TheWall Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 What happens? :nervous: nothing...:hysterical::hysterical:
Zap_Brannigan Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 I love how people here think they know more than Mani, Speed and Gray. It is just funny. It is like you guys have more stats than they do which is obviously not true since they are still working within cricket and you guys are still here. Cmon now. The same can be said of mani and speed. That is, i love how they think they know more than the current board members. Do you think that these guys have more stats than people that are currently working within the cricket boards. All the stats spouted, by BCCI, by the new draft and by mani are unsubstantiated. The new draft says 80% without any source. Mani rubbishes that and claims his own numbers without any source. This is a discussion board. People are going to make their own arguments based on whatever information they have. It doesnt mean that whatever that comes out of Mani's or BCCI's mouth is true.
deathmonger Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 PCB might have sided with India against the status quo of Aus/Eng in the past ... but this current proposal is epic greedy badmashi from BCCI and the former Pakistani head of the ICC Ehsan Mani along with former PCB chiefs Sheryar Khan and Tauqir Zia have already come out strongly against it. P.S. .. go tell an average Pak cricket fan in real life that BCCI are their masters and we'll see what happens ... you boys are cocky little things online. Tu burbak hai kya re? SL, Pak etc will all vote for the proposal. It doesn't even matter. Even if BCCI lost 1-everyone BCCI will still win.
TheWall Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 PCB might have sided with India against the status quo of Aus/Eng in the past ... but this current proposal is epic greedy badmashi from BCCI and the former Pakistani head of the ICC Ehsan Mani along with former PCB chiefs Sheryar Khan and Tauqir Zia have already come out strongly against it. P.S. .. go tell an average Pak cricket fan in real life that BCCI are their masters and we'll see what happens ... you boys are cocky little things online. for your info - PCB/BCB are more greedier than any other cricket boards. they will easily fall in line.
Zap_Brannigan Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 for your info - PCB/BCB are more greedier than any other cricket boards. they will easily fall in line. The greed might also be what is stopping them from joining. Now, they get to share the spoils without working for it and have no accountability. The draft not only proposes to reduce this but also opens up them for auditing. How will the PCB chairman and his cronies explain their first class luxury trips or their luxury car purchases.
Zap_Brannigan Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 Let's all be clear here. Not a single board has spoken out for the benevolent of developing the game. Everyone has only spoken against what is detriment to their own boards so far. CSA, PCB has outright slammed the draft without going thro' the good or the bad because they stand to lose money from the current procedure. That is all. They haven't spoken about the reduction of funds to associate nations, the bad or the introduction of test match fund and auditing of the boards, the good. All they have spoken against is losing their power and handouts. All the boards are greedy here.
deathmonger Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 Let's all be clear here. Not a single board has spoken out for the benevolent of developing the game. Everyone has only spoken against what is detriment to their own boards so far. CSA, PCB has outright slammed the draft without going thro' the good or the bad because they stand to lose money from the current procedure. That is all. They haven't spoken about the reduction of funds to associate nations, the bad or the introduction of test match fund and auditing of the boards, the good. All they have spoken against is losing their power and handouts. All the boards are greedy here. PCB has done lauda. They are ex-Pakistani players who have no stake. BCCI'll throw some cash at PCB and not only will PCB vote for the proposal, they'll throw in free BJs.
Marut Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 Some of you fans need to get your heads out of your a** before commenting. Cricket is the 2nd most famous sport in the world and that is due to the huge population from IND/BAN/PAK/SRI. Take these 4 nations out and you have a sport which is unknown even in the heart of TORONTO or NYC by a North American who would assume that you are talking about a bug. I understand why our beloved BCCI wants to push this plan through cause let's face it, we do bring in the most amount of REVENUE to ICC but if this plan goes through, cricket WORLD WIDE will suffer massively. Playing cricket here in Canada, I can already see why this would be a huge concern for the associates. Unlike in India, here we pay from our own pocket every year to PLAY 2 matches on the weekend (if you are lucky and that too only during summer) per week while working/studying during the weekdays. The pitches are horrible as hell. Grasses are never cut, holes on grounds, and I can go on. And the sad part is, Canada is among one of the top associate teams and they only get 70 thousand-ish (that's pocket money for DHONI) from the government because cricket can't thrive properly because of ICC's incompetent. All in all, we need to invest more money on associates and co and not cut down on shared revenue. If money must be cut, it should be from boards within the 10 test playing countries. Also, kicking out ZIM and BD from test will just hamper creating world class cricketers from both countries. For fudges sake BCCI, CSA and ECA look beyond your own pocket for once and look for the better of the game. Bunch of morons ... Why don't countries like USA, Canada, UK etc which have the highest per capita income in the world share their wealth with the rest of the poor nations, so that all countries become equal? Look for the betterment of humanity and not just the welfare of your citizens, you bunch of morons...
Sachinism Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 again the grounds in my expirience have nothing but improved. The old wankhede built in the 1970s was a joke. The new one is fantastic. So money is very much being spent on building new grounds. The MCA are currently renovating dadoji kondev in Thane just on the outskirts of mumbai and their bkc ground. So money in mumbai is very much being spent on infra. There is also a new ground coming up in Kalyan dombivali. I think its becoming a myth that the BCCI does not spend money on stadiums. I can tell you first hand that the stadiums in Maharashtra have heavily improved and are as good as the ones in England. As i have been to both sets literally in the last 6 months or so. Maybe there are certain associations who dont spend their money in infrastructure. But atleast in western maharashtra which includes Mumbai and Maharashtra cricket the changes have been there physically for all to see. So its fundamentally unfair to deny the cricket associations and the affiliates that support them chance to provide their populations with infrastructure. I've been to 7 Indian grounds in the last few years and my experience of most has been pretty sh!tty. Maybe its to do with the Indian public having a lack of respect for things they didn't spend money on and thats why they can't have nice things... Pak can be easily brought off. SA might be the only stubborn one in this lot. SA are going to be totally screwed here. The one board, it is emerging, in an even worse position than this group is Cricket South Africa (CSA). On Saturday at least, it was said to be the only board not invited to the BCCI shop. It has officially expressed its disapproval at the proposals and increasingly talk of the personal aggravations between the BCCI head N Srinivasan and Haroon Lorgat, CSA’s chief executive, looms large. It is not beyond the realms of possibility that an effort is made to completely isolate CSA; that is, at least, the feeling of a couple of officials from Saturday’s proceedings Read more: http://www.thenational.ae/sport/cricket/each-icc-member-board-faces-test-of-its-own-on-position-paper#full#ixzz2rbSqzo6o
putrevus Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 I love how people here think they know more than Mani, Speed and Gray. It is just funny. It is like you guys have more stats than they do which is obviously not true since they are still working within cricket and you guys are still here. BCCI has enough money to go into infrastructure and facilities and all that jazz, if they aren't spending the money right then why should they receive more? It is about using the money right. I love how some points out from a Canadian point of view but they are shut down because apparently Canada has other sports. It is kind of disgraceful that people here would shut down people from having a different Point of view and actually insult them like when I was called greedy for no apparent reason at all. Then people are saying when the MCC and ACB were in power.... So 1 - Does that give BCCI the licence to do what these guys did wrong in history? Shouldn't you learn from history and try to avoid the mistakes of the previous powerbrokers? Apparently not because it is that attitude of revenge that is messed up. 2 - Didn't MCC and ACB bring in new countries playing cricket? Such as NZ, West Indies, India, South Africa, Pakistan, USA, Netherlands, Sri Lanka and so on? So weren't there more countries playing and actually having something to go with then nothing. Also I love how immediately it is Malcolm Speed or an Australian, Pakistani or Englishman they are immediately labeled racist but that's something even when I've been to India have seen. I don't know why they have blame everyone and call people racist when they get the definition and context completely wrong. Anyway that's beside the point but really I know Indians want BCCI to get more money but what are they doing with their money? If there isn't enough for infrastructure and grassroots then surely there is something wrong there. I think the current ICC system is terrible and this one will be worse, they needs to be better corporate governance. Because it is interesting that we know there is massive corruption in the BCCI, yet they need more for infrastructure and promoting the game in India. So there is a likely chance that the money will be going towards the BCCI members than the game of cricket. Then there is this 80% deal, does this include sponsorship? Are these figures fudged up like in normal businesses or inclusive of corporate that we with the BCCI such as Indian Cements and stuff like that. Don't get me wrong both CA and ECB are in the wrong as well but considering what we are hearing about the BCCI pulling stuff like having an ICC event ever 3 years and actually saying that they pullout while CA and ECB are keeping their mouths shut does paint an interesting picture. CA and ECB have stated that they will play 3 tests and 5 ODIs against everyone, we don't know if that is true at all but they have said something which BCCI hasn't on that which doesn't help either. Now there is this feeling that CA and ECB will actually veto the BCCI which wouldn't bode well either, there are some suggestions that they will backstab the BCCI which would have no good effect to anyone at all. However it does make you think, do the BCCI want cricket to be a global sport? Or do they want to assert themselves as one of the best in a niche sport? Which would explain a lot I mean considering the Woolf Report done by PWC who I might add was completely independent. Just because someone disagrees with you and they might be from Pakistan or Sri Lanka, does not give you the right to bag them out or treat them badly. We will never know the actually stats and cash flow of all the major boards and ICC unless you could hack them or you work within them. So to really shut down people and treat them badly here because they have a differing opinion is not right at all. Just treat each others with respect and for the love of sanity don't use the term racist unless you are using it right. They should get more money because the money is due to their team , if it were not Indian sponsors there would be no money, so why is it wrong for BCCI to ask for more and how are they greedy by asking for more money.Revenue model shown is very fair. Why do you think there is no corruption in CA and ecb, do you know what they are doing with money they are generating to last dollar. Same thing with BCCI, players and ex players are getting more money than ever before, IPL has given all local players chance to earn money which they never dreamed about before, corruption will always be part of any world and it will be more in sub continent. Why you think BCCI is doing this for revenge, they are not doing this revenge they are doing for money, they want their IPL cricket to become like baseball in America totally self reliant. I don't blame them as they see Ashes is nothing crappy series between two teams which is taking away their TV air time on their broadcast partners and they are not get a dime from it. Many Indians don't rat ass about Ashes they want more IPL than 3 month of crappy Ashes every 18 months airing on their tvs. Do you blame them. CA and ECB know they are getting more than what they would get from their Ashes and they have dip into their resources when they play other countries. BCCI are not idiots as you think they have lumped these two so that they are not left behind by all other teams. CA or ECB did not expand the game it got expanded due to colonialism and to those countries.It will never be global sport and not every sport has to be global to be popular in the countries, Footy is a niche sport but it is most popular sport in Australia or Victoria at least. Cricket always has been a niche summer sport in many countries what makes you think it is something more than only in India and Asian countries it is main stream sport. It will remain like that at least in India for long time to come.
cowboysfan Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 the Associates will be the hardest hit by this money grab and i doubt anybody is going to bat for their rights.Afghansistan,Nepal,Ireland etc are countries ICC has to promote and there will be considerably less money if this new deal goes through.
SLICKR392 Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 Not really. Only one member has to agree. Us. :cantstop:
BeautifulGame Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 Now Pak media reporting that PCB has accepted our proposals . So much for standing up :hysterical:
sachin34357 Posted January 27, 2014 Posted January 27, 2014 has the ipl revenue been going up every year or down?
Sachinism Posted January 28, 2014 Posted January 28, 2014 Cricket's formally-united Big Three - the BCCI, Cricket Australia and the ECB - will present the seven other Full Member nations with a set of re-drafted "resolutions" around their radical "position paper" at an ICC executive meeting in Dubai on Tuesday. The resolutions - five in number - were being talked through the first official meeting of the Finance & Commercial Affairs (F&CA) committee after its "working group" - made up of the heads of the BCCI, Cricket Australia and the ECB - came up with the proposal in a 21-page document that called for a complete overhaul of the ICC's administration and its revenue distribution. The first of the proposals to be watered down is expected to be the one pertaining to a two-tier format for Test cricket and the relegation of the bottom two ranked into the ICC Intercontinental Cup. The other proposal which could be reworked pertains to a newly formed Executive Committee (ExCo) and it's possible expansion from four to five, with a second nominee coming in from the "small seven," as opposed to only one according to the draft position paper. As the ICC's Board met for its scheduled quarterly meeting in Dubai, the Big Three were known to be in discussions with six of the Seven in order to ensure their support should the proposal go to vote on Tuesday. Fans turned up in large numbers to support Nepal, Hong Kong v Nepal, ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, quarter-final, Abu Dhabi, November 27, 2013 There could be some radical changes to international cricket if the ICC Board accepts the proposals © ICC Enlarge One board chief said the BCCI, ECB and Cricket Australia had been "surrounding people, taking them in, we'll give you this, we'll give you that." Another said that BCCI led the majority of such discussions, their offers being enhanced with every meeting, "Individually they call every board and offer them something each time." The only vocal objector to the proposal, Cricket South Africa, has been left out of these discussions and the benefits being offered to the rest of the boards. The main negotiations took place on governance issues with FTP agreements - particularly those pertaining to tours by India - being used as "bait". The resolutions, first expected to be presented in a list of 50-plus points, were later gathered together under five categories. While in the past governance issues had dominated revenue matters, on Monday evening, one of the Big Three officials said there could be "further discussions rather than negotiations around revenue models" with an attempt to explain how they would work in real terms and the guarantees being offered. The main boards involved in the talks are the three Asian boards - the PCB, SLC and BCB - who have been left mulling over their options due to various reasons. There has been public protest in Bangladesh, including a crowd gathering of close to 3000 in Dhaka on Saturday, over the possibility of their cricket board ceding Bangladesh's Test match status and calendar in the face of the proposals. A senior Bangladeshi cricket official said, "It is a big thing, (to us) this status. In 13 years Bangladesh have managed to win four Test matches. India and New Zealand did not win their first Test till 30 years. So how come these people are now telling Bangladesh that you will need to fight out in the I-Cup to retain your Test status." Should the relegation issue be diluted from the resolutions, the Big Three may find the leverage they need with the BCB. With the PCB, the main issue concerned their FTP arrangements particularly with the BCCI, in the light of a fluctuating political climate. SLC finds itself in a state of financial crisis, an application pending for an $8m loan from the ICC and the prospective carrot of a 2017 tour from the Indian team. Plus, officials are under pressure from former players and administrators who believe the rights they won at an ICC table, "the hard way" should not be surrendered for "short-term gain." Former Sri Lankan captain Arjuna Ranatunga said accepting the proposal would take smaller countries back to the skewed international calendars of the 1980s. "From 1987 to 1990 in four years Sri Lanka played just seven Tests. After that, ICC's Future Tour Programme ensured that there were equal opportunities for all countries. The proposed system will take smaller nations like Sri Lanka to the situation in 1980s." Zimbabwe Cricket, despite its financial debt to the tune of $18m and its player strike due to non-payment of dues, is expected to vote in favour of the proposals largely because of their good relations with the BCCI. In the last 10 years, India has played two Tests, nine ODIs and two T20s in Zimbabwe, compared to Australia's three, England's four and South Africa's three ODIs. Among the other Full Member nations, New Zealand Cricket had come out in support of the proposal while the West Indies Cricket Board only stated that they had taken a position "in the best interests of West Indies cricket" following two board meetings in the past ten days. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci-icc/content/story/713321.html Propose something ludicrous. Everyone outrages for a bit. Propose something less ludicrous, people accept proposal
Tailender Posted January 28, 2014 Posted January 28, 2014 The greed might also be what is stopping them from joining. Now' date=' they get to share the spoils without working for it and have no accountability. The draft not only proposes to reduce this but also opens up them for auditing. How will the PCB chairman and his cronies explain their first class luxury trips or their luxury car purchases.[/quote'] PCB chairmen don't get wealthy after going into the board... Most of these guys are rich going in, and quite successful businessmen. If you're going to make outlandish claims at least you could source them. "without working for it" - what work are you talking about? You do realize BCCI gives NOTHING to the ICC... They assume that since there are 1 and some odd billion indian fans in the world that accounts for around 80% of revenue. :giggle:
putrevus Posted January 28, 2014 Posted January 28, 2014 You do realize BCCI gives NOTHING to the ICC... They assume that since there are 1 and some odd billion indian fans in the world that accounts for around 80% of revenue. :giggle: Either you are too stupid to comprehend the reality or you live under rock.
Tailender Posted January 28, 2014 Posted January 28, 2014 Either you are too stupid to comprehend the reality or you live under rock. Sadly that's not how "facts" work. Surely as rich as the BCCI is they could have sourced that 80% stat. By the way say something constructive because getting personal only makes you look stupid.
Scarves Posted January 28, 2014 Posted January 28, 2014 They should get more money because the money is due to their team , if it were not Indian sponsors there would be no money, so why is it wrong for BCCI to ask for more and how are they greedy by asking for more money.Revenue model shown is very fair. Why do you think there is no corruption in CA and ecb, do you know what they are doing with money they are generating to last dollar. Same thing with BCCI, players and ex players are getting more money than ever before, IPL has given all local players chance to earn money which they never dreamed about before, corruption will always be part of any world and it will be more in sub continent. Why you think BCCI is doing this for revenge, they are not doing this revenge they are doing for money, they want their IPL cricket to become like baseball in America totally self reliant. I don't blame them as they see Ashes is nothing crappy series between two teams which is taking away their TV air time on their broadcast partners and they are not get a dime from it. Many Indians don't rat ass about Ashes they want more IPL than 3 month of crappy Ashes every 18 months airing on their tvs. Do you blame them. CA and ECB know they are getting more than what they would get from their Ashes and they have dip into their resources when they play other countries. BCCI are not idiots as you think they have lumped these two so that they are not left behind by all other teams. CA or ECB did not expand the game it got expanded due to colonialism and to those countries.It will never be global sport and not every sport has to be global to be popular in the countries, Footy is a niche sport but it is most popular sport in Australia or Victoria at least. Cricket always has been a niche summer sport in many countries what makes you think it is something more than only in India and Asian countries it is main stream sport. It will remain like that at least in India for long time to come. Firstly you missed several key points in my post alright. Secondly I said CA and ECB are also in the wrong, I didn't defend them at all. They have however said more than the BCCI which does make it somewhat interesting. I don't see why India should get more money at all if others are going to suffer. Now I also stated that the so callde 80% revenue could be mostly like absolutely crap because does it take into account money from companies via sponsorship or others. Now I am not going to compare baseball's model to the cricket model because cricket is far more an international sport than baseball. Also I didn't take an absolute stand. You didn't really read my post correctly as I pointed out several questions. Was there any definite? No there was not. Then instead of addressing corruption within the BCCI and their possible cash flow, you turned it around to about CA and ECB but you had not addressed possible corruption, cash in hand and not into the grassroots of Indian cricket. You would think that considering their so called revenue that there is good amount of money going into grassroots but considering all the issues we have heard from BCCI, IPL management it doesn't support the claim that they are trying to help cricket. Now we know from a fact that India is one of the most corrupt growing economies like Russia and a few others, so there is not much evidence to support the claim that BCCI are going to use that money for the betterment of cricket. Also where I have state that I know that Cricket Australia and the ECB are doing with their money. I have no clue that's why when I'm typing these posts up and I ask questions within the body because I don't know, nor do you guys. We aren't in the the know to know. We can just assume from what is given to us. Now I said there is a chance that BCCI may want this to be a niche sport that they have control of which is why may not want this game to go global comparative to other sports, I don't know if that is the case but there are questions that we can't answer. Also why are people comparing actual economies and wealth in regards to countries to this situation? It is completely different, it is not even comparative at all. World economies, policies and GDP per capita and such doesn't equal to sport at all. It is completely different, it doesn't make sense using this such a context like this. I just don't believe there is a justification for these three boards to have more wealth while others stuff up. No other sport is stupid enough to allow this or to actually do this.