Texan Posted October 23, 2014 Posted October 23, 2014 You may check out Pranab Mukherjee's (or Finance Ministry) response to LK Advani in the Lok Sabha. It is EXACTLY the same statement with different words. Did Pranab Mukherjee / Congress describe the future course of action that Jaitley has mentioned? If so, did they implement it?
Texan Posted October 23, 2014 Posted October 23, 2014 Pinky Anand (BJP spokesperson and ASG) agrees on national TV that Jaitley's response on black money is same as that of Pranab Mukherjee/Congress. Watch around 0:50 72HcF193WeE#t=55s I do not see her in the list of official spokespersons. http://www.bjp.org/organisation/office-bearers
urbestfriend Posted October 23, 2014 Posted October 23, 2014 I do not see her in the list of official spokespersons. http://www.bjp.org/organisation/office-bearers But she is member of BJP national executive http://www.bjp.org/en/organisation/national-executive
Texan Posted October 23, 2014 Posted October 23, 2014 But she is member of BJP national executive http://www.bjp.org/en/organisation/national-executive I know. The post said "Pinky Anand (BJP Spokesperson......". I do not see her in the list of spokespersons for BJP.
Yoda-esque Posted October 23, 2014 Posted October 23, 2014 Black money issue: Wary Swiss banks advise some Indians to cash out http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Black-money-issue-Wary-Swiss-banks-advise-some-Indians-to-cash-out/articleshow/44914609.cms via @timesofindia
Yoda-esque Posted October 23, 2014 Posted October 23, 2014 Babus asked not to act on oral orders from ministers http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/india/Bureaucrats-asked-not-to-act-on-oral-orders-from-ministers/articleshow/44913683.cms via @timesofindia
Raghav_12 Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 On Camera, Men Holding BJP Flags Seen Vandalising Kerala Coffee Shop http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/on-camera-men-holding-bjp-flags-seen-vandalising-kerala-coffee-shop-611219 Kozhikode: On camera, a group of activists carrying BJP flags are seen rushing into a popular coffee shop in Kerala's Kozhikode and smashing its windows and furniture. The police have registered a case against the attackers, who claim to be members of the BJP's youth wing. The shop has been badly damaged in the attack on Thursday evening. The police say it is a case of moral policing; the shop, Downtown, used to stay open till late and was a popular haunt for young men and women, especially students from the Indian Institute of Management and the National Institute of Technology. The attackers, who claim to be members of the Bharatiya Janata Yuva Morcha, have reportedly been campaigning against "immoral activities" in restaurants and coffee shops. The BJP's state president and other party leaders refused to respond to questions on the vandalism, calling it the work of local workers. This morning, Congress leader Ajay Maken tweeted the link to the video with the comment, "Watch how BJP supporters vandalise a coffee shop in Kerala for alleged immoral activities." More and More achche din ..
Yoda-esque Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 http://m.timesofindia.com/home/stoi/all-that-matters/Moon-faced-chubbywallahs-and-their-heavy-burden-of-ugliness/articleshow/44873264.cms
Precambrian Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 On Camera' date= Men Holding BJP Flags Seen Vandalising Kerala Coffee Shop http://www.ndtv.com/article/india/on-camera-men-holding-bjp-flags-seen-vandalising-kerala-coffee-shop-611219 More and More achche din .. Claiming? Dude, watch the videos of what;s going on there... young kids, even suspected underage girls and boys doing what they should be doing in bedrooms openly. The video proof is out there in the internet unfortunately I can't post it here. Now I am not condoning destruction of property but I believe it is illegal under present law of India to conduct and promote such activities. The video source is that of a congress run channel.
Yoda-esque Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 No pics of MIM vandalism? Oh that's right..
Yoda-esque Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 Claiming? Dude, watch the videos of what;s going on there... young kids, even suspected underage girls and boys doing what they should be doing in bedrooms openly. The video proof is out there in the internet unfortunately I can't post it here. Now I am not condoning destruction of property but I believe it is illegal under present law of India to conduct and promote such activities. The video source is that of a congress run channel. How quickly BDTV reported it
Raghav_12 Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 Claiming? Dude, watch the videos of what;s going on there... young kids, even suspected underage girls and boys doing what they should be doing in bedrooms openly. The video proof is out there in the internet unfortunately I can't post it here. Now I am not condoning destruction of property but I believe it is illegal under present law of India to conduct and promote such activities. The video source is that of a congress run channel. Yes. Lets give Bhartiya Junta Yuva Morcha all rights to decide what is good and what is bad and let them vandalize what they feel is appropriate. All hail Achche Din..!!
Precambrian Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 Yes. Lets give Bhartiya Junta Yuva Morcha all rights to decide what is good and what is bad and let them vandalize what they feel is appropriate. All hail Achche Din..!! Still doesn't make the "victims" any better because what they were doing was ILLEGAL all the way.
coffee_rules Posted October 24, 2014 Posted October 24, 2014 http://www.rediff.com/news/report/narendra-modi-is-swallowing-the-congress/20141022.htm 'Narendra Modi is swallowing the Congress' Different take on Modi popularity/. It is not a vote on Hindutva, but a consolidated Hindu vote for Modi on development. I think Hindutva as an ideology does not appeal to most Hindus. Otherwise, they would have voted for the BJP, and the party wouldn't need a pre-poll alliance of two dozen parties. It might be a Hindu consolidation but I would distinguish it from it being a vote for Hindutva. Majority of Hindus, if they get dissatisfied, would vote otherwise. There is a Hindu consolidation. But it is not ideological. BJP should be vary of radical elements taking control of the voice within BJP. But recent slogans like love jihad and pink revolution do indicate that the radical elements are trying to dominate the discourse. This will be counterproductive to their idea of garnering or consolidating the Hindu vote. This might be Hindu consolidation but also a vote for development and aspiration. A new majority has been created, which Modi has tapped. It can be more extreme also. Just as majoritarianism cannot work, minorityism cannot work against majority. You cannot have anti-majority secularism in this country. And lastly... The Congress is not defeated. It is decimated. It is not like the earlier defeats, like 1989 or 1977, when Maharashtra and the southern states were with the party. I think the Congress is being swallowed by Modi. Modi is re-organising its pantheon and ensuring stability, even accommodating Indira Gandhi and Nehru "chacha" to Mahatma Gandhi. This is how the Congress used to swallow parties in the past.
jalebi_bhai Posted October 25, 2014 Posted October 25, 2014 Cha cha Murugan........sorry for not replying immediately.......had a few deadlines to meet this week so wasn't really active on the forum.........now back to our dishum dishum Please understand my point. BJP kept on asking revealing names of ALL account holders. BJP knew it was NOT possible "to release names of ALL account holders" (TRNoAAH) due to legal complications. These very same legal issues with Rishi Jaitley mentions in his blogpost TRNoAAH were valid when BJP made the demands TRNoAAH. You may check out Pranab Mukherjee's (or Finance Ministry) response to LK Advani in the Lok Sabha. It is EXACTLY the same statement with different words. Below is Advani's Parliamentary address........ -afarx3SmX0 Towards the end of his speech around the 44th minute mark, Advani has asked the govt. to reveal the 16-18 names of those Indians who, after a year-long investigation, have been proven to have accounts with illicit money in the Liechtenstein bank.....the context is very clear......he hadn't asked for all the 700 names from the French authorities to be revealed....... This matter has now been resolved.......the articles you posted reveal the very same 18 names Advani was alluding to.......26 was the total......18 were proven guilty........Advani brought it up in 2011.......the names were revealed in 2014 However, it is worth noting the exact date of the first article that reveals the name......29th April 2014......slam bang in the middle of election season.......:winky:........the Liechtenstein tax affair happened in 2008.......this issue was raised in parliament in 2011......the names came out in 2014 during election season.......B-> ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- In his reply........Manish Tewari himself admits that around 400 Cr+ has been recovered from 70 people's account whose names were revealed by the French and there are prosecutions currently going on against them.......video is below.......around 17:15....... JCM74Dko5go#t=1051 Now we know from our previous discussions that the govt. can reveal details, including the person's name, if a prosecution has been set up against him/her in a court of law.........did the UPA ever reveal these 70 names? If you can find their names......please do share them......even during Tewari's speech........as soon as he mentions the prosecutions........there are prompts from the opposition to reveal the names...... ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- The one instance where a BJP spokesperson said that the centre must reveal all the 700 names given by the French govt was Nirmala Seetharaman........this is a year after the parliament debate in 2011.......article linked below......what she says obviously weakens my argument.......but I'd rather not be disingenuous.......it is however only one press conference in which she said this...... “The government should tell what has been done by the committee. It should also now make public all the 700 names of account-holders given by the French government. You cannot pick and choose some names,†Ms. Sitharaman said. http://www.thehindu.com/todays-paper/tp-national/we-told-you-so-says-bjp/article4083661.ece She is clearly in the wrong here and your point stands because of these latest developments...... Black money: HSBC list has 628 names, biggest amount $18 mn with Mehta, Patel most common Appu Esthose Suresh | New Delhi | Published: Oct 25 2014, 08:05 IST Only about a fifth of the individuals or entities named in the so-called HSBC list of alleged foreign account holders have acknowledged their ownership of the accounts. These individuals or entities — 136 in number — have either paid, or are in the process of paying, penalties for concealing incomes. The HSBC list contains names and holdings of individuals or entities with accounts in the Geneva branch of HSBC's Swiss subsidiary HSBC Private Bank. The information was stolen from the bank by a former employee on a particular day in 2006. The list was given to India by France in June 2011. According to documents accessed by The Indian Express, the HSBC list contains names of 628 Indian individuals or entities. The Income Tax Department has so far found matches between names and addresses in 418 cases. In 282 of these cases, however, either the account number or the balance in the account is not available. In general, the list contains four sets of information: name, address, account number and balance. Of the 136 individuals or entities who have acknowledged the accounts, many have pleaded that they were not aware of their existence, but would pay the tax and penalty due, senior I-T officers involved in the investigation said. Many of these 136 accounts show zero balance. The addresses against 12 of the 418 names in the list belong to Kolkata. However, only six have confirmed that the account belongs to them. The highest amount in the list is $ 18 million, allegedly belonging to two top industrialists. The most common surnames on the list are Mehta and Patel. French authorities had secured the list from software technologist Hervé Falciani, who has been collaborating with several European countries tracking suspected tax evaders with accounts in Swiss banks. The list contains alleged account data on the date Falciani procured them. The Indian Express was the first to report in August 2011 that the French had handed over to India the list of HSBC account holders of Indian origin. The government is in the process of sending a list of 50 names from the 136 to Swiss authorities to confirm the authenticity of the information. http://www.financialexpress.com/news/black-money-hsbc-list-has-628-names-biggest-amount-18-mn-with-mehta-patel-most-common/1301633 ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- You've got this backwards son. The Supreme Court gave a deadline to the central government not the other way round. The deadline was one week and hence it was done in the very first week. Now now Cha cha Murugan.......please read the below....... "On May 1, 2014, the Supreme Court had given three-weak deadline to the present UPA 2 government to take measures on the issue. The deadline was set to expire on May 22. After election results were declared on May 16, the UPA government is working only as a caretaker government. Hence, the outgoing Solicitor General Mohan Parasaran requested the apex court to extend the deadline to give enough time to the new BJP government to complete the task." http://www.prepsure.com/current-affairs/sc-gives-just-three-days-to-modi-to-notify-sit-on-black-money/ UPA-2 was still in power when the SC gave the deadline and the decision was still in their hands........they could've used this is as a last resort to win some votes........but they didn't bother.......instead, they told the SC to give an extension to the new govt. on the issue........ ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Switzerland is not the ONLY place where black money is stashed. The issue here is black money. Here are a couple of examples where account holder details are public. http://www.thehindu.com/business/Economy/blackmoney-first-ed-notice-against-lgt-account-holders/article4676766.ece?ref=relatedNews http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/centre-discloses-names-of-18-liechtenstein-bank-account-holders/article5959864.ece?ref=relatedNews I agree Switzerland is not the only country......this portion of your argument has been addressed above...... ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Now Cha Cha ji......I would appreciate it if you would reply to every argument I've made, in the way I replied to each part of your post........don't pick and choose only things that conveniently suit your argument.....ok? Diwali ki khushi mein........saffron-wa motichoor ladoo se apna munh meetha karo
Silva Posted October 26, 2014 Posted October 26, 2014 Government Aims at 50th Position in Ease of Doing Business Ranking: Report http://profit.ndtv.com/news/economy/article-government-aims-at-50th-position-in-ease-of-doing-business-ranking-report-683725 140th to 50th in just 2 years. It would be pretty epic if modi can pull this off. it would mean Indian bureaucracy will become far more efficient and less corrupt. This IMO is even more important than GDP numbers.
Crookbond Posted October 26, 2014 Posted October 26, 2014 Cha cha Murugan........sorry for not replying immediately.......had a few deadlines to meet this week so wasn't really active on the forum.........now back to our dishum dishum Now Cha Cha ji......I would appreciate it if you would reply to every argument I've made, in the way I replied to each part of your post........don't pick and choose only things that conveniently suit your argument.....ok? Diwali ki khushi mein........saffron-wa motichoor ladoo se apna munh meetha karo Can you have the decency to indulge in a civl discussion or is that against our culture? Multiple times you have labeled names - no point in having a discussion. I know it is difficult but doesn't hurt to give it a try specially when the other person ignores it multiple times. Just because people do not agree with your view point doesn't make them idiots - it is ok to disagree. How else would you have a discussion? You are (may be unintentionally) indulging in Gish Gallop and therefore I will break your post and reply to each part separately.
Crookbond Posted October 26, 2014 Posted October 26, 2014 1. Advani Address I said that BJP asked for all account holder names to be released. Since you have agreed - there's nothing more to add. I want to point you out that from the address Advani wants to reveal names of al LGT bank accounts - the same point really. Moreover, the ASG Pinky Anand who represents the official government has already agreed that the stand is same on national TV. 2. Tewari Address and Bank accounts Please understand that once the case goes to prosecution in a court, everything is public - since all documents in a court are public. In some cases, court documents may also be kept secret pending the completion of trial to avoid various issues including (but not limited to) tampering, witness protection etc. The names are not for the UPA to disclose. Those names will should be up in the Supreme Court - I don't have a list. 3. Supreme Court deadline I know that that deadline was set due to the UPA government. But, you were the one who claimed that Modi's cabinet cleared it in the very first meeting and hence he acted in alacrity. There's no way to know if it is out of altruism or the Supreme Court deadline.
Crookbond Posted October 26, 2014 Posted October 26, 2014 Wow really good decision. Modernization is needed. It will cut down lot of redtapisim. I remember people had to pay a bribe for getting license in my locality even if you had all docuemnts just for the RTO folks to look at the application but after they computerized most of the stuff. No one had to pay any money. Unfortunately, as more details have come out it seems that RTI applicant information will be made public. This is an absolutely precedent and fraught with issues. I hope they redact ALL personal information and also make the RTI replies - text searchable.