Desi Cartman Posted January 21, 2013 Posted January 21, 2013 As I started my monday morning, I got up 30 mins after the alarm rang. I was so tired and wanted to sleep more. While I was getting ready for work, I couldnt stop telling myself that my life sucks, I dont have enough money, I am overweight and I dislike my job but I need to go to work. I finally left home at 9:15, still frustrated that I will be doing a job that I dislike and how it takes me 45 mins to get work and 2 hrs a day of total time in the car which is almost 10% of my day. Then I saw around 15 cop cars and the traffic was being directed on the other side of the road and as I passed by, I saw a big sheet of cloth covering someone who was obviously dead. There was a cycle lying next to him and I saw a Toyota with a dent and his driver holding his head as he spoke to the police. So how did that 1 second change one life (driver, victim's famiily and friends) and end one life. It shook me and made me realize how all of a sudden everything can change for anybody. What happens to the people left behind, what about his kids, partner .. the dreams that they all had and about their plans. I think selfishly I was sad as I was worried about my family in case I die tomorrow and if I die what about the people I leave behind. How the life will change for everybody. How many dreams will end ...
Tiger-Don Posted January 21, 2013 Posted January 21, 2013 Emotional topic... but yes you are right....before you say i hate life, think of that above story!
Tiger-Don Posted January 21, 2013 Posted January 21, 2013 VLQ7-lcFQI8 muslim video, yes! but wont hurt for you to watch! only 4 minutes
Cricketics Posted January 21, 2013 Posted January 21, 2013 That's why I say to all.. Stay positive and live life to the fullest. Save money but save at a limit. Try to enjoy. Go to vacations spend time with family friends. KYA PATA KAL HO NA HO.. Also don't hold grudge against anyone for a long time. Life's to short to hold grudges for that long.
Desi Cartman Posted January 22, 2013 Author Posted January 22, 2013 Coming back I couldn't believe that I drove in the same lane where that person was lying dead. The world moves on, it's like absolutely nothing happened.
DomainK Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 Perspective. It changes everything. We all have a choice - either be sad and miserable about what we don't have (and there is always something that we want but can't have, no matter how rich and powerful you are) or be happy and thankful for what we have, value it and hope for the best in future. We all have that tendency of getting used to what we have and thinking constantly about what we don't have.
Texy Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 You have to ignore it and move on. I've been desensitized by death for last 2 years. You need to worry about your legacy if you go tomorrow. What will you leave behind? Will your family be taken care of? Make sure all that is managed first and then relax and let fate show you the way. You need to seriously sit down one day and write down on a piece of paper what you really want to say to your family, friends if you are gone and keep that note close to you. It will remind you every time you brush past events like this that your loved ones are in safe hands and so is your legacy and memory to them. I've done something similar and yet I'm always worried that after I'm gone they'll break through my 3 layer security ring and get to my stash of exotic media.
Desi Cartman Posted January 22, 2013 Author Posted January 22, 2013 Perspective. It changes everything. We all have a choice - either be sad and miserable about what we don't have (and there is always something that we want but can't have, no matter how rich and powerful you are) or be happy and thankful for what we have, value it and hope for the best in future. We all have that tendency of getting used to what we have and thinking constantly about what we don't have. I Agee but I wasn't depressed and just tired and uninterested in my job which I guess a lot of people are everyday. It was a normal day where I was just doing the minimum required lol. I always tell the same thing which you mentioned but even if you are happy, what about others around the person who dies. I saw a documentary on discovery and they mentioned that kid are so protected these days that some of them never see a dead body till they are in their twenties or 30s. I myself have been protected this way and the only funeral I have ever attended was of my grand father when I was in class 4. I stayed away and just looked from a distance and since then I have been lucky enough to have not been at cremations so my brain really can't process when I are a dead body.
veer Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 Honestly.. I realize and think about situations like these frequently. We take a lot of things granted... fight about little things but when I see bigger picture I feel lot of stupidity around me.. including myself.. Btw.. I watch B.R. Chopra's Mahabharata clips, that I've noted down, fairly frequently to keep my mind/ideas/life in perspective.. Unbelievable how relevant it is to this day..
DomainK Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 I Agee but I wasn't depressed and just tired and uninterested in my job which I guess a lot of people are everyday. It was a normal day where I was just doing the minimum required lol. I always tell the same thing which you mentioned but even if you are happy, what about others around the person who dies. I saw a documentary on discovery and they mentioned that kid are so protected these days that some of them never see a dead body till they are in their twenties or 30s. I myself have been protected this way and the only funeral I have ever attended was of my grand father when I was in class 4. I stayed away and just looked from a distance and since then I have been lucky enough to have not been at cremations so my brain really can't process when I are a dead body. I was hit hard by death when I was in school. I sat next to a friend in the class on a Saturday, played with him later and Monday morning the head master called for a special gathering and announced that the kid had died on Sunday. He drowned in a lake, a possible murdered. I learned that day that people can just disappear from your life in a slit second. And then they never come back.
Desi Cartman Posted January 22, 2013 Author Posted January 22, 2013 You have to ignore it and move on. I've been desensitized by death for last 2 years. You need to worry about your legacy if you go tomorrow. What will you leave behind? Will your family be taken care of? Make sure all that is managed first and then relax and let fate show you the way. You need to seriously sit down one day and write down on a piece of paper what you really want to say to your family' date=' friends if you are gone and keep that note close to you. It will remind you every time you brush past events like this that your loved ones are in safe hands and so is your legacy and memory to them. I've done something similar and yet I'm always worried that after I'm gone they'll break through my 3 layer security ring and get to my stash of exotic media.[/quote'] Being a doctor must be tough. Especially it must be tough when you know someone who is not well and you know that he/she wont make it. Its even worse if you know them personally or are related. How can doctors operate, declare dead, check people with life threatening diseases, bullet wounds and then go and attend a B'day party at home is something that I cant even imagine. As for the exotic media, once I was unwell (in class XI) so I thought that I may not make it :giggle: and ended up destroying all my fun stuff :((
Old guy Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 why so scared of death ? :dontknow: its only like it was before u were born :P
nikred Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 yeah life goes on... No it doesn't. Hence the thread. :((
Desi Cartman Posted January 22, 2013 Author Posted January 22, 2013 why so scared of death ? :dontknow: its only like it was before u were born :P It doesnt matter to the person who dies as he is gone but the others left behind dont feel what you posted. Especially if someone has responsibilities and dependents then its different. I was once on a plane whose one engine caught fire and while everybody was **** scared, I was laughing and in fact looking forward to crashing down. The captain then announced that the plane has multiple engines and fire is under control but one of the engines is dead but we are 10 mins from the airport so we will be fine. I didnt feel anything cuz I was 22 and didnt have any dependents
Old guy Posted January 22, 2013 Posted January 22, 2013 No it doesn't. Hence the thread. :(( it does u cant think abt it too much..we all live for a limited period and if we just waste our time thinking abt how it will end it will even spoil the limited time we have i have lost some one close to me when i was young..well u do miss them but life goes on and after a while it actually becomes normal..its much more scarier in our minds. cant really explain it but we imagine it much more worse then it actually is..people might think i dont feel emotions but its not true.. it does hit u that u wont be able to see tht person again but after a while u jsut have to move on and i guess its not just me as people do live on after they lose some one.. its about realizing tht one day every one will die and honestly best thing we can do is spend time proper;y with people we love..appreciate them and make every second we have count i see people here forgetting abt old parents..isnt that more sad?