Pardon me for not trusting your judgement... I would much rathar trust my judgement on people... and the judgement of people like Tendulkar, Amitabh Bachan, Lata Mangeshkar, Dilip Kumar etc.. They all paid respect to this guy.. and i think non of them are doing it out of fear.. Some people on this forum like to live in fairy land while the ground reality is totally different. And dont know what killings people are talking about.
Tendulkar paid(pays) respect to curly-hair-saibaba...and many others do too.
^ And your point is?
It was embarrassing to see Tendulkar in that sorry excuse for a man's funeral, crying. He is supposed to be role-model for millions, not misleading on charlatan baba.
It was embarrassing to see Tendulkar in that sorry excuse for a man's funeral' date=' crying. He is supposed to be role-model for millions, not misleading on charlatan baba.[/quote'] Different people have different idols :giggle:
Guy living in punjab/USA wouldnt have a clue.. so lets leave it at that.
Shiv sainiks ke chutiape are world famous..don't underestimate their widespread acclaim. From protecting Indian culture via beating of random teenagers during valentine's day, digging of pitches to protect india against terrorism to beating up southies to protect sons of soil...Forget Punjab..people in Nigeria would also know about this :yay:

I am wondering though.. Why do we, majority of ICFers, like movies like Satya, Sarkar, Once upone a time in Mumbai and films like those but say this about Thakray? Isnt it a gangster movie and hero goes on to kill/murder people and we still love those movies?? Even Sholay or Al Pacino movies wouldnt be that much of a stretch...

Shiv sainiks ke chutiape are world famous..don't underestimate their widespread acclaim. From protecting Indian culture via beating of random teenagers during valentine's day, digging of pitches to protect india against terrorism to beating up southies to protect sons of soil...Forget Punjab..people in Nigeria would also know about this :yay:
Not to forget, staying at home like pu$$ies during and after 26/11 massacre.. The modus oprandi is to create trouble, then do backhand deals, take lot's of ransom and then settle everything as if nothing happened. Thackeray even used to take bribe to give Rajya Sabha MP positions. Telling everybody to read & write in Marathi and not English and on the other hand getting own grandchildren joining top end English schools...

Actors are popular not powerful power resides with the politicians, the goondas, the multi-billionaire industrialists .... Amitabh has only been angry man in movies & fair enough- that is his job and he is different in real life

Not to forget, staying at home like pu$ during and after 26/11 massacre.. The modus oprandi is to create trouble, then do backhand deals, take lot's of ransom and then settle everything as if nothing happened. Thackeray even used to take bribe to give Rajya Sabha MP positions. Telling everybody to read & write in Marathi and not English and on the other hand getting own grandchildren joining top end English schools...
The word you were looking for is - Hypocrite. Btw, the so called "Tiger" ran with his tail between legs to avoid getting arrested during Indiria Gandhi's emergency. It is often said - that you can judge a man when the tide is against him. That moment in the 1970s was the moment you could judge Thackeray.

^^ and how many of your idols had guts to say f*** off to pak like the way thakray did? .. i dont support shiv sena entirely.. heck i dont even know what they stand for.. but i do have general idea.. and my point is that you need people like thakray in times like these... and, up to certain point, we'll have to accept the negatives that comes with it. World is not black and white any more.. no one is absolutely right or wrong... and again.. if you dont live or have not lived in mumbai then you dont know the situation.. Just recently when that anti-muslim video came out, muslim mob came out destroying properties in mumbai.. you think if people like thakray n shiv sena were non-existent, they would have any fear repeating that incident frequently??? Also, when BCCI/Congress gave green signal to let pak play in India, lot of people said 'sheet.. why we are letting them play?".. thakray was the only vocal person and came out and said dont let them play in mumbai... But no.. thakray is a goon.. Another example.. a lot of people supporting Israel in that other thread.. even they are killers but, by large, they do kill innocent people to defend their territory..

Veer - Your posts are full of oxymorons. One one end you say -
and how many of your idols had guts to say f*** off to pak like the way thakray did?
However, on the other hand you say
World is not black and white any more.. no one is absolutely right or wrong.
If the world is not B&W, how can you label any man/woman/child coming from Pakistan?
If you make a anti-hindu or any anti-religion video millions will turn up as religious,political leaders will use this to their advantage.The problem is unemployment several guys just join these parties or movements for pay not because they believe in ideologies.The small issues get blown out of proportion and lead to riots .Its very sad that such people get support . use this as an oppurtunity and
I don't know which idols you are talking about - I have not cited anyone as my idol with regards to supporting or opposing Thackeray. On the other hand, you cited the likes of Tendulkar, Amitabh Bachchan as moral compasses for your support of Thackeray. Well, where are these moral compasses now when 20 year old girls are being put in jail for posting things on Facebook? You want to admire Thackeray, it's your free will to do so. My problem is not with that, it's with taking the higher stand on the podium based on the actions of a few celebrities and giving the impression that people not in line with the moral compass of these celebrities are somehow doind something wrong. Isn't it complete garbage that these celebrities pay their obeisance to Thackeray and not a peep comes out when helpless girls are put in jail for writing and liking on Facebook. You know why? Because they are scared of the Shiv Sena goons, but what power do 20 year old middle class girls have?

And you expect them to speak up about every little wrong thing that happens to anyone? Anyways difference of opinion... You have urs and I have mine.

No, not every little wrong. However, in this case the incident of Thackeray's death and the jailing of the girls are closely linked and all of them are either sitting or former MPs. Their reactions are completely driven by self interest and fear of having Shiv Sena on the wrong side in Bombay. To imply that they are some beacons of morality is far fetched.

To understand the nature of Amitabh's relationship with SS it is best to check out the incident over Jaya's remark about not knowing marathi. And if Asha Bhonsle was really daughter-like to Thakrey then how come she was left to fend for herself when Raj took her on recently about that singing reality show? Do people think it's a co-incidence that Karan Johar, whose closest collaborator is SRK and has produced an apologist film like "My Name is Khan", also made a film like the new Agneepath that is steeped in SS propaganda. Saffron-themed Heroic shots of Hrithik abound in a movie where Rishi Kapoor plays a child-trafficking evil Muslim caricature. The movie is a lullaby for growing Shiv Sainiks. High-profile Mumbaikars were making these public announcements because nobody wants to get obnoxious phone-calls from SS HQ asking them why they hadn't grieved for BT yet. The masses take these endorsements to heart. Corporations aren't paying Amitabh, SRK and SRT millions of dollars to sell Hair-oil, Inverters and Chyavanprash because they are foolish with their money.

This guy is involved in so many tragic events of India (Read riots/assassinations/genocide). He has links with popular Indian families. He is hit with Modi's' date=' Gandhi's, Thackerey's, Ambani's, Amar Singh's, Yadav's. Allmost every possible individual which liberal educated Indian hate's with passion for reasons like hypocrisy, corporate terrorism, vote bank politics is closely related to Amitabh Bachhan![/quote'] That has to be the worst stigmatization of one of India's modern icons. You have summed up in 5 lines the history, and character, of a person who has been in popular medium for 5 decades, or so. At least have a bit more time and effort to portray AB. Everytime I listen to AB these days, I am flummoxed if there is any modern day actor who is half as much scholarly? Half as well read? Half as much a control of diction and knowledge? He is the person who knows the difference between landscape, background and Prishtabhumi (do you by the way? :winky:) It is hard to listen to the great man and not be amazed by him and his personality. That said there are also quirks in his personality that makes you wonder what happened? At best he is a complicated man, at worst he is a shrewd opportunistic guy. AB's career in many ways can be used to show changing India. He best resembled the angry-young-man frustrated generation of 70s/80s (read well read people who couldnt get a job and were frustrated enough to take to arms). In early 90s he was one of those who realized the effect of economy opening up and went the whole ABCL route. Then late 90s he realized India was changing and it was not how you made money so long as you did( notice how Ambanis were often a pariah in 70/80 but by 90 they were what many, if not most Indians looked up to). He may also have looked around and saw his own principles based generation dwindling and modern Indian going the whole ghettosization (read growth of Thackeray, Mulayams etc) and wondered what should he do to be relevant and within safety crutches?? Who knows? What I do know is AB was the biggest name in India in 80s. By far. By freaking far!!! This at a time when Gavaskar and Kapil were playing and Indira Gandhi was still PM. Modern day SRT-bhakts can not even imagine AB's popularity. Everybody needed him, he pretty much did not need most people. And so he didn't really join politics while Mrs Gandhi was at the helm (he was often asked though). He conceded only when Rajiv Gandhi asked him (read Rajiv Gandhi reached to AB and not the other way around). When Bofors controversy hit the fans AB simply walked away. Every political party was after him but AB could have contested election from any part of India and won handsomely. Period. He did not need it, he walked away. Something happened in early 90s that changed him forever. I am not sure why. Was it ABCL's failure? Was it failure of trust from those near and dear to him? Was it that he felt his fans let him down?? Did he realize that India changed completely and some road-chaap janta could show up at his home and pelt stones if they did not like a Dev? And when these chaps did the only people, unfortunately, who would stand up to them were the goons of Abu Azmi and Amar Singh? Not sure but it is unfortunate for sure. What I do know is AB as a person inspite of his failings remains one who inspires. He was the only who would show up punctualy on time. His co-stars hated him for it. He was the one who did his actions on his own long before modern day heroes started doing it. He still remains the one who can communicate with aam junta in common language and relate to them as he can communicate with intelligentia and have them in awe. Appreciate him while you can. :hatsoff: