If a Pakistani can umpire in Mumbai...

Rajiv

rajeev we get to hear chants (loud ones that too) like 'gali gali mein shor hai' date='pakistan chor hai' and 'pakistani ki maa ki ****' even when india is playing some other country at the wankhede stad. I feel the situation would get out of hand if pakistan come to play here.[/quote'] this all happen everytime time when pak play @ delhi.. thats not the issue.. perhapz the shiv sena thing.. Btw our group chant @ Delhi Test when akram's team toured India in 1999 was "Andar ki baat hai, akram apne saat hai" this was whenever after lunch break or tea break he used to make huddle.. and all these regular chantz which u mentioned and some others..

What is wrong in that?? Shivsainiks oppose Ind-Pak match for "wide" range of issues, other than Cricket, simply because Cricket is popular in India and lives with sentiments of crores of Mumbaikars. Forget, Wankhede on a match day, just walk nearby Shivaji Park and feel the pulse. Besides, law and order, India is our country and we have right to decide, which country has "morale" right to play against us. Talking of Pakistan-- less said is better.

Shiv sena is nothing but organised gundasena. I am disgusted that these people are allowed so much freedom in the country. Most of the leaders and the party karyakartas are gundas who should be behind bars for denying the ordinary citizens a right to live their life their way...sick $%^%%^

It has everything to do with Shiv Sena and little with anything else. Mumbai has two of the best stadiums in India, great facility(both in terms of stadium and also travel/stay etc for the players), not to mention good access to audience thanks to BEST buses and trains. Throw out Shiv Sena and no reason why Mumbai should not be able to host Indo-Pak game.

What is wrong in that?? Shivsainiks oppose Ind-Pak match for "wide" range of issues, other than Cricket, simply because Cricket is popular in India and lives with sentiments of crores of Mumbaikars. Forget, Wankhede on a match day, just walk nearby Shivaji Park and feel the pulse. Besides, law and order, India is our country and we have right to decide, which country has "morale" right to play against us. Talking of Pakistan-- less said is better.
I can understand SS's tang-adna in matters related to Pakistan (sports or others), but they police the public even when it comes to pop culture. They have violently protested against Valentines Day, etc and they want to control how romance needs to be celebrated in India. Who made them the authority?

i think abusing will happen in any sports...its a part of game....but bez of political issues u cant let the teams play at perticular place is not a good decesion......and i think mumbai is awsome place for cricket....and now they have renovate brebourne also....so two grounds in bombay....but in forthcomming series...ind vs pak playing test match at bombay...

So SS doesnt mind Pak playing in other states, India to them is only Mumbai? So a Pak umpie stood for 8 hours for an ODI? but 12 others who will play the actual sport won't be allowed. I can undertsand the political funda but atleast be consistent..either don't allow anyone or let them play Come to think of it, what if Pak entered the final in ICC Champs trophy

SS activists dug up the Delhi pitch once as well, but that didnt prevent the Test match from taking place (nor did it prevent Kumble from taking that 10-fer)....but I guess since the HQ is in Bombay, Thakeray saab can get away with a sh*tload of stuff.

sena have not been in power here for more than 12 years.
Where??....Talking of Mumbai or Maharshtra? Demography of Mumbai is much different than Maharshtra at large. Still Shivsena has more Corporators in Brihan Mumbai Mahanagar Palika (the local Mumbai civic body). Current Elected Mayor Smt. Shuba Raul-- belongs to Shivsena. The total no. of seats in BMC for SS are more than other parties. And all these is inspite of the fact that Mumbai has much larger no. of non-Marathi speaking immigrants than any other Metro. So why SS gets grass-root support of Mumbaikars?? Think about it. SS raises the core issues which pseudo-sec and dhimmi parties of India have ignored since last 6 decades. SS is a reaction to balatant ignorance of rights of majority Indians and native Marathis in Mumbai. During SS+BJP alliance rule they constructed many bridges in Mumbai in an attempt to ease traffic......Jhunka Bhakar programme was initiated under the direction of Shivsena. Construction of multi-story buildings, in place of slums and providing slum dwellers at least one 300 square-feet flat in those buildings was proposed by Shivsena. These common man benefitting schemes are the base where SS stands and not the media psy-ops and sun-dry criticism.

As long as their opposition of Pakis playing in Mumbai is concerned, we have to give a look at the reason why they oppose. Cricket in India is not just another game like Kabaddi or Kho-Kho. It has a mass impact......Shivesena being a regional party, their Voice remains un-heard and ignored by p-sec Congressis at 10 Janpath. They raise a serious issue of Paki sposored Terror and Mumbai is one of the biggest victim of terrorism. When Balasaheb says - You cannot watch a Cricket match with all "friendly" and "Bhai -chara" talks and wake-up next morning to find that Your local train carrying your citizens have been blown away, he wants to highlight the fact that how we are bleeding by Paki sponsored terror and still cannot protest. many countries including US break sports ties with countries like Iran who are against their National security. So WHY NOT INDIA.....Why Balasaheb is Wrong Here?? Think again Folks...We are NOT just Fans but Citizens as well.