would like to see the PM give a statement or at least explain how India is fighting to make sure ebola doesn't arrive in the country. this thing is getting out of hand and we are only a few steps away from an epidemic/pandemic. just remember one mode of transmission of ebola is feces and we know how many indians openly defecate. it makes me so angry that none of the news channels are giving this any importance
read how the govt authorities deal with dengue and h1n1 cases in india, and you will get to know how india will "fight" ebola.
Modi government will have to answer some serious questions on this issue. It was a major election issue.
wqpy85.png Should this be called lying or not? I am putting this question here because there are experts on this forum who defines a what is a lie. Lie or not, it is definitely Fooling of junta.
This was one of the biggest promises made during the campaign and one of the biggest reasons for which they criticized UPA and now doing the same.
You seem to be in a hurry. Not surprising considering the party you support.
This was one of the biggest promises made during the campaign and one of the biggest reasons for which they criticized UPA and now doing the same.
did they promise to disclose the names ?
Not delivering on a promise yet =\= lying Also......retrieving black money is not as easy as knocking on the bank's door and asking for the money......It is a very intricate process that I would elaborate on if I wasn't on my phone..... If the govt. fails to deliver during their tenure......then criticize them......
How many % of the population use twitter?
Should this be called lying or not? I am putting this question here because there are experts on this forum who defines a what is a lie. Lie or not, it is definitely Fooling of junta.
No it is not lying. It is a promised made, tried to fulfill the promise but rite now not successful in fulfilling the promise.
No it is not lying. It is a promised made' date=' tried to fulfill the promise but rite now not successful in fulfilling the promise.[/quote'] They made big ho ha, and gave ultimatimum to do something within 100 days, but nothing has happened and rather stories of the opposite happening with gov protecting identities of Swiss bank depositors etc.
They made big ho ha' date=' and gave ultimatimum to do something within 100 days, but nothing has happened and rather stories of the opposite happening with gov protecting identities of Swiss bank depositors etc.[/quote'] Ok . Hold on! If you would have shown this aggression during last 60 years, there wouldn't have any Black Money. I was just replying to Raghav as he is really confused with the meaning of Truth and Lie. Let's give some time, it was this government which formed SIT right within 24 hrs, they are in talks with Swiss and German authorities right? Their is a technical issue reported by one of our friend country so hopefully they would be working to resolve it. If they are not then surely janta will give fitting reply to them.

Did anyone actually believe this was possible? Is there any international precedent for banks returning such large sums to the countries they were taken from? If you ask me they will return some chump change parked by some bakra and Indian govt will then claim it as a big win before some elections. Isn't there any way to prevent money from leaving Indian shores in the future? If there is, the public should pressurize the govt into passing laws that makes this possible. I seriously doubt all the black money that has left the country is ever coming back.

There are some countries who actually run on black money and nothing else :giggle:

For all who looking to cover themselves in words and phrases that deal was to bring the money back and not to reveal the name (and why this govt doesn't want to reveal name? Hand in gloves?) 21kgxzp.jpg

Oh tau.......stay up to date.......there have been a few updates on this issue.........
Switzerland agrees to provide details of black money: Jaitley HT Correspondent , Hindustan Times New Delhi, October 17, 2014 Finance minister Arun Jaitley said on Friday that Switzerland has agreed to share information on Indians’ bank accounts on independent evidence provided in each case, marking a major step in efforts to secure data from the Alpine nation, known for its banking secrecy laws. Besides, the Swiss government would “confirm the genuineness or otherwise†details of foreign accounts of Indian citizens procured by intelligence agencies, Jaitley said. "The Government of India is taking all necessary steps to access tax-related information from foreign governments...Black money stashed abroad will be brought back,†he said. Jaitley said Switzerland has agreed to share information related to HSBC and Liechestein lists of account holders, provided there is independent evidence collected by Indian authorities. The breakthrough came after a string of parleys between a three-member official team headed by revenue secretary Shaktikanta Das in Switzerland. “Switzerland has indicated willingness to provide information in respect of cases where investigations have been carried out by our income tax (I-T) department independently from what Swiss Government considers as stolen data,†a finance ministry statement said. This development is very significant because there are a number of cases of account holders included in a list of HSBC bank account holders, which were investigated by the I-T department. “Earlier, the Swiss Government had not agreed to provide any information on names which were included in the HSBC list on the ground that these were stolen data and have been obtained in breach of Swiss law,†the statement said. The Finance Minister also said that government will make public the names of people who have illicit wealth in offshore accounts once formal charges are framed. "We have no difficulty in making the names public," Jaitley said, adding that it was constrained in making the disclosures due to a double taxation pact signed by the then Congress government with Germany in 1995. India and Switzerland have also agreed to discuss an agreement for automatic exchange of tax information. "We only have a list of names and we wanted details of those accounts. A breakthrough was reached that in cases where there is independent investigation in India and evidence is collected in India, those details in relation to those accounts will be provided even if those accounts are on the HSBC list. So that absolute prohibition which the Swiss have imposed no longer exists," the finance minister said. "Perhaps the details which so far have eluded us would certainly come to us". Indian and Swiss governments have been in talks for the past few years on the matter of alleged black money parked by Indian citizens in banks in Switzerland. As per Swiss National Bank's latest data, the total money held by Indians in Swiss banks stood at over Rs. 14,000 crore as on December 2013, up by nearly 42% from a year ago.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/switzerland-agrees-to-provide-details-of-black-money-jaitley/article1-1276592.aspx Now just for everyone's info......
International double taxation agreements It is not unusual for a business or individual who is resident in one country to make a taxable gain (earnings, profits) in another. This person may find that he is obliged by domestic laws to pay tax on that gain locally and pay again in the country in which the gain was made. Since this is inequitable, many nations make bilateral double taxation agreements with each other. In some cases, this requires that tax be paid in the country of residence and be exempt in the country in which it arises. In the remaining cases, the country where the gain arises deducts taxation at source ("withholding tax") and the taxpayer receives a compensating foreign tax credit in the country of residence to reflect the fact that tax has already been paid. To do this, the taxpayer must declare himself (in the foreign country) to be non-resident there. So the second aspect of the agreement is that the two taxation authorities exchange information about such declarations, and so may investigate any anomalies that might indicate tax evasion. While individuals, or natural persons can have only one residence at a time; corporate persons, owning foreign subsidiaries, can be simultaneously resident in multiple countries. Control of unreasonable tax avoidance of corporations becomes more difficult and requires investigation of transfer pricing set for transfer of goods, Intellectual property rights, and services, among its subsidiaries.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_taxation Now do you see how the govt. authorities could use such an agreement to effectively steal tax payer money? Again......if the centre ultimately fails to fulfill its promise........criticize as much as you want......but at least give them their allotted mandate to do so........retrieving black money is not as easy as making two minute noodles......
Did anyone actually believe this was possible? Is there any international precedent for banks returning such large sums to the countries they were taken from? If you ask me they will return some chump change parked by some bakra and Indian govt will then claim it as a big win before some elections.
Contracts almost always have special clauses that can legally overrule the normal terms of agreement........Swiss Banks are no different.......read up on them........while I have a general idea.......I'm not necessarily a financial expert........Swiss Banking Laws are very strict on maintaining confidentiality.......Bankers can be fined or even imprisoned (6 months max I think) for unduly breaking the confidentiality clause........
Isn't there any way to prevent money from leaving Indian shores in the future? If there is, the public should pressurize the govt into passing laws that makes this possible. I seriously doubt all the black money that has left the country is ever coming back.
Swiss Banks are not illegal.......even an Indian citizen can deposit money in SBs provided he/she complies with the double taxation agreement between his native country and the bank's......again, read up on them.........
He said he will bring every paisa that is stashed abroad. He didn't say' date=' I will disclose their names and blacken their faces in public (moo-kala).[/quote'] BJP (LK Advani, Nitin Gadkari, Ravi Shankar Prasad, Narendra Modi, Normal Sitharam, Meenakshi Lekhi and Shahnawaz Hussain etc.) asked the UPA govt to reveal the list of names of illegal money bank account holders in 2011. Currently, they refuse to do the same themselves. Ironically, yesterday Jaitley gave the same reason that Manish Tewari (Congress spokesperson) gave to defend their position. That didn't stop BJP from indulging in rhetoric. In addition, Rajnath Singh promised that BJP would return black money within 100 days in power.
Oh tau.......stay up to date.......there have been a few updates on this issue......... http://www.hindustantimes.com/india-news/switzerland-agrees-to-provide-details-of-black-money-jaitley/article1-1276592.aspx Now just for everyone's info...... http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Double_taxation Now do you see how the govt. authorities could use such an agreement to effectively steal tax payer money? Again......if the centre ultimately fails to fulfill its promise........criticize as much as you want......but at least give them their allotted mandate to do so........retrieving black money is not as easy as making two minute noodles......
A similar clarification was given by Manish Tewari (Congress spokesperson) in 2011 when BJP asked to reveal information of tax payer accounts. Yet, BJP kept on asking to reveal the names of black money account holders and turned it into a political issue. They were well aware it was not possible. The DTAA protocol with Switzerland was signed by the UPA government in August 2010. The current black money case is initiated by our judiciary and not the NDA or UPA.
A similar clarification was given by Manish Tewari (Congress spokesperson) in 2011 when BJP asked to reveal information of tax payer accounts. Yet' date=' BJP kept on asking to reveal the names of black money account holders and turned it into a political issue. They were well aware it was not possible. The DTAA protocol with Switzerland was signed by the UPA government in August 2010. The current black money case is initiated by our judiciary and not the NDA or UPA.[/quote'] Didn't Tewari say it is sort of impossible to know anything about foreign money stashed abroad? Jaitley on the other hand said NDA govt will get the info on black money, just that they can't make it public.. Atleast that's what I understand. Feel free to correct me.