ganeshran Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Dhoni should build his own stadium in Ranchi named 'Keh Ke Lunga' and prepare whatever type of pitch he wants! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Magneto Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Here is super fit Kolkata pitch curator Pranab Mukherjee, he look's 55~60 year old. He is tall, fit, can pataao better girl than most of us here on ICF. His most recent image with KKR's GG - PRABIR MUKHERJEE. Pranab Mukherjee is India's President. :poink:
CG Posted November 27, 2012 Author Posted November 27, 2012 PRABIR MUKHERJEE. Pranab Mukherjee is India's President. :poink: :giggle:
Stuge Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Dhoni should build his own stadium in Ranchi named 'Keh Ke Lunga' and prepare whatever type of pitch he wants! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: stolen shared on FB :D
Lurker Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Good on the curator. Eden Gardens has shown some terrific cricket over the years and many a splendid case of pace bowling have been witnessed over here unlike say a Kanpur or a Nagpur. By the way I feel the criticism was as much driven towards Dhoni as it is towards an average cricket fan. Wasn't everyone advocating the same thing - square turners - before the onset of the series??? Tum kaho to disco, Dhoni kahe to mujra?? :winky:
vvvslaxman Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Good on the curator. Eden Gardens has shown some terrific cricket over the years and many a splendid case of pace bowling have been witnessed over here unlike say a Kanpur or a Nagpur. By the way I feel the criticism was as much driven towards Dhoni as it is towards an average cricket fan. Wasn't everyone advocating the same thing - square turners - before the onset of the series??? Tum kaho to disco, Dhoni kahe to mujra?? :winky: They just realized Indian batsmen are not good in seaming conditions, swinging conditions, bouncy conditions, spinning conditions.. pretty much any conditions that doesn't help batsmen. Flat pitch is the only option for them at this point.
Nova Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Good on the curator. Eden Gardens has shown some terrific cricket over the years and many a splendid case of pace bowling have been witnessed over here unlike say a Kanpur or a Nagpur. By the way I feel the criticism was as much driven towards Dhoni as it is towards an average cricket fan. Wasn't everyone advocating the same thing - square turners - before the onset of the series??? Tum kaho to disco, Dhoni kahe to mujra?? :winky: That was before the loss in the 2nd Test. Humare spinners gaye they disco karney....lekin angrezi ballebazo ne unhe mujra karne par majboor kar diya :(( Square turners can backfire...and it did, negating the home advantage. Ball needs to start turning on day 3,4 onwards. First two days bounce and seamer friendly. I think Kolkata will be like that.
Trichromatic Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 They just realized Indian batsmen are not good in seaming conditions, swinging conditions, bouncy conditions, spinning conditions.. pretty much any conditions that doesn't help batsmen. Flat pitch is the only option for them at this point. And many fans thought that we poor performance of players was just because of away conditions rather than poor form of players, so we would show them at home on turning tracks. :winky:
asterix Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Dhoni should build his own stadium in Ranchi named 'Keh Ke Lunga' and prepare whatever type of pitch he wants! :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Lurker Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 That was before the loss in the 2nd Test. Humare spinners gaye they disco karney....lekin angrezi ballebazo ne unhe mujra karne par majboor kar diya :(( Square turners can backfire...and it did, negating the home advantage. Ball needs to start turning on day 3,4 onwards. First two days bounce and seamer friendly. I think Kolkata will be like that. You may have been speaking literally as well as metaphorically. Yes the square turner can backfire, as it did in 2nd test but also from Indian performance in general. Only thing a square turner does is make sure Ashwin is the fastest Indian spinner to 50 (wickets). Or Ashwin-Ojha combination raking in 70 odd wickets in 5-6 tests!! I mean really? In the land of Gupte, Bedi, Chandra, Kapil and Kumble it is Ashwin who has beat them all :hehe::hehe: Historically as well we have lost to teams who have had decent spinners. Richie Benaud and Lance Gibbs come to mind. Heck once Pat Pocock and Edmonds had ran India ragged if memory serves me right. Somehow we underestimated Panesar and Swann..or maybe overestimated our own Ojha (and batsmen).
CG Posted November 27, 2012 Author Posted November 27, 2012 You may have been speaking literally as well as metaphorically. Yes the square turner can backfire, as it did in 2nd test but also from Indian performance in general. Only thing a square turner does is make sure Ashwin is the fastest Indian spinner to 50 (wickets). Or Ashwin-Ojha combination raking in 70 odd wickets in 5-6 tests!! I mean really? In the land of Gupte, Bedi, Chandra, Kapil and Kumble it is Ashwin who has beat them all :hehe::hehe: Historically as well we have lost to teams who have had decent spinners. Richie Benaud and Lance Gibbs come to mind. Heck once Pat Pocock and Edmonds had ran India ragged if memory serves me right. Somehow we underestimated Panesar and Swann..or maybe overestimated our own Ojha (and batsmen). The pitches ashwin and ojha have played have been flat decks or slow pitches not rank turners by any stretch of imagination.
NareshK Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 Good on the curator. Eden Gardens has shown some terrific cricket over the years and many a splendid case of pace bowling have been witnessed over here unlike say a Kanpur or a Nagpur. By the way I feel the criticism was as much driven towards Dhoni as it is towards an average cricket fan. Wasn't everyone advocating the same thing - square turners - before the onset of the series??? Tum kaho to disco, Dhoni kahe to mujra?? :winky: There is nothing wrong with a turning track because it makes for exciting, result oriented cricket but what's stupid is for Dhoni to demand the curator specifically in public. It just puts unwanted pressure on the team to win because otherwise people will say, if you cant even win on a pitch you wanted, where else can you win ? These things have to be discussed between the curator, the captain and the board and not in the media.
Magneto Posted November 27, 2012 Posted November 27, 2012 There is nothing wrong with a turning track because it makes for exciting, result oriented cricket but what's stupid is for Dhoni to demand the curator specifically in public. It just puts unwanted pressure on the team to win because otherwise people will say, if you cant even win on a pitch you wanted, where else can you win ? These things have to be discussed between the curator, the captain and the board and not in the media. In this case, the curator and the captain doesn't see eye to eye so the captain has no other option. :giggle:
CG Posted November 28, 2012 Author Posted November 28, 2012 BCCI sidelines Kolkata pitch curator after he refuses to prepare spin track Kolkata: The pitch curator at Kolkata's Eden Gardens has been changed after he refused to prepare a rank turner for the third Test against England, as requested by Indian captain MS Dhoni. Prabir Mukherjee, a veteran pitch curator who has prepared pitches for 14 Tests in the past, has been replaced by Ashish Bhowmick of the Tripura Cricket Association, who is also a member of the BCCI's Pitches Committee. Dhoni had first asked for a rank turner for the Mumbai Test, which England won by 10 wickets. He then said he wanted the same kind of track in Kolkata, where the third Test starts on December 5 The 4-Test series between India and England is tied at 1-1 http://sports.ndtv.com/india-vs-england-2012/news/item/199897-bcci-sidelines-kolkata-pitch-curator-after-he-refuses-to-prepare-spin-track
vamos_rafa Posted November 28, 2012 Posted November 28, 2012 If we lose this as well , then MSD would be made to eat the biggest humble pie ever.
Sooda Posted November 28, 2012 Posted November 28, 2012 The reason why MSD had to go public was because no amount of private requests have worked. He has said himself- at least in public, how far he genuinely believes it god knows- that the track made for good test match cricket. That India lost is because we are s h i t. As Lurker was saying we underestimated their spinners and overestimated our own and our bats. We dont have the batsmen anymore who would take Warne and Murali to the cleaners as they did. And there is no mystery whatsoever wbout our spinners. Eng bats struggled in UAE because Ajmal is very good, Ashwin is not. Ojha is ok, but as Boycott has said the English spinners are better. Something we should have been able to tell before the series began. http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-england-2012/content/current/story/592164.html The other thing that is often forgotten is Dhoni has been driven into making these statements by groundsmen who just don't play ball. At times, even Sourav Ganguly and Anil Kumble have struggled to get groundsmen to give them home advantage. Dhoni is not "always" asking for these conditions; he is almost pleading, "For once, let me have them." Nor is he the first captain to have asked for certain conditions in a home Test; it's just that he is doing so openly because covert conversations haven't had any effect. Dhoni's first Test as captain was in Kanpur in 2008, a square turner that produced an exciting Test that ended in three days. Dhoni was standing in for the injured Anil Kumble then. Later that year, Kumble retired, and Dhoni took over full time. It's been four years since, and Dhoni has yet to captain India on a proper turner.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted November 28, 2012 Posted November 28, 2012 MSD and Srini will kill Indian cricket.One of them needs to go and go quickly.
CG Posted November 28, 2012 Author Posted November 28, 2012 The reason why MSD had to go public was because no amount of private requests have worked. He has said himself- at least in public, how far he genuinely believes it god knows- that the track made for good test match cricket. That India lost is because we are s h i t. As Lurker was saying we underestimated their spinners and overestimated our own and our bats. We dont have the batsmen anymore who would take Warne and Murali to the cleaners as they did. And there is no mystery whatsoever wbout our spinners. Eng bats struggled in UAE because Ajmal is very good, Ashwin is not. Ojha is ok, but as Boycott has said the English spinners are better. Something we should have been able to tell before the series began. http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-england-2012/content/current/story/592164.html The other thing that is often forgotten is Dhoni has been driven into making these statements by groundsmen who just don't play ball. At times, even Sourav Ganguly and Anil Kumble have struggled to get groundsmen to give them home advantage. Dhoni is not "always" asking for these conditions; he is almost pleading, "For once, let me have them." Nor is he the first captain to have asked for certain conditions in a home Test; it's just that he is doing so openly because covert conversations haven't had any effect. Dhoni's first Test as captain was in Kanpur in 2008, a square turner that produced an exciting Test that ended in three days. Dhoni was standing in for the injured Anil Kumble then. Later that year, Kumble retired, and Dhoni took over full time. It's been four years since, and Dhoni has yet to captain India on a proper turner. Sorry But the power dhoni wields he gets what he wants and i refuse to believe if really wanted turning track he would not get it,the eden garden curator has been removed for opposing dhoni and he is one fo the oldest curators.All these talk of turning tracks started after we were whitewashed earlier There was a odd whisper here and there.India has had excellent record at home in last 5 years inspite of playing on good tracks.
CG Posted November 28, 2012 Author Posted November 28, 2012 Wah kya power hai kaptain kool ke haat mein.
Crookbond Posted November 28, 2012 Posted November 28, 2012 The reason why MSD had to go public was because no amount of private requests have worked. He has said himself- at least in public, how far he genuinely believes it god knows- that the track made for good test match cricket. That India lost is because we are s h i t. As Lurker was saying we underestimated their spinners and overestimated our own and our bats. We dont have the batsmen anymore who would take Warne and Murali to the cleaners as they did. And there is no mystery whatsoever wbout our spinners. Eng bats struggled in UAE because Ajmal is very good, Ashwin is not. Ojha is ok, but as Boycott has said the English spinners are better. Something we should have been able to tell before the series began. http://www.espncricinfo.com/india-v-england-2012/content/current/story/592164.html The other thing that is often forgotten is Dhoni has been driven into making these statements by groundsmen who just don't play ball. At times, even Sourav Ganguly and Anil Kumble have struggled to get groundsmen to give them home advantage. Dhoni is not "always" asking for these conditions; he is almost pleading, "For once, let me have them." Nor is he the first captain to have asked for certain conditions in a home Test; it's just that he is doing so openly because covert conversations haven't had any effect. Dhoni's first Test as captain was in Kanpur in 2008, a square turner that produced an exciting Test that ended in three days. Dhoni was standing in for the injured Anil Kumble then. Later that year, Kumble retired, and Dhoni took over full time. It's been four years since, and Dhoni has yet to captain India on a proper turner. Sorry But the power dhoni wields he gets what he wants and i refuse to believe if really wnated turning track he would not get.All these talk of turning tracks started after we were whitewashed earlier There was a odd whisper here and there.India has had excellent record at home in last 5 years inspite of playing on good tracks. Sooda, I have made this point earlier as well but CG refuses to take it. Dhoni has played just 2 matches in his entire captain career on proper turning tracks! CG - In good faith, there has to be a limit in the tirade directed at "one person" whoever that is - Ganguly, Dhoni or Tendulkar. It is a team game and it is high time you understand that our spin bowlers did not bowl well. Look up the speeds and the pitch maps. Also, you should go both ways - high praise as well was tirade but unfortunately, that's your way. I am just pointing out the anomaly - you can choose to continue. Amidst the "good record" claims people should take note that we have failed to beat South Africa at home (twice) with one series requiring a rank turner in Kanpur 2008 (pitch receiving a warning) while the other was a victory achieved with 10 balls remaining in a Test match.We barely scraped against New Zealand in 2010. Even against Australia 2010, if India did not have any luck it would be a draw at the max and who knows what would've happened in Bangalore (if we lost at Mohali). The home record we talk about is hardly about beating top sides but rather holding on to drawn series and winning against Ranji teams like Sri Lanka and good (but ineffective) sides like West Indies. Over all these 3-4 years we are barely clutching on to this so called "record".