Ms. Wirth' date=' us Indians have a lot more to worry about over what we actually are – A nation of poverty, hunger, illiteracy, violence against women, child malnourishment etc – than ponder about what we apparently are not – A communal society.[/quote'] or ponder wether we are the perfect secular society
Huh? What am I preaching about here? I think you totally misunderstood my post and its intent. The post was only about informing the previous poster about the "crusades". Of course I did make it a little longer but History is one topic I have always indulged in thusly. Anyway, let's go easy on the name calling. I do not believe in religion but I like to study the historical angle of things (including civilizations, religion, etc) and you should already know that. :icflove:
Dude, I wasn't addressing you. I was addressing the author etc. :nervous:
Problem with so called athiests is that they moan on and on about the wrongs in Hinduism' date='without pointing about it's rights.[/quote'] - Fireworks at Diwali - All festivals include lots of sweets - Babas glamorizing weed - Respect for animals (Though that can be taken way too far with the gau matra) Happy now?

India would never have been a secular country if some other religion other than Hinduism was the majority one.. Hinduism is much more tolerant than people give it credit for. But I think the time has come to stop this nonsense.

Yeah, because there are no christian countries invaded by muslim countries that remain secular. cough..spain..cough
boss, I am not sure about Spains demography..but would India have been secular if some other relegion other than Hinduism was constituting 80% of the total population?
boss' date=' I am not sure about Spains demography..but would India have been secular if some other relegion other than Hinduism was constituting 80% of the total population?[/quote'] I don't get your point. There are at least 30 fully secular countries in the world, and exactly two of them are majority hindu. Secularism is not something India invented.
I don't get your point. There are at least 30 fully secular countries in the world' date=' and exactly two of them are majority hindu.[/quote'] My point is just a hypothetical question.. would India have been secular if Islam or christianity was the majority relegion instead of Hinduism? Most certainly not .. The issue comes when being secular is associated with being opposed to practising Hinduism (wearing a tilak on your forehead is portrayed as communalism in the mainstream media)
My point is just a hypothetical question.. would India have been secular if Islam or christianity was the majority relegion instead of Hinduism? Most certainly not .. The issue comes when being secular is associated with being opposed to practising Hinduism (wearing a tilak on your forehead is portrayed as communalism in the mainstream media)
:blink::blink: Arre bhai give some explanation...how can you say "most certainly not " ? I have already mentioned that there are tonnes of majority christian secular countries (I would be hard pressed to find ANY christian majority nation which is not secular). Then there is Japan and China, which are secular, while not being hindu majority. So what is exactly that you are claiming ?
There is a huge time gap between the exodus of Muslims from Iberia and the modern experiment that is Secularism.
I don't get your point. There are at least 30 fully secular countries in the world' date=' and exactly two of them are majority hindu. Secularism is not something India invented.[/quote'] India didn't invent Secularism but it did invent Pluralism. And in the context of Contemporary India, they are one and the same.
Aren't you guilty of the same thing you accuse others of? Critiquing the author instead of the OP
Here is the timeline - I haven't even read the blog posted here, completely: 1. Started reading it and was :rofl: at the equivalence between Hindutva and Hinduism being drawn in it. 2. Clicked on the link to the blog to find out more about the author. 3. Reached the main page where Mere Karan Arjooon Aaayeinge was being propounded. 4. Clicked "About Us" to find out the author has been living in India with "renowned saints" for the last 30 years. 5. Made fun of her. Haven't quite got myself to read the article any further to comment on it or to associate it with the general stupidity of the author.
Difference with spain - India got divided based on religion. There was religious cleansing in our neigbhor countrys. Hindu reduced from 32% to 7% currently in BD since its formation. India is behind spain economically, in literacy rates etc. That said, I am sort of in-between in Hinduism vs christianity regarding tolarence.
:blink::blink: Arre bhai give some explanation...how can you say "most certainly not " ? I have already mentioned that there are tonnes of majority christian secular countries (I would be hard pressed to find ANY christian majority nation which is not secular). Then there is Japan and China, which are secular, while not being hindu majority. So what is exactly that you are claiming ?
There are our neighbours for you to think.. I wont club Europe & South Asia in the same bracket.. Secularism as practised in India is much different than all the other secular countries.. we have special laws for minorities & their own law making bodies
Here is the timeline - I haven't even read the blog posted here, completely: 1. Started reading it and was :rofl: at the equivalence between Hindutva and Hinduism being drawn in it. 2. Clicked on the link to the blog to find out more about the author. 3. Reached the main page where Mere Karan Arjooon Aaayeinge was being propounded. 4. Clicked "About Us" to find out the author has been living in India with "renowned saints" for the last 30 years. 5. Made fun of her. Haven't quite got myself to read the article any further to comment on it or to associate it with the general stupidity of the author.
Fine ..Extend the same benefit of doubt to others when they critic the author..
There are our neighbours for you to think.. I wont club Europe & South Asia in the same bracket.. Secularism as practised in India is much different than all the other secular countries.. we have special laws for minorities & their own law making bodies
I wouldn't give the point abt the laws coz provison for seperate laws were made by the majority community people afterall.
Difference with spain - India got divided based on religion. There was religious cleansing in our neigbhor countrys. Hindu reduced from 32% to 7% currently in BD since its formation. India is behind spain economically, in literacy rates etc. That said, I am sort of in-between in Hinduism vs christianity regarding tolarence.
Why? What is so tolerant about a religion that espouses conversion?
I wouldn't give the point abt the laws coz provison for seperate laws were made by the majority community people afterall.
If Gandhi (Nehru) family is hindu, then I'm a martian.