maniac Posted September 9, 2013 Posted September 9, 2013 How is it a racism issue when CA proactively asks Fawad of his choice and Fawad gives him his preference? Not the first time someone is making a request and not the first time it was accepted as well. If you read the CI article' date= it is CA who has lobbied for Fawad's citizenship status. Please stop making it sound like Fawad has left CA with no choice. CA has an absolute choice to not pick Fawad and say NO to his request - Fawad can do jacksh!t if CA drops him tomorrow or doesn't even pick him for any future match involving Australia. In this case, CA accepted it and were accommodating which is what civilized countries do - particularly when it doesn't affect them a lot. There is a fine line between paranoia and hate - CA (for now) has given a lesson to everyone on how to tread that line. The very fact CA proactively brings up stuff like that is profiling.It's like my manager at work tells me,hey why don't you wear a turban,We are absolutely fine if you wear one,isn't that Racism? And If Fawad voulantarily asked then we need to go back to all the stuff I have mentioned before. If Fawad gets dropped tommorow which in all likeliness is a possibility,then was this farce from both him and CA really necessary?
Crookbond Posted September 10, 2013 Posted September 10, 2013 The very fact CA proactively brings up stuff like that is profiling.It's like my manager at work tells me' date=hey why don't you wear a turban,We are absolutely fine if you wear one,isn't that Racism? And If Fawad voulantarily asked then we need to go back to all the stuff I have mentioned before. If Fawad gets dropped tommorow which in all likeliness is a possibility,then was this farce from both him and CA really necessary? :blink: You have a weird definition of racism. The fact that CA brings such stuff up is called being sensitive to others beliefs in a civilized society. Not the typical, yahaan aise hi hoga - rehna hai to raho nahi toh kalti maaro. You yourself may have witnessed such a sensitive environment many times in Amreeka but apun ko toh rules for others, exceptions for ourselves chahiye na bhaiiya. You've also conveniently made a question which contains an answer. There's a difference between - "Why don't you wear a turban?" and "Are you going to wear a turban at office?". You're trying to prove something which not only does not exist but is of no concern to the immediate surroundings. There are many other threads where you can rightly criticize what you want to but this one is a no-brainer out here. Best to stop the discussion and move on. Why is Fawad dropping a farce? Baawla ho gaya hai kya! He was selected for his cricketing abilities and will be dropped for his cricketing abilities. Also, mere hero - even if he's dropped his Victoria jersey still exists i.e. if you have read the articles on this topic.
Asim Posted September 10, 2013 Posted September 10, 2013 Sports should be totally off the religious or any kind of faith influence. People who practice their religion privately and follow their faith don't need to bring it to public level unless it is causing them to under-perform or risk to their health/life. If Fawad was forced to drink alcohol or served food that does not agree with him then it is totally justified but a logo has no bearing on his game or on his religious faith. As someone put rightly if you move to country or region with the knowledge of assimilating you should be open to such things. Why do millions of Hindus & Muslims work in western countries were they may directly or indirectly interact with restaurant/companies that produce Ham or Beef ? I am sure they don't look at Ham or Beef eaten by westerners as anything against their religion, which again should not be offensive but if it is then please don't move to such places. i. I am sure you (and most of you here) would disagree on "Sports should be totally off the politics or any kind of political influence" :winky: ii. Here it does... since for him putting a logo is as a case of 'promoting' that product which too (besides consuming) is against his religious belief...
singhprakash72 Posted September 10, 2013 Posted September 10, 2013 i. I am sure you (and most of you here) would disagree on "Sports should be totally off the politics or any kind of political influence" :winky: ii. Here it does... since for him putting a logo is as a case of 'promoting' that product which too (besides consuming) is against his religious belief... This I believe is matter of perception because he would be still playing a game where his other 10 mates will be wearing that Logo and above allow the whole Aussie season or Series would be sponsored by VB. He should also not be part of celebration with champagne/ lager if ever Aussie happen to win, which begs the question as to why would you put yourself in this situation in first place by migrating to Australia. BTW I appreciate his respect for his religious belief.
GrandMasterSaxy Posted September 10, 2013 Posted September 10, 2013 Wondering what if Royal Challengers bid and buy Fawad for the next IPL season. He will have to wear the KingFisher jerseys, which is a broken airline company and a popular acolohol in India. Will he deny being a part of RCB ? Quite a few IPL teams advertise KingFisher on their jerseys, would he prefer not being a part of these teams or will request the team franchise to print a new jersey for him (without the KingFisher logo) ?
TheWall Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 Don t want to wear the sponsor logo, but need their money....:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical: Double standards!!!!!!!!!!!!
The Realist Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 Well that didn't last long, Alcohol Ahmed already axed :hysterical: Not suprising as he got smashed by the Eng B team the other day going at 8 an over. Suggest he go drown his sorrows with a strong drink, who knows the sponsors may be able to get him a freebie...
Crookbond Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 2.05pm Australia have won the toss and decided to bowl. "With rain around there might be a bit in it," says Clarke. Josh Hazlewood replaced Fawad Ahmed, Clarke explains largely because of conditions. The hate some people spew around is just amazing!
Number Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 Some really bigoted posts in this and guantanamo bay thread. Forum has a few really intolerant and hate-filled peeps.
Swing_n_Speed Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 ^Was it not just Mohammed Yousuf who ever did that and Inzi maybe also. You get Christian players who cross themselves as a show of thanks to God- maybe not cricketers so much- but plenty in other sports. The principle here is the same, albeit more overt. Mo Farah always does a mini prostration after winning a race. So maybe its not 'to gain more popularity and to spread religion' but a genuine desire to thank God Having this logo on, like for Amla, would be in effect advertising it so he has requested to have it taken off with pretty good reason. This does not indicate an inability to adapt- Id suggest its the opposite, he feels comfortable- integrated- enough to want to practice his religion to the best of his ability. I think the fact that he is now playing cricket for the national team shows he has adpated pretty well As has been pointed out CA accepted his request so no drama as they say. What are you on about. Everyone is doing something within the legal permits of what is acceptable. Here you have a player who wants a separate adjustment just for himself!!! If Fawad took a fiver and put his head to the floor in gratitude, no one would bat an eyelid. If people did maybe then we could use ur above argument. But for this article what you stated remains invalid!
Swing_n_Speed Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 Well that didn't last long' date=' [b']Alcohol Ahmed already axed :hysterical: Not suprising as he got smashed by the Eng B team the other day going at 8 an over. Suggest he go drown his sorrows with a strong drink, who knows the sponsors may be able to get him a freebie... :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
Swing_n_Speed Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 Wondering what if Royal Challengers bid and buy Fawad for the next IPL season. He will have to wear the KingFisher jerseys' date=' which is a broken airline company and a popular acolohol in India. Will he deny being a part of RCB ? Quite a few IPL teams advertise KingFisher on their jerseys, would he prefer not being a part of these teams or will request the team franchise to print a new jersey for him (without the KingFisher logo) ?[/quote'] No he'll ask Kingfisher to stop selling alcohol during the IPL! :--D
cricketrulez Posted September 11, 2013 Posted September 11, 2013 i. I am sure you (and most of you here) would disagree on "Sports should be totally off the politics or any kind of political influence" :winky: Political influence, maybe. Proxy war influence (like the one Pak has been waging against India): no ii. Here it does... since for him putting a logo is as a case of 'promoting' that product which too (besides consuming) is against his religious belief... So he is part of an organization that promotes alcoholic beverages and part of his salary is essentially paid for by the alcohol company. that doesn't affect his religious belief? but wearing the logo does? That is like a prostitute who wants to get paid but won't put out.
Asim Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 So he is part of an organization that promotes alcoholic beverages and part of his salary is essentially paid for by the alcohol company. that doesn't affect his religious belief? but wearing the logo does? That is like a prostitute who wants to get paid but won't put out. Question is: what does he or any other player BASICALLY gets paid for? i. Promoting sponsors & their products? ii. Playing cricket? You might agree its for 'playing cricket' plus may be additional money for promoting sponsors. Now Yes, some portion of his salary must be coming from those sponsor but its neither like whole of his income comes from that particular sponsor or even that sponsor company pays him directly. He or any other player receives their salary as a 'cricketer' from their 'cricket board' no matter which or how many resources their board gets that money from. Now the actual part: once he decided to not put the sponsor's logo on his shirt, its upto board and/or that particular sponsor to decide what % of his salary should be deducted for not putting the logo and here he would be totally Wrong IF he disagree any proposed deduction. (may be my post don't make much sense to you since its not in Bold+Italic)
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 who hates beer in this world. its the best gift by God to mankind
Crookbond Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 Some really bigoted posts in this and guantanamo bay thread. Forum has a few really intolerant and hate-filled peeps. Other threads too - just a reflection of our society.
Haarkarjeetgaye Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 in all this Fawad has actually promoted beer. I mean God has his ways to promote his best invention :hysterical:
Fontaine Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 ii. Here it does... since for him putting a logo is as a case of 'promoting' that product which too (besides consuming) is against his religious belief... Uh, no that's stupid. Islam says drinking alcohol is unclean/haram. There were no sponsor ship logos in the days of Mohamad so what fawad is doing is totally interpreting it his way, the way he sees it. That's fine, that's up him, but it's also stupid and dumb because he's playing in grounds where alcohol is sold, and advertised. He moved to a country where the very culture is about drinking. Effectively he's putting his religion ahead of his adopted country having moved to the country himself. Like I said, it's stupid.
Fontaine Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 Question is: what does he or any other player BASICALLY gets paid for? i. Promoting sponsors & their products? ii. Playing cricket? You might agree its for 'playing cricket' plus may be additional money for promoting sponsors. Now Yes, some portion of his salary must be coming from those sponsor but its neither like whole of his income comes from that particular sponsor or even that sponsor company pays him directly. He or any other player receives their salary as a 'cricketer' from their 'cricket board' no matter which or how many resources their board gets that money from. Now the actual part: once he decided to not put the sponsor's logo on his shirt, its upto board and/or that particular sponsor to decide what % of his salary should be deducted for not putting the logo and here he would be totally Wrong IF he disagree any proposed deduction. (may be my post don't make much sense to you since its not in Bold+Italic) This is from the Cricket Australia's official website on it's sponsors: VB Australia’s favourite beer, Victoria Bitter, is the official beer of Cricket Australia and the Australian Test Team and will be back this summer rewarding the hard earned thirst of cricket fans and offering them exciting opportunities to be involved with the game. It doesn't matter if the logo is on or off. 1. Victoria Bitter, as it says on the official site, is the official beer of Cricket Australia -> 2. Fawad is an official player of Cricket Australia -> 3. Victoria Bitter may not the official beer of Fawad the muslim, -----> but it's the official beer of Fawad, the Australian Cricketer (logo or no logo).
Fontaine Posted September 12, 2013 Posted September 12, 2013 KFC KFC signed as the official Fast Food Restaurant of Cricket Australia in 2003, and is the naming rights sponsor for both forms of Twenty20 cricket in Australia, the KFC Twenty20 international matches, and the KFC Twenty20 Big Bash domestic competition. Oh no! Does this mean Fawad can't wear the KFC logo on any T20 kit for Cricket Australia because they sell pork products?