Jersey #10 Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 After this, he went to become one of the fastest runner between the wickets. [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EyOtAb5255s]Dhoni's First Ball In International Cricket - YouTube[/ame]
bones Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 Pressure of getting his first international run. He's turned into an ODI giant and in my opinion the greatest captain of his generation. India have won a heck of a lot, almost everything under him, yes a formidable batting line up, but captains are judged on how they use their bowlers, Dhoni had 1.5 bowlers throughout his captain career to work with and he won world cups and test series galore.
JaFanatic Posted July 13, 2013 Posted July 13, 2013 i watched this match :woot: was in my grandma's home for pongal holidays(i guess) i knew from the very first moment that he's gonna become an odi legend :proud:
Old guy Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 I saw dhoni before against pak ! Side he scored 100 smashed everyone and so did gambhir so even after this bad series I knew he was going to be good and after that 140 odd against pak the world knew it :D
saneindian Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 We lost to BD in his next match where he played an ugly hoick and we lost chasing. There were concerns about his place in the ODI side but post this he struck a couple of 100s in Deodhar Trophy for East Zone and followed that with some good scores in the Challenger trophy including a 100 in a big chase (Dhawan also hit a 100 with him) in early 2005 before Pak ODIs.
jalebi_bhai Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 I saw dhoni before against pak ! Side he scored 100 smashed everyone and so did gambhir so even after this bad series I knew he was going to be good and after that 140 odd against pak the world knew it :D I remember watching that.......tri-series with India A, Pakistan A and Kenya I believe.........
Crookbond Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 The real change for Dhoni happened after the Zimbabwe tour in 2005. Most of the team management including Greg Chappell and the physio (I do not remember his name) put him out as the player to watch for. Dhoni then started the first of the epic Sri Lanka pawnings in the home series under Dravid's captaincy which for me was the "change" in India's ODI cricket approach. The rise of Yuvraj Singh helped a lot too.
Captain of Bhangra Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 I remember this. We were all looking forward to Dhoni's debut on the old forum. There was a lot of hype, and this innings was highly anticipated, so this was quite ironic at the time! Amazing to see how far he went, some of the hype was sarcastic, but boy was it justified in hindsight!...
Old guy Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 I remember watching that.......tri-series with India A' date=' Pakistan A and Kenya I believe.........[/quote'] yeah back then out batsmen were struggling a lot .. i mean after 2004 pak tour i dont remember us winning anything until dhoni came then him,yuvi and dravid made a strong batting line up all was well until world cup:cantstop:
saneindian Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 yeah back then out batsmen were struggling a lot .. i mean after 2004 pak tour i dont remember us winning anything until dhoni came then him,yuvi and dravid made a strong batting line up all was well until world cup:cantstop: Naah we lost in SA in Jan 07, kocked out in CT '06 at home, lost a ODI series in WI 1-4, lost a tri series in Kualaumpur. That WI series killed the momentum we had built beating SL, Eng and Pak in late 05 early 06
gattaca Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 Naah we lost in SA in Jan 07' date=' kocked out in CT '06 at home, lost a ODI series in WI 1-4, lost a tri series in Kualaumpur. That WI series killed the momentum we had built beating SL, Eng and Pak in late 05 early 06[/quote'] WI series remember that rare choke from uv. That changed the whole series.
Old guy Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 Naah we lost in SA in Jan 07' date=' kocked out in CT '06 at home, lost a ODI series in WI 1-4, lost a tri series in Kualaumpur. That WI series killed the momentum we had built beating SL, Eng and Pak in late 05 early 06[/quote'] but those were expected ..south africa one for sure west indies matches were close i think but most of times team performed well specially while chasing after 2004 it was terrible not even scoring 250 i guess i dont remember time lines correctly but i felt team was much better after dhoni and yuvi finding form
Crookbond Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 17 successful consecutive chases for India was a big deal then, particularly if you've watched Indian cricket in the 90s.
Old guy Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 17 successful consecutive chases for India was a big deal then' date=' particularly if you've watched Indian cricket in the 90s.[/quote'] we are good at chasing today only bcos of that :winky:
Sid Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 A certain Joginder Sharma was making his debut in this match along with Dhoni.Who could have imagined how Dhoni' will help his fellow debutant get a place in India's cricketing history :giggle:
Trichromatic Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 He hit six on the last ball of his last match of the series and all newspapers of Ranchi had this big headline on their sports page - "Dada ne chhakka maarne ka license dekar bheja tha". Earlier I thought he was just another hack. But everything changed after Pakistan series and then England series. I would never forget his visit to our school in Ranchi and those days when we used to just knock on his door and ask - "mahi bhaiya ghar pe hain?".
Crookbond Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 He hit six on the last ball of his last match of the series and all newspapers of Ranchi had this big headline on their sports page - "Dada ne chhakka maarne ka license dekar bheja tha". Earlier I thought he was just another hack. But everything changed after Pakistan series and then England series. I would never forget his visit to our school in Ranchi and those days when we used to just knock on his door and ask - "mahi bhaiya ghar pe hain?". Which series? From what I remember - it was the 4th ODI of the 7 match SL series where he hit couple of 6's to win the ODI series. I also remember Tendulkar jumping in joy in the dressing room and hugging another Indian player (Raina?).
Trichromatic Posted July 14, 2013 Posted July 14, 2013 Which series? From what I remember - it was the 4th ODI of the 7 match SL series where he hit couple of 6's to win the ODI series. I also remember Tendulkar jumping in joy in the dressing room and hugging another Indian player (Raina?). http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/64917.html That six was not on the last ball though.