The Outsider Posted May 7, 2007 Posted May 7, 2007 Re: New Delhi vs Mumbai Large cities are always going to be laden with their problems and Delhi and Bombay are no different. I have never lived in either city but have spent a lot of time in both, more in Delhi. Here are some parameters of comparison I came up with : 1. Commute : One of the biggest talking points of any metropolitan. Bombay wins hands down on this one with its local train system. True, they are dirty and overcrowded but they get you from point A to point B within a reasonable period of time. Struggling with Delhi's bus system is just that - a struggle. Disclaimer : Once the Delhi metro system is completed, Delhi will move ahead on this front. 2. Safety and Security : Even though Bombay is the underworld capital of India, for the common man its a much safer city. Instances of rape, burgalaries etc. are far fewer there. One can witness girls walking around freely at night. Delhi's security is abysmal, specially when it comes to women. 3. Cuisine : Even though Bombay has its own charm as far as food it concerned and has really good top class restaurants, when it comes to grass root cuisine, Delhi takes it. The variety and autheticity of the Delhi Mughlai cuisine would be second only to Lucknow. 4. Education : Delhi, with a lot of top ranked colleges and universities would easily score over Bombay. 5. Jobs and Economy : No contest, this one really. Even though Delhi has seen a lot of MNCs move there recently, Bombay's status as the financial capital remains unchallenged. 6. Weather : Even though Bombay's summers can get pretty hot and humid and the monsoon can lead to some torrent scenes, Delhi's extreme weather is the most uncomfortable equation the common man can ask for. 7. Arts and Entertainment : With its abundance of theater, art galleries, off beat cinema halls and ofcourse Bollywood there is very little Delhi can do to challenge Bombay. The night life scene of Bombay is also on a completely different level from Delhi, where the clubs are generally full of hooligans. 8. Cultural Diversity : Bombay is a city driven by its own culture, a rarity. People there identify themselves as Bombaites rather than Punjabi, Bihari etc. Delhi, is a city whose culture is predominantly Punjabi. In that sense, Bombay is perhaps the only metropolitan city in India. 9. Infrastructure : Delhi easily has the better roads for the most part. I wouldn't know the current situation for electricity and water in the two cities so would give this one to Delhi. 10. Easily accessible recreation spots : Delhi would probably nick this one. Bombay offers small hill resorts within a few hours and the Arabian Sea right there, whereas Delhi offers some very culturally rich cities with easy accessibility like Agra, Jaipur, Fatehpur and also places like Nainital, Mussoorie in the Himalayas which are reasonably easy to access. Bombay for me. :wtg:
Guest Hiten. Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Delhi - booooooo..full of bloody rapists. Mumbai - Wohoooo... full of enthusiasts :D wah kya rhyme hain :haha:
Rajiv Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Delhi - booooooo..full of bloody rapists. Mumbai - Wohoooo... full of enthusiasts :D wah kya rhyme hain :haha: ..more like enthusiastic rapists
Desi Cartman Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 :omg: we have a full on thread about mumbai w@nkers vs Delhi Dumbos :yay:
Desi Cartman Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 8. Cultural Diversity : Bombay is a city driven by its own culture, a rarity. People there identify themselves as Bombaites rather than Punjabi, Bihari etc. Delhi, is a city whose culture is predominantly Punjabi. In that sense, Bombay is perhaps the only metropolitan city in India. Thackery wont agree with you on this point...
Aditi Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Mee Mumbaikar...Mumbai Meri Jaan!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Delhi is aight but Mumbai is more fun...IMO
Rajiv Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 ..ya, aditi is real mumbaikar..so much she chose her dulha from Mulbourne
Aditi Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 ..ya' date=' aditi is real mumbaikar..so much she chose her dulha from [i']Mulbourne abbe he is pakka Mumbaikar! just living in Melbourne for past few years......
Rajiv Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 ..I know, I was saying u picked a guy in a city with the same alphabet "M"
Desi Cartman Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 FOOD FOOD FOOD Yes, seen many Delhi'tes talk about food over and over Kya Janam Janam ke Bhukhe ho kya? ..and WTF is Dilwalo ki Dilli? how gay is that Its painted on so many rickshaws .. Its not gay ... its just that we cant come up with anything better ...
Desi Cartman Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 and Mumbai also has :giggle: I never hated him as much before but off late he has been pissing me off with his north/south India crap
umpire Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 I haven't been to Delhi for about 10 years now. 10 years back I rated Mumbai better, but now I have been visiting Mumbai often and each time I hate it. Its just too crowded. Someone told me Delhi has improved. I guess whatever information I have I would say "Delhi"
CSK Fan Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Though I have been to neither, i hate them both equally!
Desi Cartman Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Though I have been to neither' date=' i hate them both equally![/quote'] Thanks :two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up::two_thumbs_up:
CC1981 Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Having been to both, i'd say Delhi has a much better infrastructure and sights to see- if i were a tourist, there are a ZILLION more things in Delhi to see and be awestruck by. Delhi also has an overbearing sense of history and occasion to it, with a lot of cultural activities and programs arranged year round. Mumbai on the other hand, has a very good local culture, where it views itself to some extent apart from the country and a genuine sense of camaraderie amongst Mumbaikars...in that aspect, its very similar to Rome. Delhi also has far better infrastructure and open spaces, while Mumbai is pretty much a ridiculously overpriced concrete jungle that gets flooded with tropical downpours. Having said that,i prefer Kolkata to both these cities, simply because as far as public interaction in culture goes, Delhi and Mumbai pales into insignificance compared to Kolkata. Kolkata has by far the worse infrastructure of the three....but by far a much more vibrant cultural scene which is accessible to the majority of the public on mass scale. Not to mention, neither Mumbai nor Delhi has anything remotely close to the scale, grandeur and complete social immersion as the Durga Puja week in Kolkata. And not to mention, Kolkata has a very good intellectual base- the kind of atmosphere prevalent in College street cafes, the accessibility to books ( the entire college street area lined with book-stalls and the book fair every year) is seriously missing in Delhi or Mumbai. And lastly- the food scene in Kolkata rocks....its got by far the best chinese cuisine in India, with excellent representation from around the country and if you are a fan of sweets, there aint a better place on this wold than Kolkata.
amits Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 a new delhi v mumbai topic was here on icf as well. mumbai is just a $hit city & i cant understand y is it being compared to the best city in the world - new delhi. comparing new delhi & mumbai on various things - 1. roads - delhi has wide roads & even the galli-roads in delhi happen to be wider than main roads of mumbai. the main roads in delhi r atleast 8-lane wide & delhi has lot of expressways as well, dnd flyway(delhi-noida), delhi-gurgaon expressway, mayur vihar-dnd link road and some more r under construction 2. public transport - delhi wins it. its just like comparing a ac 1st class train compartment to a 3rd class train compartment. delhi has the delhi metro, which is low in cost, will cover almost whole of delhi by 2009(next year) & is centrally air-conditioned. also, a person can stand very comfortably in delhi metro. mumbai local trains look like a joke in front of delhi metro. no place to even stand & too much of over-crowding. delhi metro trains dont even get crowded in peak hours due to the increase in frequency at that time 3. food - delhis local chats like aloo tikki, aloo chaat, etc r much better items to eat than mumbai bhel puris & vada paos. also, comparing mumbais pao bhaji & delhis chhole bhature, delhis chhole bhature wins it easily. just eat the chhole bhature in paharganj/chandni chowk and u will get to know. also, the chicken & non-veg items of delhi r more better and famous than the mumbai non-veg items 4. education - delhi has indias no.1 ranked engineering(IIT), medical(AIIMS) & management(FMS) college. mumbai does not have any decent college. also, delhi is the only city in india to have 5 central universities 5. security - delhi has a tighter security & no terrorist attacks happen in delhi, even the parliament attack was made unsuccesful. the delhi police is one of the best police in india & much better than the rishwat-khor mumbai police. mumbai is a home to frequent bomb blasts 6. weather - mumbai gets floddes in every monsoon season bringing life to a stand-still. also, mumbai does not witnesses seasons and remains too hot & humid. delhi, witnesses all types of seasons like summer, autumn, winter, spring. also delhis summers & winters r famous all-over india & delhi never gets any floods & life in delhi never comes to a stand-still. 7. energy requirements - in mumbai, u will need ac's to live, whereas in delhi, we can live comfortably in summers in just a ceiling fan moving at full-speed, so cutting down on electricity. ac's arent that much a necessity in delhi as it is in mumbai 8. electricity & water - delhi has better electricity & water supply than mumbai 9. historical places - delhi, being the capital of india since ages, has some of the best historical monuments of india. places like qutab minar, red fort, india gate r famous all-over the world & qutab minar was even a contender for the voting of 7-wonders of the world, something which no mumbai monument has ever been or will ever be. mumbai, does not have any historical monument apart from gateway of india 10. amusement parks - delhi despite appu ghar closure, still wins it due to adventure island(rohini), splash water park(alipur), fun & food village(nh8 delhi-jaipur highway) all coming within delhi. also, a amusement park 10 times bigger than appu ghar is coming up in noida. mumbai, has nothing besides essel world, which is too expensive. delhis amusement parks r better & less expensive than mumbais 11. cost of living - delhi, happens to be 1 of the cheapest cities of the world to live in. also, even property wise, in delhi, u can get 3-bedroom flats in a good location for even 30-35 lakhs & in posh areas, u can get it for 60-70 lakhs. in daily life even, u can get more value for money in delhi(1 of the cheapest cities of the world to live in) than the expensive & useless mumbai 12. cricketers - as this is a cricket forum, so a talk of cricketers has to be there. talking of test cricket, delhi has produced the best test batsman india has ever produced in virender sehwag, who can murder any bowling attack in the world & can change the course of a test-match in less than 1 session. mumbais sachin tendulkar, shits in his pants when coming in at a situation of 20/2. also, mumbai has to use a quota system to get its cr@p players in the indian team. delhi, has the fastest bowler in the world of the year 2008 in ishant sharma, who is also 1 of the best fast bowlers india has produced. mumbai fast bowlers like agarkar, cant even bowl at 140+ kph & get smashed all-over 13. ipl team names - delhi has the best ipl team name in the entire competition - delhi daredevils. mumbai, think as if they r everything of india and they r the only indians in india, which is clearly evident from their ipl name - mumbai indians, which also happens to be the worst team name ever for any competition. and for all mumbai-kars, r the other teams in ipl, all pakistani/aussie that u guys came up with such a cr@p name??? overall, delhi wins it hands down and dont forget this line about delhi - DILLI-WALO KA DIL BAHUT BADA HOTA HAI and EAST OR WEST, DELHI IS THE BEST DELHI ROCKS, MUMBAI SUCKS and delhi is also the capital of india, whereas mumbai isnt even fit enough to be capital of maharasthra even
Ram Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 I havent been to either city but Delhi gives me the impression of being the cleaner city. On that regard alone, it wins my vote.
coffee_rules Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Have seen snippets of both cities. Conveniences, probably Mumbai is better. Roads for Delhi. Haven't been to suburban parts of Delhi tho', probably I will change my mind. Crime - Mumbai is better (I mean lesser). Delhi shuts down at 8 PM. Mumbai is the first sleepless city I lived in. As a bachelor, Mumbai is the town to be, as much as any other metro area in the world. Civility - Hands down Mumbai. Delhi people (esp UPwaale) are very rude, english-hating, hindi-loving. They are ignorant of what's happening beyond Noida/Gurgaon. Best place to live in: Neither. Probably Madikeri (Coorg).
Cricketics Posted April 9, 2008 Posted April 9, 2008 Amits, i have lived a lot in Delhi.. to be frank, u r just kidding me if u saying Delhi security is better.. Mumbai security might be shyt too.. but then Delhi security ain't great either.. shytards those policemens.. can't even find solution to a single rape happenin around and bloody paise lutare.. infact Security is best in PUnjab states like Chandigarh and all.. all other states just sucks @ security system