Bal Thackeray passes away

1983-2011

When Stalin was in power, he scrubbed the official version of events and rewrote his own. I suspect the same would happen to this chewtiya who, following his death, is disproportionately being hailed as a hero.
He will always be a hero for his supporters in Maharashtra no matter what . Haters can keep hating him till end of this world .

Illiterate Biharis are a burden.
Dont underestimate their contribution to Mumbai . Mumbai main Gandagi , Jansankhya aur crime badane main bahot contribute kiya hai enhone . Atleast the likes of Thackeray have been only vocal against them whereas the rebels in Assam directly shoot these Bihari migrants in their nuts .

Are you seriously an Indian? With people like you why do Pakistanis need to send a Kasab. People like you play a much more active role in dividing and hurting India than they ever could. Congrats, you will always be a Marathi first and Indian last, people like you make me sick You have no problems in leeching the rest of the country's resources, getting the benifits if all businessmen, scientists, etc from the rest of the country but when it comes to helping poor from the same country you come up with such statements. What is your contribution to society BTW, want to know. How are you any better than the Bihari immigrants? Some of them might commit petty crime but at least they are not a regional cancer like you are. Cancers like you are biting away slowly in every part of our country today, whether its some people who because of their religion go into terrorism, some people who because of language demand a seperate state or some like you who forget that the poorest of our country needs the most of our support. In short you, who has all the benifits from the country, are reluctant to share the same with the poor and instead want to live in a bubble where you can leech all the benifits of the country while refusing to share it with the ones who need them the most, because you place will get 'dirty'

He will always be a hero for his supporters in Maharashtra no matter what . Haters can keep hating him till end of this world .
What supporters in Maharashtra? :cantstop: Bal Thakrey was hardly ever a regional leader. He was an urban Mumbai phenomenon. He has absolutely negligible support in the rich Western Maharashtra ( which has a 90% + Marathi speaking population) region. In Marathwada too he has abysmal support. In Vidarbha, I think the Sena is completely non existent. IMO, there have been only a few 'leaders' that Maharashtra has produced in the last 100 years. Bal Gangadhar Tilak was one of them. Yashwantrao Chavan was another. And wether we like it or not the extremely corrupt Sharad Pawar is a mass leader. His popularity on a state level completely dwarfs that of BT. I read an interesting article in the 'Inquilab', which IMO is a milder and more comical version of Bal Thakrey's Saamna. Generally, I read it for the lulz. :D. The editor had a valid point. Why is BT being given a state cremation? Why is his body wrapped in the 'rashtriya dhwaj' when his party's manifesto and actions over a period of time have been blatantly unconstitutional. What kind of signal is the government trying to send out? Every government has ignored the findings of the SriKrishna Commission, but this one has gone one step further: It has eulogized a person directly responsible for the killing of innocents.

I'm clutching at straws? You think Anti migrant sentiments are present only among Shiv sena cadres? As for Congress being against Communism, it is one thing to actively fight it and another thing to look away while others do the ground work. Here is another article why BT was instrumental http://www.hindustantimes.com/India-news/Mumbai/The-Marathi-manoos-who-took-Mumbai-from-the-Communists/Article1-960847.aspx
Surajmal, with all due respect, you are completely over playing Bal Thakrey's efforts against Communism. For one, Bal Thakrey wasn't against the ideology. To be the leader of a party with a strong base of people who are from the working classes, you have to be pro worker. It was the existing Labour union leaders whom BT was against and eliminated. He later usurped their position and continued doing the same that they were doing: black mailing the government with threats. Why is he different or better? One thing that favoued Bal Thakrey was that in his formative years, the mills were getting automated and people were losing jobs. The mill owners being outsiders (read: non Maharashtrains) were an obvious targets. To make matters worse, the owners were aligned with the existing government. It was this disgruntled mass of workers that BT exploited. The only difference between BT, and the previous set of Union leaders was that BT won over and convinced the industry owners to be pro-worker; mainly through intimidation and later supported the owners and didn't let them shut shop even though they were sick units. It is these people who have financed the Sena all over the years. To put things in perspective: If Bal Thakrey was so effective in suppressing Communists and Communism, as you say, how could Datta Samant call for a mill workers strike in Mumbai in 1982 in which nearly 3 lakh people participated? As an owner of a manufacturing set up, I would say that BT's legacy was that he was pro worker- as long as they were Maharashtrian. Remember that scheme he wanted to introduce- if no domicile certificate- health cover would be minumum or something on those lines and he was pro owner. At the same time, he wasn't really pro-industry. That has however, hampered competition and been the bane of manufcaturing in Mumbai. Its the satellite towns like Bhiwandi and Nashik and Gujarat which was have picked up ( as a result of this among many other things) as new centres of Manufacturing. BT was also openly pro Octroi, and when his government was in power he actually wanted it increased. :D Mahrashtra is the only state that charges an Octroi now. Why would a manufacturer set shop in Mumbai in these conditions? Note: The Congress have also been pro Octroi, but their statements are generally- we will stop in in the next term etc. You also claim that he saved Mumbai from the 'Mullah gangs'. Yes, he did fight against gangsters. Instead of the Muslims and the Shettys who would extort business houses, it was the Thakrey's and the Rane's who did so post 95. And, he was excessively harsh on Muslim businesses. He used to harass them for extortion money or threaten them with some cooked up violations and force them to shut shop. This was for a while he was in power, until he was reigned in by the Centre. One good thing is that the police under his rule cleaned up the underworld. That is something many people, Muslims included admire, because it was those very localities from where these guys emerged which suffered first. All this aside, what he ordered during the riots was absolutely not justifiable. Not saying this as a Muslim, but saying it trying to be as unbiased as possible. All in all, BT has done some good, no doubt, but you are oversimplifying the situation and claiming him to be some sort of a national hero when he wasn't.

:hatsoff: to you Mariyam for your bravery .As a muslim and living in munbai you still have guts to write against Bal thackerey
Just to put things in perspective, please also note that Thackray however, staying in Mumbai, never had the guts to speak against Mariyam.

Bal Thackeray was a saviour for Hindus i will keep repeating this statement like Surjamal said if it wasnt for him Hindus would have been massacred in Mumbai during those riots. @Sri you dont represent all southies too because Bala Saheb has supporters from South eg Rajnikanth and good thing about bala saheb he always spoke for hindutva unity and spoke against terrorist activities of PAKISTAN in India. @Mariyam We all know who started those dangey in Mumbai in 1993 so if i was you i would just shut up.

He was a true hero for all marathis and hindus from other states who admired him he was the saviour for Hindus haters will hate but Bal Thackeray was the true patriot.