not surprising that they devote a lot of time and attention.
The only reason people take up another religion is because they are serious about another religion so its not surprising that they devote a lot of time and attention.
:hatsoff:
Wow. Bade religious Insaan ho yaar aap. Vacation pe bhi Mandir jaa rahe ho. Shabash :)
Bhaisaab..us vacation aur mandir ke pehle Desi Paaji do-teen hafton ke liye brahmacharya kaa paalan kar rahen hain. Iska Matlab you aap jaan hi chuke honge .Pranaam..
I dont remeber if it was ISKON temple or not, its some temple in Toronto and they made women sit behind men in a different area, It was insulting and pathetic. They didnt even allow my 2 year old daughter to sit with me. There was another man who had a 4 year old daughter who asked him why women section is behind men. They guy felt so embarrassed and I wasnt pleased either. My wife who is super religious said she will never go back there. EDIt: it was Swaminarayan Mandir
Yep, it's the BAPS sect. Not sure why they do it, but since its their temple and their belief and apparently millions of women follow and accept it, I'm cool with it. I don't particularly like it, but I go there because they have awesome sweet :).
The only reason people take up another religion is because they are serious about another religion so its not surprising that they devote a lot of time and attention.
Well in India people convert for more than the reasons you have mentioned, some even get paid money to make the switch, but yea in the west typically people make the switch cause they are serious about it. That said, one would think that after a few years of being involved, the interest and time devoted will wane, but that's not the case with many of these folks.
One of the most commercial temples I have been to. There is a restaurant inside the temple premises and you get everything from pepsi/coke and burgers.
+1 This is the way I remember it too.
One of the most commercial temples I have been to. There is a restaurant inside the temple premises and you get everything from pepsi/coke and burgers.
++ You get great food there! I do not really remember much about the temple as such.