Lurker Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 ^ oye tau, assuming that software engineering positions existed, how the **** do you justify this statement: "As the dream of almost every parent, ameer acquired a degree in Software Engineer and joined a company based in USA, the land of braves and opportunity" In 70s and 80s, this was NOT the dream of every parent. IT/software did not enter the middle-class conciousness till the 90s. Hell, 100% guarantee there were no software engineering degrees in INdia in 70s. This is a made-up article, and really poor piece of fiction at that. Actually that question may very well be directed to Southies instead of me :--D I can only present conjecture. The earliest immigrants, specially to US, were mostly Southies, some Gujju and Punjabis. During my college days the Southies introduced me to the whole SAT scores and to get MTech degree from a 3rd rate college to get into US :hehe: Soooooo I dont know. Ask Yoda :beee:
Rohit S. Ambani Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 He is trying to say that most NRI's have one foot in their home country and another in their adopted country' date=' which in large part is quite correct.[/quote'] Not true mate, there are some communities who integerate much better in adopted countries eg. Punjabi's, they are very focused, hard working that they don't miss India. I have personal experience in Canada. Southies are opposite.
vvvslaxman Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 ^ oye tau, assuming that software engineering positions existed, how the **** do you justify this statement: "As the dream of almost every parent, ameer acquired a degree in Software Engineer and joined a company based in USA, the land of braves and opportunity" In 70s and 80s, this was NOT the dream of every parent. IT/software did not enter the middle-class conciousness till the 90s. Hell, 100% guarantee there were no software engineering degrees in INdia in 70s. This is a made-up article, and really poor piece of fiction at that. And very corny.
Desi Cartman Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 No' date=' I have not but that is one of the factors that I've thought about. I know pay won't be as good and work environment wouldnt be the same but I can live with that or, atleast, I believe I can live with that. [/size'] Its very different, I just hope that you are moving for the right reasons. Good Luck
Jersey #10 Posted January 4, 2013 Posted January 4, 2013 This story is absolutely possible. Not every Indian makes it large in this country. There are people in New York and New Jersey that live in much worse conditions than they did in India. I know a family who lives in a total trash neighborhood with all sort of roaches and what not crawling around in their 100+ year old apartment building. The same family owns a nice bungalow in India. They had a decent car back home while here they just travel by the metro. Not every Indian achieves a posh life as many would expect. And in the this era, no story is too vague to be true. It's a weird world out there and anything is possible (I truly believe this after the recent Connecticut and Delhi incidences)
Nova Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 You guys missing the point. This is not a true story... but a story with a moral ending one could relate to on some level.
suraj Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 This story is absolutely possible. Not every Indian makes it large in this country. There are people in New York and New Jersey that live in much worse conditions than they did in India. I know a family who lives in a total trash neighborhood with all sort of roaches and what not crawling around in their 100+ year old apartment building. The same family owns a nice bungalow in India. They had a decent car back home while here they just travel by the metro. Not every Indian achieves a posh life as many would expect. And in the this era, no story is too vague to be true. It's a weird world out there and anything is possible (I truly believe this after the recent Connecticut and Delhi incidences) Why are they living in US then instead of India if they have all that??
EnterTheVoid Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 You guys missing the point. This is not a true story... but a story with a moral ending one could relate to on some level. Yeah, that was what I was alluding to as well.
Desi Cartman Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 You guys missing the point. This is not a true story... but a story with a moral ending one could relate to on some level. But it's a fake. In today's world almost anybody can take 4 days off and fly to other part of the world in 24 hrs and attend a funeral. It's all about choices. A poor rickshaw puller in India can't even travel 500 Kms without wasting a lot of his money and maybe 1-2 days but a software engineer ?
EnterTheVoid Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Why are they living in US then instead of India if they have all that?? When was the last time India made the news for anything positive? Open up any major newspaper and it's the same **** over and over again - Rape case here, murder case there, corruption case this, extortion case that and blah, blah ****ing blah. They may not have a nice home or car at present but so what, those can be earned anytime.
Clarke Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 You guys missing the point. This is not a true story... but a story with a moral ending one could relate to on some level. Its written awfully and then there's some who think there's a possibility its true, hence the replies. Almost everyone would understand the emphasis made on family vs wealth, we all watch bollywood and know our sanskaar. Why are they living in US then instead of India if they have all that?? There's a perception in many citizens of India that phoren~paradise. Coming from a state famous for immigrating to US, what I've seen is its almost a ritual among communities to attempt to immigrate, its hard-wired in their brain. For instance, you'll see middle class folks doing reasonably in India trying to sneak in illegally in western countries. How on earth would a sane person prefer living as an illegal for the sake of some material comforts ? My earlier grocer, he has a good amount of agricultural land that was tilled by umpteen laborers & would be managed by his family. He seems to prefer working in a grocery store 12 hrs a day 7 days a week. He doesn't even have health insurance and used the emergency room when his son was born. How is this better than his life in India ? I'm not sure. When was the last time India made the news for anything positive? Open up any major newspaper and it's the same **** over and over again - Rape case here, murder case there, corruption case this, extortion case that and blah, blah ****ing blah. They may not have a nice home or car at present but so what, those can be earned anytime. :hysterical:
EnterTheVoid Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Anybody who says the put the betterment of their country before their own immediate needs is a delusional fool.
Jersey #10 Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Why are they living in US then instead of India if they have all that?? I dont know but you would be surprised to know that there are millions that live a delusional life like that. Maybe for their kids' future....I d k Same family, the uncle had a reserve bank job in India. He is a cashier at a pharmacy here. Go figure Part of it could be that its sometimes considered shameful in gujarat to return to India without earning crores of rupees from the US
Desi Cartman Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 I dont know but you would be surprised to know that there are millions that live a delusional life like that. Maybe for their kids' future....I d k Same family, the uncle had a reserve bank job in India. He is a cashier at a pharmacy here. Go figure Maybe they came here so they can raise kids in a better environment or give them more opportunities. How many engg colleges were there and how many pvt sector good jobs were available till the late 90s. I think it's unfair to criticize these people as they probably have their reasons which we can't see or appreciate. Also a lot of people I think people see in these condition moved here in 80 and 90s when India's economy wasn't doing even half as good as today.
Jersey #10 Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 Maybe they came here so they can raise kids in a better environment or give them more opportunities. How many engg colleges were there and how many pvt sector good jobs were available till the late 90s. I think it's unfair to criticize these people as they probably have their reasons which we can't see or appreciate. Also a lot of people I think people see in these condition moved here in 80 and 90s when India's economy wasn't doing even half as good as today. Right exactly. But that brings me back to the story in OP. He may have saved a lot of money by the 1990s standard but India has had a huge inflation rate since then. What he thinks is a lot off money may just buy him a 2 bedroom condo in India. And there are a ton of people in similar situation
beetle Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 >>>>Looking out from the window he sees a lot of children dancing. This damned cable TV has spoiled the new generation and the children are losing their values and culture because of it. He get occasional cards from his children asking if he is alright. :hysterical:
CG Posted January 5, 2013 Posted January 5, 2013 When was the last time India made the news for anything positive? Open up any major newspaper and it's the same **** over and over again - Rape case here, murder case there, corruption case this, extortion case that and blah, blah ****ing blah. They may not have a nice home or car at present but so what, those can be earned anytime. Yeah we have great news coming from usa.
devla Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 Whether this story is 100% accurate or not doesn't matter. It does reflect the conflict that a lot of people live through, in different ways. That said, if the story is meant to discourage leaving India, it misses the point. There is no bigger truth than "Home is where heart is" and for some, it may very well be outside India.
Desi Cartman Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 Whether this story is 100% accurate or not doesn't matter. It does reflect the conflict that a lot of people live through, in different ways. That said, if the story is meant to discourage leaving India, it misses the point. There is no bigger truth than "Home is where heart is" and for some, it may very well be outside India. It does matter as its spreading a lie that people who are doing good jobs overseas won't be able to attend to emergencies in India and won't earn enough money to travel to India and will end up retiring with almost nothing and all of these statements are false.
Clarke Posted January 6, 2013 Posted January 6, 2013 ^ Which is why we've been crying foul about the authenticity of the story. The idea should be making India better, not disparaging those who immigrate (and actually contribute to India in important ways).