Board Exams

Gambit

Absolute killers weren't they? Class X was still fun but XIIth was a nightmare! Everyone you meet had some advice or the other to give. Even people who didn't really care you existed previously, made it a point to meet you when you reached the dreaded year. They used to subject you to tales of their brave conquests over the Boards monster. "What? You are using 3 reference books? I studied from 15. Nothing less than 10 will do." (After hearing this pearl of wisdom, your parents would nod in disapproval while the advice giver would merrily sip his tea and rub his jalebee oil stained hands in glee at your impending doom.) You are constantly reminded about how your future will depend on five monstrous subjects. You feel 10 times more pressure than a Pakistani team in a bowl out. No amount of reference books seem enough. For every sample paper you do, there are another 5 that need to be done. For a year, life is a misery. And of course, there is always THE kid in the neighbourhood. This kid can be found in every neighbourhood of the country. The kid who's alleged academic performances gain mythical proportions in your household. If you get 90 in an exam, you will be chided for not getting a 100 only because the kid got a 100. Your parents would wax lyrical about this kid and you'd actually wake up with sweat in the middle of the night fearing your parents would drop you off at some dharmshala and adopt the wonder kid. This kid became your most hated enemy. But for what it's worth, I think all of us battle hardened people, who went triumphed over this demon, will look back and realise that the boards episode made us mentally stronger and prepared us better for the bigger, more meaningful challenges in life. PS - The boards is like the Faislabad highway pitch compared to the W.A.C.A that is Civil Services.:scooter: