you said its 98 mbps on 150 mbps connection or maybe i read it wrong
nahi nah.. my advertised connection speed is 50+ Mbps and when wired I see 98-100 Mbps , wireless I see 1/3rd of that. Samjha ? I will go and pick up a new router today and try it out, if it works then return it and order from amazon :giggle:
i am on the forum of this router and people say its normal to get 30 mbps wireless when you get 50 wired ...just get router with latest specification like ac but before that just make sure that ur mac book pro can go over 50 mbps in office or some other place otherwise why waste money ?
That's what Best Buy is for :two_thumbs_up:
lol yea .. I shamelessly scan items from the store itself and order. BTW frys matches amazon prime prices. Its even better than ordering via Amazon
i am on the forum of this router and people say its normal to get 30 mbps wireless when you get 50 wired ...just get router with latest specification like ac but before that just make sure that ur mac book pro can go over 50 mbps in office or some other place otherwise why waste money ?
Good point, I am actually thinking of reducing the speed to 20-25 mbps as I dont need internet phaster than that for streaming. I watch a lot of streaming (netflix, hbogo and Kirkut) but it doesnt need more than 5-6 Mbps. Any comments ? Netflix 1 Mbps for viewing on a laptop computer 2 Mbps for SD video on a TV 4 Mbps for 720p HD video 5 Mbps for "the best video and audio experience" (according to Netflix) Hulu Plus Note: If a TV show or movie repeatedly needs to buffer, Hulu Plus will stop streaming the video and recommend that you downgrade the video quality. 1 Mbps for SD video 2 Mbps for 720p video Over 3.2 Mbps for best quality HD video and audio Vudu Note: All Vudu movies are streamed with Dolby Digital Plus 5.1 audio. 1.0 - 2.3 Mbps for SD video 2.3 - 4.5 Mbps for 720p video 4.5 - 9.0 Mbps for HDX 1080p video Over 9 Mbps for 3D HD movies

normally netflix will be fine with 10 mbps or even 8 but you live in america now whch has bad track record with throttling so keep 25 mbps it will be good enough for everything amazon prime needs little more so it all depends on how stream was compressed on youtube you need 1.5/2 mbps for 480p and 4mbps for 720p and 8 mbps can easily run 1080p so you will be able to do everything with 25mbps just check upload speeds too as u might need it for work and normally its not as much as download speed but for normal day to day use even 1 mb upload is enough

Thanks .. but I have given up on solving those issues :hmmm:
Oh c'mon man...that is just the Sharma in you talking:hysterical::hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:
:cantstop: I didnt give up and got myself a new router and now get 100 Mbps but only when Im sitting next to the wireless router :fail: Anyway, tomorrow I am getting a 100 dollar router which gives same speed but has antennas so I get more range
So I have Netgear WGR614v10 with the latest firmware. The channel Im using is 1 6 or 11 and Im getting the same result. So the issue is: My wired speed is 98 MBPS and my wireless speed struggles to cross 30 and doesnt even get to 31 MBPS. I have looked everywhere and cant find a solution. The max speed setup is also 150 mbps. For those who will advise to get a new router, please advise which one :giggle: Thanks in advance
Theoretically Wifi or 802.11a/b/g cannot support more than 54Mbps... only if your router supports 802.11n version of wifi, you can get more 100Mbps. [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-WGR614NA-WGR614-Wireless-G-Router/dp/B00008SCFL]Amazon.com: Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G Router: Electronics[/ame] the amazon link says that it supports only 802.11g... your modem cannot support more than 54Mbps. Buy a new one
move your router to a different location or room and check if the same problem persists.
+1. Check if there are other transmitters around, move them to different place.
it seems v10 supports 802.11n
did not find anything substantiating that... any links? on a sidenote there were a lot of proprietary implementations of 802.11n before the standard was formalized. It could happen that either the PC or the router has some incompatibility which could result in them switching back to 802.11 a/b/g
Theoretically Wifi or 802.11a/b/g cannot support more than 54Mbps... only if your router supports 802.11n version of wifi, you can get more 100Mbps. [ame=http://www.amazon.com/Netgear-WGR614NA-WGR614-Wireless-G-Router/dp/B00008SCFL]Amazon.com: Netgear WGR614 Wireless-G Router: Electronics[/ame] the amazon link says that it supports only 802.11g... your modem cannot support more than 54Mbps. Buy a new one
Yes, that's my finding is after spending hours. I got an AC router to check and it's awesome but Range is a problem for AC router. It's amazing that I go from 100 to 8 Mbps by walking only 50-60 ft. I guess I need one with couple of external antennas
move your router to a different location or room and check if the same problem persists.
I tested it by sitting next to it. The speed may not be the best but the netgear router has a good range. These is almost no speed drop when I move the device to other rooms.

Wifi ka sawaal hai

did not find anything substantiating that... any links? on a sidenote there were a lot of proprietary implementations of 802.11n before the standard was formalized. It could happen that either the PC or the router has some incompatibility which could result in them switching back to 802.11 a/b/g
So shall I use the N router as it should be fast enough or shall I go for AC. The positive is that if I use AC then my connection speed with the network hard drive should improve, right now it's pretty bad and I can barely use it over the net for large files or backing up MacBook. The disadvantage of AC: it's much more expensive, I won't have speeds of more than 300 for a while and even if I do, it won't be of much use. it's more expensive but still quite cheap, 1200 AC for 88 bucks including taxes :)