Number Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Ganguly did well in ICC tournaments. Can't say the same about Kohli.
div Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Ganguly did well in ICC tournaments. Can't say the same about Kohli. didnot u watch Champions Trophy 2013 final?
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 You keep on saying he had a good start to his test career ... He had a great opening two tests but faded away for long ... If I remember he got just 3 scores above 50 in his next 13 tests after coming back from England. On the other hand' date= he had a good start in ODIs barring the first 10-12 games ... Kohli on the other hand had a poorer start in ODIs as well. Take it series by series - 131, 136 and 48 against England - 66 and 21* against Australia - 6, 0, 39, 41 against SA at home - 16, 0 , 23, 30, 73, 60 against SA in SA So, he was fine in about 7 Tests and failed in 3. Then a poor West Indies series followed by a rocking Sri Lanka series with back-to-back scores of 147, 45, 109, 99 and 173. So, in his first two seasons, he had played 20 Tests with an average of 51.13 with 5 centuries. I would call that a good start to one's Test career.
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 not true' date=' Amla was averaging 39 after his 30th test .[/quote'] LOL, didn't you notice that I said 'almost'? There will always be some exceptions.
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 didnot u watch Champions Trophy 2013 final? That is the only one till now. But he still has miles to go, and that comparison can only be done in the future after he plays some more.
Number Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 didnot u watch Champions Trophy 2013 final? lol he made 40 odd ffs.
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 lol he made 40 odd ffs. But I still think that is the best knock of Kohli's ODI career. It was a tough wicket and it was a hopeless situation. Those ornamental flat wicket monstrosities are just faff in comparison.
adi B Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 saurav (the icf one) has made some valid points..ganguly avged 45+ as non captain in a different era and avg of 42 is a good one for a middle order test batsman.i have high expectations from kohli but for now he needs to play some valuable test innings,i would be happy if he averages 45+ in the next 2-3 years
saneindian Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 "Better ODI stats than tests in the first phase of career. " I am sure you know Dada had a test avg of 50+ for first 3-4 years after making his test debut?
Austin 3:!6 Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Lol at people's blind love for Ganguly. He was not even 10% of the player Kohli is.
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Lol at people's blind love for Ganguly. He was not even 10% of the player Kohli is. Flat wicket monstrosity has blinded you.
Austin 3:!6 Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 ^^ Ok I agree 10% was an exaggeration. But Kohli is better batsman :beee:
Cricketics Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Both played for India. Both played blue jersey during their careers. Kohli didn't bowl bhatta bowling and could roll his arm. Ganguly's bowling action too was clear and wasn't ever questioned. Ganguly played 3 world cup. Kohli might be playing his 3rd world cup soon. Very similar. So many things in common.
Magneto Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 ^^ Ok I agree 10% was an exaggeration. But Kohli is better batsman :beee: Ganguly averaged 50+ in his first 18 Tests. Kohli has a piddly 41. Kohli has a better average than Ganguly in ODIs though in a comparable time frame.
adi B Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Both played for India. Both played blue jersey during their careers. Kohli didn't bowl bhatta bowling and could roll his arm. Ganguly's bowling action too was clear and wasn't ever questioned. Ganguly played 3 world cup. Kohli might be playing his 3rd world cup soon. Very similar. So many things in common. pagal ho gaya
Cricketics Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 pagal ho gaya Bhai koi comparison he nahi hai between two players toh fir bin baat ka kya compare karna.
GoldenSun Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 I just hope Kohli comes great as a Test batsman. I don't simply want him to be an great ODI player. He is seriously talented.
Vilander Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 Ganguly reached 5000 in 126 innings ... Kohli will get there in about 115 innings I guess... Not much difference when you remember the quality of bowling Ganguly faced ... Donald' date=' Pollock from South Africa ... Wasim, Waqar, Saqlain from Pakistan ... Vass, Murali from Lanka, Walsh, Ambrose, Dillon from Windies ... McGrath, Gillespie, Fleming from Australia ... You have to give it to Ganguly that most teams in those days had good bowling plus the pitches weren't as flat as they are in today's cricket.[/quote'] this is unfair to the current bowlers as they have not completed their careers, and the bowlers mentioned did not all bowl in their respective national teams at the same time..
Old guy Posted November 13, 2013 Posted November 13, 2013 this is unfair to the current bowlers as they have not completed their careers' date=' and the bowlers mentioned did not all bowl in their respective national teams at the same time..[/quote'] atlast some common sense!