seedhi Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 This PM doesn't "shy away" because that's where he gets political mileage from' date= the other PM got his political mileage from another appeal. Both are equal political symbolism - in one case it is more apparent because of the personal faith, in the other it is subtle.Sure. Narendra Modi made a donation of around 3-4 crore rupees to Nepal, which is a close neighbor and the Pashupatinath temple has a very old historic bond with India. Till very recently, all the priests of that temple were were from south India. But this is hardly out of the ordinary. India has donated to several countries in Africa, east Asia and other places to further its strategic interests. The Manmohan Singh government gave pakistan around $5 million for flood relief. India also donated to Palestine few years ago: How do you know that ? Is it unusual for a Hindu politician to go to a temple ? Narendra Modi has been going to temples all his life. It is part of his religion.
Sachin=GOD Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 How do you know that ? Is it unusual for a Hindu politician to go to a temple ? Narendra Modi has been going to temples all his life. It is part of his religion. Sure. Narendra Modi made a donation of around 3-4 crore rupees to Nepal, which is a close neighbor and the Pashupatinath temple has a very old historic bond with India. Till very recently, all the priests of that temple were were from south India. But this is hardly out of the ordinary. India has donated to several countries in Africa, east Asia and other places to further its strategic interests. The Manmohan Singh government gave pakistan around $5 million for flood relief. India also donated to Palestine few years ago: There's a difference between giving Govt. money in case of floods etc or in case other countries need it for development projects. I'm absolutely fine with giving money to a religious place - but he should do that from his own money, not from the Govt's money.
seedhi Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 There's a difference between giving Govt. money in case of floods etc or in case other countries need it for development projects. I'm absolutely fine with giving money to a religious place - but he should do that from his own money' date= not from the Govt's money.How does that make any difference ? Money is going out of the country in both cases. If the government thinks that a donation to a religious place which is a symbol of historic ties with India can strengthen strategic interests in a foreign country then it is well within rights to make that donation. As a comparison, Japan funds the upkeep of several Buddhist shrines in India. Why ? Part of the reason is to maintain a strategic relationship with the Buddhist diaspora. India itself has spent money in places like Afghanistan for the upkeep of Buddhist historical sites.
veer Posted August 7, 2014 Posted August 7, 2014 Correct me if I am wrong.. But doesnt tax payers money go in subsidizing Hajj Pilgrimage for Muslims but, as a hindu, I am not even allowed to enter in the city of maccah? what kinda chooo-giri is that??
Texan Posted August 7, 2014 Author Posted August 7, 2014 When government spends 600 crore every year on Haj subsidy, nobody complains, but a one-time donation of 25 crore to a temple and people want to know why their tax payer money is going to a religious cause. It happens only in India :haha:
gattaca Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 .... which he stopped doing after RSS interference. Still shows many don't have guts to do it in the first place. How many done it.
coffee_rules Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Karnataka CongI govt pays dowry to Muslim girls to wed from tax payers money. And this one gets to secular folks. http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/bangalore/Congress-gifts-Nikah-Bhagya-ahead-of-LS-polls/articleshow/24224212.cms http://www.milligazette.com/news/9182-rs-50-000-approved-by-karnataka-govt-for-marriage-of-poor-muslim-girls
Sachin=GOD Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Correct me if I am wrong.. But doesnt tax payers money go in subsidizing Hajj Pilgrimage for Muslims but, as a hindu, I am not even allowed to enter in the city of maccah? what kinda chooo-giri is that?? When government spends 600 crore every year on Haj subsidy' date= nobody complains, but a one-time donation of 25 crore to a temple and people want to know why their tax payer money is going to a religious cause. It happens only in India :haha: I'm against that as well. Govt. shouldn't indulge in any kind of religious activity IMO.
The Outsider Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 It pains me to see my countrymen being supportive of their tax money to go to religious endeavors of foreigners rather than of their countrymen.
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 It pains me to see my countrymen being supportive of their tax money to go to religious endeavors of foreigners rather than of their countrymen.Then you must have been pained by India giving funds in 2008 for Myanmar's Buddhist shrine: India pledges funds Myanmar’s cyclone-hit Buddhist shrine http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/uncategorized/india-pledges-funds-myanmars-cycone-hit-buddhist-shrine_10056252.html
FischerTal Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 don't think many people here understand the importance of Nepal as an ally for India.
Sachin=GOD Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 don't think many people here understand the importance of Nepal as an ally for India. There are other ways of pleasing an ally.
FischerTal Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 There are other ways of pleasing an ally. Modi also offered a 1 billion dollar loan to Nepal. pleased?
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 It pains me to see my countrymen being supportive of their tax money to go to religious endeavors of foreigners rather than of their countrymen.By the way a lot of Indian pilgrims go to the Pashupatinath temple. So if India builds a Dharamshala at that temple it will also benefit Indian pilgrims. And to your point, the United States government also funds the upkeep of various religious and cultural sites outside the US. However, they do not provide any subsidy for religious activities of US citizens (AFAIK). Funding Mosques Overseas http://www.factcheck.org/2011/03/funding-mosques-overseas/
seedhi Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 There are other ways of pleasing an ally.We are also competing with China on this front: Nepal to build £1.9 billion 'Buddhist Mecca' China is providing funds to Nepal to build a $3 billion (£1.9bn) 'Buddhist Mecca' to attract millions of pilgrims and spiritual tourists to the birthplace of the religion's founder Gautama, Lord Buddha. http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/worldnews/asia/nepal/8582941/Nepal-to-build-1.9-billion-Buddhist-Mecca.html So China, Japan, USA etc provide funds for religious shrines all over the world to further their strategic interests. But India should not do so because it hurts the secoolar feelings ?
veer Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 I'm against that as well. Govt. shouldn't indulge in any kind of religious activity IMO. Giving money to Nepal is gud political move.. 1. Cuz Of Flood 2. To deter Chinas influence a little 3. Pashupati Nath mandir is still considered destination for Hindu pilgrimage
FischerTal Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Giving money to Nepal is gud political move.. 1. Cuz Of Flood 2. To deter Chinas influence a little 3. Pashupati Nath mandir is still considered destination for Hindu pilgrimage don't forget that nepal supplies us with an invaluable asset, the gurkha regiment.
veer Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 It pains me to see my countrymen being supportive of their tax money to go to religious endeavors of foreigners rather than of their countrymen. Get ready for more pain cuz ur countrymen is waking up.. Money eventually goes to Saudis and those freakers don't let me practice my religion in their country.
The Outsider Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Religious organizations of the majority in foreign countries are being state supported, while there are talks of making pilgrimage more difficult for the minorities.
gattaca Posted August 8, 2014 Posted August 8, 2014 Religious organizations of the majority in foreign countries are being state supported' date=' while there are talks of making pilgrimage more difficult for the minorities.[/quote'] Why should someone get a free ride at the expense of tax payers money then according to your logic?