Rohit enjoying his 'best phase in international cricket'

an opener who cannot rotate strike is not a good one' date='he cannot attack like dhawan and viru either.[/quote'] That sums him up well. He accumulates dot balls like they are going out of fashion and then tries to manufacture shots and inevitably gets out. 100 ODI games and he still does not inspire confidence. Nohit is just a slower version of Shane Watson. It may just be time to accept that is all he ever will be.
2 poor innings and the knives are already out again :hysterical:
Its not about 2 failures ... Its about his failures in rotating strike and poor strike rate over all. Plus that could have been neglected had he been making big scores, but he usually gives up every damn start he gets after batting at Tortoise speed. Atleast complete the race if you want to beat the hare. Plus, its not like in India we don't have players who can replace him, there are too many actually. Guy like Pujara waiting, Rahane is waiting since 2 years now. Why should he keep on getting chances without much to show for it apart from Mediocrity Ala Padosis???

blah, blah, blah, blah more bullcrap from people who have no idea what's at stake here. Sehwag/Yuvraj are gone, over the hill and exposed batsmen. You can keep wishing but they're not going to come back all of a sudden and do any better. I don't like Rohit Sharma, but even I can recognize that as an opener he's doing a much better job than the previous guys we have that badly fell out of form. Is he perfect? NO. Is he likely to go on and score hundreds? NO. But he's not going to pull a Sehwag and play like a fat walrus who can barely move his feet and get's his butt kicked every time there's any sideways movement of the ball.

When he scored against zim last tour-Kya yaar zimbabwe koi team hai When he fails-Dekho zimbabwe ke against bhi khel naahien pa raha.
When people were dropping his stats against Zimbabwe - tou kya hua Zimbabwe hai, it's still international team. When people want his performance counted against Zimbabwe - kya farak padta hai Zimbabwe ke against khela ya nahin. :winky:

I dont get the obsession with the strike rates and scoring at 10rpo. There are times that need to be played like that, but I dont see the necessity to score like that for openers, face off the openening bowling and score at will later on with wickets in hand. That's what they have been doing the past couple of months and winning almost every match. Last night is perfect of what happens when you lose wickets early......if dhawan actually got out early, India would have been phecked. All so quickly to forget the crucial 58 he scored two weeks back in the Final against the Lions that got us home with Dhoni at the end, where was Dhawan then??? :headshake:

blah, blah, blah, blah more bullcrap from people who have no idea what's at stake here. Sehwag/Yuvraj are gone, over the hill and exposed batsmen. You can keep wishing but they're not going to come back all of a sudden and do any better. I don't like Rohit Sharma, but even I can recognize that as an opener he's doing a much better job than the previous guys we have that badly fell out of form. Is he perfect? NO. Is he likely to go on and score hundreds? NO. But he's not going to pull a Sehwag and play like a fat walrus who can barely move his feet and get's his butt kicked every time there's any sideways movement of the ball.
Thats not the point.Sehwag,if not Yuvraj is indeed finished.But is Rohit the best option as opener we have?We have guys like Pujara waiting in the wings.Gambhir too can come back. As of now Rohit is doing a good job and his place isnt in danger,but is he a long term option like Dhawan?I'm not sure
Since CT he is prolific (by Rohit's standards) 12 ODIs 415 runs 37.72 average 65.66 strike rate 4 fifties 0 centuries
change ur pic ffs :pray:
BCCI wasted 100 ODIs' date=' 3 crore+ (Int. Match fee alone) on this tailunted player. Avg of 31 with 2 100s vs minnows is a huge shame for a 'rated' batsmen from land of batting legends.[/quote'] :cantstop:
Thats not the point.Sehwag,if not Yuvraj is indeed finished.But is Rohit the best option as opener we have?We have guys like Pujara waiting in the wings.Gambhir too can come back. As of now Rohit is doing a good job and his place isnt in danger,but is he a long term option like Dhawan?I'm not sure
So far yes Rohit is the best option because he's getting the job done. Gambhir can definitely come back but let's see how he performs in the A tour first against South Africa. The point is you don't tear down a player when he's actually doing a decent job. Having Gambhir come back will be a luxury and he can always play lower down the order if some one else struggles. The guy that's been well short of runs for a while is Raina and considering how well Gambhir plays spin he could slide in lower down the order at Raina's position.