Crookbond Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 As said earlier, all Hi Fi logic goes out of toss when it is "my community, my family, my wife and my kid". Rules for others, exceptions for oneself. :hatsoff:
someone Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 I guess the question is can the victim be at fault? No one likes to highlight the word "fault" but definitely many crimes can be prevented had them people been smarter. Remember, prevention is the best measure to deal with this. And that can only happen with self-awareness rather than just law & order. When we are talking about strong laws & order, it is extremely important to individuals to still realize that the primary defense will always be self-awareness and some common sense.
Laaloo Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 I guess the question is can the victim be at fault? No one likes to highlight the word "fault" but definitely many crimes can be prevented had them people been smarter. Remember, prevention is the best measure to deal with this. And that can only happen with self-awareness rather than just law & order. When we are talking about strong laws & order, it is extremely important to individuals to still realize that the primary defense will always be self-awareness and some common sense. ++
rageaddict Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 The tourists shouldnt have lurked around in unsafe areas. I am ready to hold myself responsible if I venture out in such areas after dark and get robbed/killed. Ab police har ek c***ye ko chappe chappe pe follow to kar nai sakti aur bi bhot kaam hai police ke pass.
South_Paw Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 I guess the question is can the victim be at fault? No one likes to highlight the word "fault" but definitely many crimes can be prevented had them people been smarter. Remember, prevention is the best measure to deal with this. And that can only happen with self-awareness rather than just law & order. When we are talking about strong laws & order, it is extremely important to individuals to still realize that the primary defense will always be self-awareness and some common sense. +1
South_Paw Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 In every part of the world crimes do exist. While we should look on eradicating it, we should also protect ourselves until it is done. Personally, from my experience, I feel that the foreigners who tour India take things granted. They see this place as a space meant purely for their recreation which makes them to be less worried about their safety. I believe these people might take things more seriously in their country than they tour India.
suraj Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 India is a **** hole. I am glad I have dual citizenship. India will be happier if you just give up citizenship altogether
suraj Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 Coming from the guy with this little gem: Why not wipe such a community en masse Tongue- in- cheek vs. moronic comment there's a difference
Muloghonto Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 Who ensures that? The legislative, by legislating it and the executive by executing it. Law enforcement is fundamentally linked to law creation. Tell me where I said that. What I did say is that Law and Order and Economics are intricately linked. In the context of rape crimes, economics is completely irrelevant, so it does not even begin to enter the picture here.
Muloghonto Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 Logic Fail. You being a Bong, I will give you a mulligan. Think about it and try again. Show us where is the logic fail. Apparently if its a white woman raped, its about 'being responsible for your own security if you go into a lawless area'. So why can't we apply the same to Kashmiri Pandits when they get messed with in Kashmir,which qualifies as a lawless area by virtually every benchmark ? They too, are responsible for their own safety if they go mess aruond in lawless area, too then. Or is it one rule for hindus and another for the rest ?
Muloghonto Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 India is a **** hole. I am glad I have dual citizenship. What are you then, a british Paki ? Because India does not allow dual citizenship.
Dumbbells Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 What are you then' date=' a british Paki ? Because India does not allow dual citizenship.[/quote'] I know dat. I am glad I am leaving India next month for good and I hope I am not coming back.
Muloghonto Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 I know dat. I am glad I am leaving India next month for good. :haha::haha: Oye mister dual citizenship, you would then need to spend another 4-10 years being Indian before you can ditch the passport.
surajmal Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 Tongue- in-ass cheek vs. moronic (because the logic is beyond my puny little brain) comment Corrected
surajmal Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 The legislative' date=' by legislating it and the executive by executing it. Law enforcement is fundamentally linked to law creation.[/quote'] So you aren't aware of the current state of the system then? You should have said that in the beginning. 1 A big chunk end being repeat offenders, so a healthy law and order system is necessary. Meaning if you are serious about the problem, Law and Order will need to be addressed holistically. 2. For the lower strata of Indian society (specifically the ones who indulge in crimes), jail is far more preferable to living out on the streets in absolute destitution.
Muloghonto Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 So you aren't aware of the current state of the system then? You should have said that in the beginning. Cryptic and evasive, as usual. What did i say above that is not factually true ? 1 A big chunk end being repeat offenders, so a healthy law and order system is necessary. Meaning if you are serious about the problem, Law and Order will need to be addressed holistically. 2. For the lower strata of Indian society (specifically the ones who indulge in crimes), jail is far more preferable to living out on the streets in absolute destitution. Again, cryptic, evasive and senseless. I asked you categorically, to point out what is the role of economic status in rape. If you cannot provide any causal argument between rape and economic status, you need to acknowledge then, that what you suggested, is too broad and too vague to relate to this thread, which is dealing with a particular issue.
surajmal Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 Show us where is the logic fail. I'm not surprised that you can't tell the difference between travelling in foreignland and living in your homeland. Apparently if its a white woman raped, its about 'being responsible for your own security if you go into a lawless area'. So why can't we apply the same to Kashmiri Pandits when they get messed with in Kashmir,which qualifies as a lawless area by virtually every benchmark ? They too, are responsible for their own safety if they go mess aruond in lawless area, too then. Or is it one rule for hindus and another for the rest ? The couple were probably educated.Were perhaps looking for the "eat pray love" experience. But not researching the area they are visiting is stupid and inexcusable. Being 1st worlders, they also have plenty of other options for travel. Kashmiri pundits aren't that lucky. They have to make do with what they have. Furthermore, they are the original residents of Kashmir. They shouldn't have to compromise with jihadis. It is their misfortune that Congress (and rest of the parties) deserted them.
Muloghonto Posted March 22, 2013 Posted March 22, 2013 I'm not surprised that you can't tell the difference between travelling in foreignland and living in your homeland. Irrelevant to your comment of 'if you go into dangerous areas, you are responsible for your own security'. Nothing in your statement makes its validity rest on whether you are a citizen or a foreigner, so i sense some logic fail from your part here. The couple were probably educated.Were perhaps looking for the "eat pray love" experience. But not researching the area they are visiting is stupid and inexcusable. Being 1st worlders, they also have plenty of other options for travel. Kashmiri pundits aren't that lucky. They have to make do with what they have. Furthermore, they are the original residents of Kashmir. They shouldn't have to compromise with jihadis. It is their misfortune that Congress (and rest of the parties) deserted them. Again, show us what impact does being a local or a foreigner have with the statement 'if you go into dangerous areas, you are taking responsibility of your own self at your own risk', which is a paraphrase of what you said. Tell us, what part of your sentence is logically pertaining to citizenship. Fact is, you have double standards, as vividly displayed here. If your logic is, ' blame the victim for not being smart enough to avoid the criminal and crime heavy zone', then it applies uniformy across all types of crimes. nationality does not even begin to enter the logical construct of your statement. PS: The Jihadis too are original residents of Kashmir. If tomorrow your wife turns into a Shinto, it doesnt make her any less Indian than you. Same applies to the ones who converted to Jihadi-ism. As much desi as you or I.
surajmal Posted March 23, 2013 Posted March 23, 2013 Again, cryptic, evasive and senseless. I asked you categorically, to point out what is the role of economic status in rape. If you cannot provide any causal argument between rape and economic status, you need to acknowledge then, that what you suggested, is too broad and too vague to relate to this thread, which is dealing with a particular issue. And I asked you to point out where I made the connection between Rape and Economics. The post where I did mention Economics was in reference to the Delhi woman rape. It was also a general comment that any Rape amendment will be ineffective, as long as the Law and Order Situation is in doldrums. Again, show us what impact does being a local or a foreigner have with the statement 'if you go into dangerous areas, you are taking responsibility of your own self at your own risk', which is a paraphrase of what you said. Tell us, what part of your sentence is logically pertaining to citizenship. Fact is, you have double standards, as vividly displayed here. If your logic is, ' blame the victim for not being smart enough to avoid the criminal and crime heavy zone', then it applies uniformy across all types of crimes. nationality does not even begin to enter the logical construct of your statement. Kashmiri Pandits don't have any other options. While the tourists do. How hard is it to understand? Frankly, your comparison is absurd. If you can't see the difference between the two situations, then I can't explain it any further.