Trundler27 Posted August 22, 2013 Posted August 22, 2013 http://www.espncricinfo.com/india/content/story/664425.html "The rapid depreciation of the Indian rupee over the past couple of months has led to disruptions in the accounts of IPL franchises, and exposed the flaw in its dual-payment structure. The rupee's fall, from 54 against the US dollar on May 3 to 65 on August 23, will most severely affect Indian players, whose wages are linked to a three-year locked-in rate of 46 to the dollar; overseas players are paid according to the floating rate and will not be affected. " Looks like the middle of the pack India players will get screwed big time. I think soon these leagues will have to form player unions to avoid such exploitation (similar to how the player unions in North American leagues like NFL, NHL, NBA ,etc work to make things fair for the least paid players). It just seems like all these t20 leagues around the world end up screwing their players in one way or the other.
vvvslaxman Posted August 22, 2013 Posted August 22, 2013 46 rupees lol my word that is a difference of 19 rupees every dollar!!!
G_B_ Posted August 22, 2013 Posted August 22, 2013 I feel they need to auction every player. You have a ridiculous situation of performing ranji players getting 20/30 lakh from the IPL. While so called superstars who did nothing earn the big bucks. You cant have a situation whereby somebody like S Tiwary earns 1.6 million while a good solid ranji player who does well in the IPL (of which there are many) get 20/30lakhs.
Desi Cartman Posted August 22, 2013 Posted August 22, 2013 Pay everybody in the local currency. Im sure big bash doesnt pay players in INR
Trundler27 Posted August 23, 2013 Author Posted August 23, 2013 ^ that's what the article says they plan to do after next year
moniker Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 I really can't understand this, how the hell are Indian players exactly "affected"? The income is fixed for them, they are protected from the rise and fall of the rupee against the dollar. Overseas players are the ones who stands to gain from it.
Laaloo Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 Can't Overseas players accept the payment in INR and then convert it to their currency when INR is low again?
G_B_ Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 @laloo dont think the rupee is a fully convertible currency. There are restrictions to the amount you can convert.
Jersey #10 Posted August 23, 2013 Posted August 23, 2013 LOL, worrying about the IPL players is the last of the concerns here! people are sleeping hungry right now b/c of the ridiculous inflation and fvcked up economy in India. Add a pinch of salt to the wound(s) and the rupee is in a free fall.
fineleg Posted August 24, 2013 Posted August 24, 2013 LOL' date=' worrying about the IPL players is the last of the concerns here! people are sleeping hungry right now b/c of the ridiculous inflation and fvcked up economy in India. Add a pinch of salt to the wound(s) and the rupee is in a free fall.[/quote'] +++++
G_B_ Posted August 24, 2013 Posted August 24, 2013 LOL' date=' worrying about the IPL players is the last of the concerns here! people are sleeping hungry right now b/c of the ridiculous inflation and fvcked up economy in India. Add a pinch of salt to the wound(s) and the rupee is in a free fall.[/quote'] its a cricket forum and a website primarily centred around cricket. What would you have us talk about?
Jersey #10 Posted August 24, 2013 Posted August 24, 2013 its a cricket forum and a website primarily centred around cricket. What would you have us talk about? o ya, let's cry about IPL players not making enough money :hitler::hitler::hitler::hitler::hitler:
fineleg Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 its a cricket forum and a website primarily centred around cricket. What would you have us talk about? Talking abt cricket and excess sympathy for ipl payout are not equivalent. Ipl is anyway an excess tournament
G_B_ Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 @transparent why dont you point out where anybody is "crying" in this thread. I dont see any excess sympathy for the cricketers at all. All i see is couple posters who are extremely bitter about the IPL.
Jersey #10 Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 @transparent why dont you point out where anybody is "crying" in this thread. I dont see any excess sympathy for the cricketers at all. All i see is couple posters who are extremely bitter about the IPL. no dude, my bad. I should have never mentioned hungry and the poor people on a cricket forum. You are right, I am wrong.
yoda Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 IPL needs to go the rupee route where everyone's auction money is decided in rupees and prevailing rate is used for conversions. Looks like they will be doing that next time around. It still doesn't make sense to use 46 for Indians and current rate for overseas players.
velu Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 I don't think saurabh tiwary minds little less money Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk 4
moniker Posted August 25, 2013 Posted August 25, 2013 ^ Saurabh Tiwary went for 1.6 million dollars. So he was promised Rs 7.36 cr then, he'll still receive Rs 7.36 cr now. This article is misleading. Indian players won't lose anything here.