Delhi Indira Gandhi International (IGI) Airport has been named the world’s second best airport

Meter se toh chalte hai? There are many auto/taxi options if you want to go out. You don't have to deal with goons as well. That makes it better. Similarly' date= the bus conductors/drivers are well behaved unlike the typical jatt buddhis here. Finding a taxi in Delhi is like finding a batsman in Pakistan - you don't agree, come and live here & we shall see.
Bangalore mein tou chaltey hee nahi.. aalsi nikamme.
Exactly what I was alluding to. Delhi has good infrastructure compared to the other Indian cities but than again, their overall quality is so poor that it doesn't take much to beat them anyway.
compared to what? It is fair to compare only with Indian cities, .. comparison even with other developing may not be fair enough. Also, as I posted above, if you have seen Delhi of 80s/90s, and now - then it would be dishonest to not acknowledge the improvement. May not have happened at world-class pace, but still quite commendable - (I would like to see some better precedence).
You have not seen the Delhi of 90s - pre CNG.... even if its still one of the top polluted city' date=' [b']the improvement post-CNG has been commendable. And you have to consider it is still work in progress. P.S. Also - one must also appreciate the way Delhi metro (and also flyovers on ring road) was laid out with minimal disruption to existing traffic ( esp in extremely crowded areas of Old Delhi) - with all the corruption and stuff. For comparison - ask any Bangalorean - how is the scene like, whenever they want to build even a single flyover.
I have heard enough about pre 2000s (not 90s) Delhi and will agree with you on the improvement. However, if I'm not wrong it is the SC's directive in early 2000s which made the change to CNGs in India. I never said there is no improvement just contesting narcissistic (typical if I may?) phrases like "greenest metro" etc. etc. You're also right about the metro and it's construction. A lot of credit must go to E Sreedharan (I guess he was also in charge of one of the most difficult railway projects in India Konkan Railway). I think it's just fantastic to have such a modern facility particularly for a place like Delhi which lacked connectivity apart from a few centered areas.
Bangalore mein tou chaltey hee nahi.. aalsi nikamme.
They are goons!
2.6 billion odd dollars for a new terminal and the place turns into a swimming pool at the outset of monsoon rains. gallery3.jpg Words fail me.
You don't seem to know much about modern architecture. The airport wasn't adjudged 2nd best in the world for no reason. Delhi airport is modeled on a Venetian mercato. People and luggage are to move around over the canals. Can't you see the people digging all over the place? All that is missing are the gondolas and a the oarsman singing "do lafzon ki hai....."
:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
:laugh:
:rofl:
compared to what? It is fair to compare only with Indian cities, .. comparison even with other developing may not be fair enough. Also, as I posted above, if you have seen Delhi of 80s/90s, and now - then it would be dishonest to not acknowledge the improvement. May not have happened at world-class pace, but still quite commendable - (I would like to see some better precedence).
From a previous reply of mine.
Taking your reasoning to its logical conclusion, you could make the statement Delhi is better than Hyderabad. Whilst that may be true, considering the generally bad state Hyderabad's overall infrastructure is in, that's not saying much. Certainly nothing to write home about.

I think the key phrase in that survey is "25-40 million passengers category". DD airport can never be considered as top airports today. Although, their improvement is commendable and certainly the most important change is the people, their staff looks at least having some training. But it's a long way to go and the people employed there have to be better, professionalism is the key word.

You have not seen the Delhi of 90s - pre CNG.... even if its still one of the top polluted city, the improvement post-CNG has been commendable. And you have to consider it is still work in progress. P.S. Also - one must also appreciate the way Delhi metro (and also flyovers on ring road) was laid out with minimal disruption to existing traffic ( esp in extremely crowded areas of Old Delhi) - with all the corruption and stuff. For comparison - ask any Bangalorean - how is the scene like, whenever they want to build even a single flyover.
bilkul sahi bola.....:two_thumbs_up: