Modi sarkar economic reforms/governance performance thread

FischerTal

Have you ever ran a business before?
Technically, yes. For one week during an entrepreneurship workshop with a bunch of friends. Wasn't in India, and it wasn't a cutthroat environment. But we had to run a business.
Dont be such a tool with snarky comments - seen you do this all the time. Either backup your statements with insightful discussion or shut up. You are adding no value here on the politics forum.
Oooooo. Tough guy alert. :fear: What do you want me to back up with civilized and insightful discussions? The subversion claim or my counter claims against your silly anti-industrialist rant?

Technically, yes. For one week during an entrepreneurship workshop with a bunch of friends. Wasn't in India, and it wasn't a cutthroat environment. But we had to run a business. Oooooo. Tough guy alert. :fear: What do you want me to back up with civilized and insightful discussions? The subversion claim or my counter claims against your silly anti-industrialist rant?
1 week is nothing in the business world. I have owned a business in India for many years and now own a business in the "videshi" world (thankfully!). Let me tell you - corporate welfare is worse than communism. Because in communism at least people are lazy and don't have motivation to take risks - under a pseudo-capitalist-corporate-welfare state - you are screwed as monopolies crush your hard work. the 3000+ crores these so-called "industrialists" in India get gives them a massive unfair advantage. Employment generation is the last of their priorities. They will immediately put the 3,000+ crores in assets like real estate etc. and then leverage it to the hilt. That 3,000 crores if leveraged properly (especially with political ruling party support) can quickly be leveraged up to 10,000+ crores and even more if it is a publicly traded company. Then the next thing they do with all this cash is go on a hunt to monopolize their market. For example, small and medium sized businesses NEED profit to survive and feed their family. These guys will crush them by lowering prices and be willing to lose money for a couple of years (because of the 10k crores leverage they have they can easily sustain losses) and drive out any competition easily. Now if they fail and the whole house of cards falls (they smoothly file chapter 11 corporate restructuring - and dissolve the company and that's the end of that) - their personal income never gets impacted. It happened to me personally and many people I know. I am a huge capitalist - Libertarian. But I will NEVER support corporate welfare. Even if AAP and Kejriwal does it, I will immediately remove any support towards them. I'd rather take communism any day than corporate welfare that only brings forth Oligopolies (4-5 big players) as opposed to Monopoly (Government run). Not trying to be a negative punk but the reality is Modi is no different than Congress before him on these matters (because he is heavily indebted to Ambanis and others) and this hurts the country more than anything else - we saw that with petrol prices how they raped the country with Congress. That means as a concerned Indian - the country is doomed as they gave Modi full mandate and he's done squat about very structurally important issues. Which means superficially he will done a bunch of small things but not fix the country structurally.

This is my last post in the politics forum. I have realized discussion is futile when groups are so partisan and not willing to even listen to alternative viewpoints because of preconceived notions. Better sticking to cricket forum complaining about Nohit Sharma and Instant Shawarma lol

1 week is nothing in the business world. I have owned a business in India for many years and now own a business in the "videshi" world (thankfully!). Let me tell you - corporate welfare is worse than communism. Because in communism at least people are lazy and don't have motivation to take risks - under a pseudo-capitalist-corporate-welfare state - you are screwed as monopolies crush your hard work. the 3000+ crores these so-called "industrialists" in India get gives them a massive unfair advantage. Employment generation is the last of their priorities. They will immediately put the 3,000+ crores in assets like real estate etc. and then leverage it to the hilt. That 3,000 crores if leveraged properly (especially with political ruling party support) can quickly be leveraged up to 10,000+ crores and even more if it is a publicly traded company. Then the next thing they do with all this cash is go on a hunt to monopolize their market. For example, small and medium sized businesses NEED profit to survive and feed their family. These guys will crush them by lowering prices and be willing to lose money for a couple of years (because of the 10k crores leverage they have they can easily sustain losses) and drive out any competition easily. Now if they fail and the whole house of cards falls (they smoothly file chapter 11 corporate restructuring - and dissolve the company and that's the end of that) - their personal income never gets impacted. It happened to me personally and many people I know. I am a huge capitalist - Libertarian. But I will NEVER support corporate welfare. Even if AAP and Kejriwal does it, I will immediately remove any support towards them. I'd rather take communism any day than corporate welfare that only brings forth Oligopolies (4-5 big players) as opposed to Monopoly (Government run). Not trying to be a negative punk but the reality is Modi is no different than Congress before him on these matters (because he is heavily indebted to Ambanis and others) and this hurts the country more than anything else - we saw that with petrol prices how they raped the country with Congress. That means as a concerned Indian - the country is doomed as they gave Modi full mandate and he's done squat about very structurally important issues. Which means superficially he will done a bunch of small things but not fix the country structurally.
AAP and Kejri already did it last time by giving subsidy to the electricity companies in Delhi.

This is called Corporate Welfare i.e benefiting only those industrialists who donate to your campaigns and paybacks. OTOH nothing for small and medium sized enterprises. The loan is never guaranteed repayment shows how stupid you are who never ran a business. If that business goes bankrupt or files Chapter 11 restructuring - the debtors will never get their money back - they will be happy if they get 20% back. Proof is in Ambani getting saved a million times when in trouble - several businessmen procuring thousands of crores in loans just when they were on thr verge of failing - thanks to political donations. Check Vijay Mallya - they left him to rot as he has does not indulge in political paybacks for his Kingfisher airlines. You are either fair to all or dont do it. Modi is a dishonest POS - talks about corruption but was happy to go on Ambani private jet while campaigning. I would have no issue but he acts like hes different and honest and that irks me. How is this different from Pranab Mukherjee and his ilk who sold their souls to industrialists to get ahead at the expense of thr country?
Yep, Adani and Ambani perfect examples of Chapter 11 bankruptcy guysb:hatsoff::hatsoff: You're still not able to answer my small question, what is the alternative? Further, what is the point in donating to small and medium enterprises if they too have absolutely no guarantee to repay? And in addition no collateral or proven expertise in their business? For one Vijay Mallya I can show a lakh other businesssmen who have prospered by their efforts. Its funny how you crave for exceptions but is totally blind towards the obvious success side. So travelling in a private jet is what tantamounts to corruption for you? If that is the case Arvind Kejriwal is also damn corrupt boss. I like how your arguments are so shallow, vague and is reduced to making gross generalizations that would even put Basit Ali to shame.

This is my last post in the politics forum. I have realized discussion is futile when groups are so partisan and not willing to even listen to alternative viewpoints because of preconceived notions. Better sticking to cricket forum complaining about Nohit Sharma and Instant Shawarma lol
I thought you are just blabbering :omg:

Your so called "alternative viewpoints" are nothing but general and vague statements with no details. You claim somethings without giving an iota of proof and expect people to believe. Just because some company got a loan from the government does not make it crony capitalism. And if you believe that giving loans to companies on the guarantee of creating industry and employment is so, then each and every country of the world (bar Cuba and North Korea) would be guilty of crony capitalism.

1 week is nothing in the business world.
I'm aware. I don't flaunt that week as ideal business world experience.
I have owned a business in India for many years and now own a business in the "videshi" world (thankfully!).
Congratulations.
Let me tell you - corporate welfare is worse than communism.
Nope it's not. Profit-minded people are often the most innovative people. Innovation often facilitates advancement in scientific technology. There is a reason why the biggest companies in the world have R&D departments. The problems in Capitalism arise when industrialists become solely profit-minded. It get's worse when the State and industrialists team up and start profiteering. But nothing beats communism in being both a failed economic and political ideology. Karl Marx was an idiot, but a well intentioned idiot. Idiot nonetheless. But those who actually believe in his ideology and it's validity are nothing but incompetent macro-level crooks and thugs. Capitalism has had it failures, in the form of global market crashes, but unlike communism, it hasn't led to a 9 figure death toll of human lives. Communism has not only a 9 figure death toll of human lives to show off, it also has it's own brand of complete economic melt-down (Paging Pol-pot, Hugo Chavez, Stalin...).
Because in communism at least people are lazy and don't have motivation to take risks
Is that all? When you abolish income based classes, you are essentially killing social mobility. When you destroy social mobility, you kill the incentive for people to innovate. When there is no innovation, there is no scientific advancement. When you are not advancing/evolving, you are at best stagnating or at worse devolving. What ushered the Green revolution in India? Leftist morality? Nope. It was the development of HYV seeds and adopting of modern agricultural practices. In other words, scientific innovation and technological advancement. Prior to the GR, our country had to take a begging bowl to the Rockefeller foundation to help us with our food shortages. How could this have happened in the morally up-right, leftist republic of India? People migrate from rural to urban areas to find opportunities to climb up the social ladder. They are willing to live in slums, sleep on footpaths and park benches and make many other sacrifices, all this, just because of the off-chance to climb up the social ladder in a socially mobile environment. What would be the motivation for people to make such sacrifices in a society where there is no scope of social mobility? In a society with income equality, why would a person even bother becoming a doctor when he came earn the same by becoming a hair-dresser? Do doctors, people who save lives, deserve to earn as much as hair dressers? In short communism, is the biggest failure of an attempt in interpreting the social, political and economic needs of humans. I'm not against social welfare in the fields of education and health care, but in other fields, a near perfect free market economy is the best option. Minimal govt. regulations.
- under a pseudo-capitalist-corporate-welfare state - you are screwed as monopolies crush your hard work. the 3000+ crores these so-called "industrialists" in India get gives them a massive unfair advantage. Employment generation is the last of their priorities. They will immediately put the 3,000+ crores in assets like real estate etc. and then leverage it to the hilt. That 3,000 crores if leveraged properly (especially with political ruling party support) can quickly be leveraged up to 10,000+ crores and even more if it is a publicly traded company. Then the next thing they do with all this cash is go on a hunt to monopolize their market. For example, small and medium sized businesses NEED profit to survive and feed their family. These guys will crush them by lowering prices and be willing to lose money for a couple of years (because of the 10k crores leverage they have they can easily sustain losses) and drive out any competition easily. Now if they fail and the whole house of cards falls (they smoothly file chapter 11 corporate restructuring - and dissolve the company and that's the end of that) - their personal income never gets impacted.
This is a fairly accurate assessment of capitalism at its ugliest. No arguments. Essentially what's destroying the European Union. As I alluded above, I'm not totally against social welfarism. It has its place and utility.
It happened to me personally and many people I know. I am a huge capitalist - Libertarian. But I will NEVER support corporate welfare. Even if AAP and Kejriwal does it, I will immediately remove any support towards them. I'd rather take communism any day than corporate welfare that only brings forth Oligopolies (4-5 big players) as opposed to Monopoly (Government run).
Ok. I clearly understand what's going on here. It's personal for you. Poora picture clear hai. This is about your personal wealth creation being affected. No need to say more. I'm guessing Modi giving Adani land at subsidized rates didn't bode well with you. Don't think the Gujaratis are complaining. Btw, if you don't mind me asking, what were the items in your thaali?
Not trying to be a negative punk but the reality is Modi is no different than Congress before him on these matters (because he is heavily indebted to Ambanis and others) and this hurts the country more than anything else - we saw that with petrol prices how they raped the country with Congress.
Then all this is dikhawa? http://www.dnaindia.com/money/report-govt-imposes-additional-usd-579-million-fine-on-reliance-for-failed-kg-basin-gas-output-2002286
That means as a concerned Indian - the country is doomed as they gave Modi full mandate and he's done squat about very structurally important issues. Which means superficially he will done a bunch of small things but not fix the country structurally.
Well as another concerned Indian, I'm concerned that Kejriwal will turn Delhi, the capital of our country, into an anarchic jungle. I'm concerned that he will bankrupt Delhi, with his fiscally irresponsible promises, in two years. I'm concerned that the people of Delhi have trusted this man, who encouraged people to commit crime by not paying their electricity bills, to be the CM. I'm concerned by the likes of AAP MLA Amanatullah Khan, who say that the Batla house encounter was fake. I'm concerned by the likes of Prashant Bhushan, who want a referendum to happen in Kashmir. I'm concerned that AAP will infect our country with a tried and tested disease, just when it seems like our country is transforming itself into a major global power. I'm concerned that these people will prevent the development of our country, by destructively opposing govt. reforms. In short, we are all concerned about things. It's just that out primary concerns are different.

Hey, wtf? I gave you your indepth discussion. Was 1000m short of going into the abyssal zone.

Modi Govt not To Remove 'Secular', 'Socialist' Words From Constitution

Parliamentary Affairs Minister M Venkaiah Naidu, however, said the government has nothing to do with these statements concerning the preamble of the Constitution. "There is no proposal from the government. There is no question of any change to what has been brought about in 1976."
http://www.huffingtonpost.in/2015/02/24/india-constitution_n_6741688.html?utm_hp_ref=india At least BJP should have the courage to remove the word socialist from it's party constitution.

The loan is never guaranteed repayment shows how stupid you are who never ran a business. If that business goes bankrupt or files Chapter 11 restructuring - the debtors will never get their money back - they will be happy if they get 20% back.
And this is exactly what has happened to Indian PSU Banks. Just after the new Govt was formed a consortium of PSU bank chairmen visited the new FM and requested the Govt to create an ARC (Asset Reconstruction Company ) behemoth which will buy up the bad assets of PSU banks and help clean up their balance sheet. I doubt this will happen , but Govt is already bailing out the Banks directly. Earlier this month they decided to infuse Rs. 6990 crores of fresh capital in these NPA laden PSU banks.

Modi Govt not To Remove 'Secular'' date=' '[b']Socialist' Words From Constitution http://www.huffingtonpost.in/2015/02/24/india-constitution_n_6741688.html?utm_hp_ref=india At least BJP should have the courage to remove the word socialist from it's party constitution.
The 'Secular' & 'Socialistic' words were added during the emergency in an unconstitutional manner. They have no business being a part of our constitution. BJP started out as a Gandhian-Socialist party. Around 1986, they became more Hindutva based (majority appeasement). They still have many social welfare schemes in states like MP (particularly in education). You need a degree of social welfarism in a country as big as India.

Good riddance. :two_thumbs_up:

Screw the industrialists :protest: GOI should follow Mamata Banerjee's lead and tell these evil Industrialists to go take a hike :protest: These industrialists should be forced out of the country, taking along with them crores of jobs, revenue and technology :protest: We should all sit in our homes and continue to man handlooms. Sab ko roz Rs. 300 milegi. :two_thumbs_up:
Well, maybe 300 rs might be enough especially when water, electricity and internet access are going to be free.

PM Modi Better Than Xi Jinping in Managing Domestic, Global Affairs: Chinese Survey

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has been ranked by a survey as the best world's leader in handling domestic and international affairs; China's Xi Jinping is second, Chinese media reported.
http://m.ndtv.com/india-news/prime-minister-narendra-modi-pips-chinese-president-xi-jinping-in-handling-domestic-foreign-affairs-747973