Desi Cartman Posted December 22, 2014 Posted December 22, 2014 The Indians have indicated that they are willing to accept a modified DRS system. Picture: Adam Head Source: News Corp Australia INDIA have been on the receiving end of a number of poor decisions in this Test series, but have already told the International Cricket Council that they are open to using a modified version of the Decision Review System. The Indians have indicated that they are willing to accept a system without the ball tracker for lbws and where the call for a *review is not in the hands of the players. The Board of Control for Cricket in India has long objected to the DRS despite a call from the ICC two years ago to have it introduced for all matches. India used their vote to have that move rejected and the DRS in its current form is only used when both teams agree. It has not been used in this series as India did not want it. A number of critical decisions, particularly in the Adelaide Test, went against the visitors and captain MS Dhoni noted after losing in Brisbane that they seemed to be on the receiving end when mistakes were made. India’s team director, Ravi Shastri, told The Australian yesterday that as a member of the ICC Technical Committee he has told the ICC that his board is open to using a modified DRS. “I have always said that a player should not have to beg for a review,†Shastri said. “The issue for us is the extent of technology used, by whom and when.†Shastri said that India believed it was against the “spirit of cricket†for players to be seen to be dis*agreeing with an umpire’s call by asking for a review when a founding principle of the game was accepting the umpire’s decision. “A review needs to be completed within 15 seconds and it needs to be clearly seen that something has gone wrong,†he said. Shastri said there was mistrust over the ball-tracking technology and that he did not believe it could judge the turn or bounce of the ball on a wicket where that can be so variable as the game continues. Many senior observers agree with him on that point. The influential Indian administrator said the idea of the “umpire’s call†for lbws was also unacceptable. An “umpire’s call†can mean that a batsman is in or out after a review for exactly the same delivery depending on what the original decision was. Dhoni said after the Brisbane Test that this use of the system was an attempt to justify the original decision and therefore a shift away from establishing right or wrong. The former Test great, who *famously scored a double century at the SCG in Shane Warne’s Test debut, said that the DRS should be for “howlers†as it was initially introduced and that the call should be made by the third umpire. The Indians do not want to see a side cheated because they have run out of reviews (a team gets two successful reviews for every 80 overs) and he wants it to be used in all series. Australia’s Nathan Lyon rejected suggestions yesterday that the lack of a DRS had inflamed *tensions on the field or affected *results. “It’s going to swing both ways,†Lyon said. “We could have had a different result in Adelaide (in the first Test) if we had DRS but in saying that it could have gone our way again. “Both teams have to agree to use it. I know I’m definitely not against DRS. I think it’s good for the game. I don’t have any problem with it but both teams have to agree to use it.†India captain MS Dhoni indicated after the Brisbane match that he was also open to the DRS being introduced but that the “umpire’s call†was a problem. “There are a lot of 50-50 decisions that are not going in our favour. We are at the receiving end more often than not,†he said. “And what happens in DRS, even when the DRS is around, those decisions they won’t go in our favour because if the umpire has given out, you take DRS, it is still out, because DRS is often used to justify the decision given by the umpire. “What is important is to use DRS to give the right decision irrespective of whether the umpire has given it out or not out. “There are a lot of ways to use the DRS, but this is something that needs to be put in a specific way that it doesn’t really matter if the umpire has given out or not out, if the ball hits the stumps it is out; if half the ball hits the stumps you are out. Then you are adding too many variables in the game.†Dhoni said he sympathised with the umpires but there was room for improvement in their performance. “It is very tough for those two individuals. Not to forget it has been very hot. They stand there for five days,†he said. “Apart from lunch and tea they don’t get any break. It is tough on them.†http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/india-starting-to-soften-stance-on-drs-use/story-e6frg6n6-1227164675597 What a load of crap from BCCI. All the reasons given are BS, they talking about "spirit of the game" when almost all batsmen stare at the umpire and stay at the crease for 2 mins after getting out.
Pagalpanti Posted December 22, 2014 Posted December 22, 2014 The only point so far I agree with the team/bcci on drs is about the umpires call BS, the whole point of DRS is to question the umpires call. Rest is completely BS about it not being 100% or it makes the game exciting and bla bla
Desi Cartman Posted December 22, 2014 Author Posted December 22, 2014 The only point so far I agree with the team/bcci on drs is about the umpires call BS, the whole point of DRS is to question the umpires call. Rest is completely BS about it not being 100% or it makes the game exciting and bla bla I agree, either its out or not out
Sajid_Rana Posted December 22, 2014 Posted December 22, 2014 Jhukti hai duniya jhukanay wala chahiyay.
ThePhenomenal1 Posted December 22, 2014 Posted December 22, 2014 yh umpires call is BS and i hate the "pitched outside the line" crap where swing or spin indicates it'll hit the stump.
bowl_out Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 yh umpires call is BS and i hate the "pitched outside the line" crap where swing or spin indicates it'll hit the stump. Pitched outside the line of off-stump is RED in case it is going to hit the stump... I don't see a problem there... In fact, it is good to know where it pitched (if it were pitching outside leg)
bowl_out Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 The other problem I have is when you have contrasting signals from each technology. If there is a sound when ball crosses bat, but no visible deflection and nothing on hot spot, is it given out? I've seen so many instances in the past when it is given OUT because there was a sound, and they stuck to the on-field umpire's decision. What if it happens in another combination (say no sound, but hotspot shows something)
BeautifulGame Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 There is nothinbg wrong with Umpire's call . Hawkaye has doesnt have 100% accuracy so when it is in the margin of error area we stick with umpire's decision which is umpire's call. DRS is to eliminate howlers so umpire's call is necessary until Hawkaye is 100% perfect.Blindly using Hawkaye without umpire call will only result in farce like 2008 sri lanka series
vishalvirsingh Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 folks- i am a IT INfra expert but still i have not tested this technology DRS , hawkeye etc..so folks like us are not entitled for any serious comments... bit i strongly beleive that when a software developer rolls out a software and it genuinely becomes saleable , it covers up all loop holes effectively... Second reason i beleive is the entire world seems to have accpeted it and its just INDIA that has not...that fact to me is looking fishy..is there some other reason as to why this is not being adapted... Normally i beleive it cud be 99% correct but umpires are 85% correct at best....why is indian cricket wanting it to be 100 % correct??? Umpires with technology aid can give 99% correct decisions - why r they not allowed to do so.. its like not letting us use wondows 7 and wondows 8 and forcibly sking us to use the OLD win 98 or windows XP itself saying that win 98 is better...
TheWall Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 With DRS.. the umpiring standard has really come down. Every decision nowadays looks doubtful.
coffee_rules Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 I dont want to see DRS being used and this happens.. qIORYXynSFU
gslv Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 I dont want to see DRS being used and this happens.. qIORYXynSFU how come that ball straightened after pitching . wtf. :haha::haha:
bowl_out Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 I dont want to see DRS being used and this happens.. qIORYXynSFU The day Issac Newton committed suicide :giggle:
Desi Cartman Posted December 23, 2014 Author Posted December 23, 2014 I dont want to see DRS being used and this happens.. qIORYXynSFU What exactly was wrong here? It seems that the ball straighten after bouncing, to me it seemed fine unless I missed something
coffee_rules Posted December 23, 2014 Posted December 23, 2014 ^ball clipped the leg. It swung away from the wicket, ball tracker showed it straightened. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci-icc/content/story/809021.html
rkt.india Posted December 24, 2014 Posted December 24, 2014 ^ball clipped the leg. It swung away from the wicket, ball tracker showed it straightened. http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci-icc/content/story/809021.html It did straighten after pitching, otherwise, no way it could have hit the leg with that angle after pitching on leg stump.
bowl_out Posted December 24, 2014 Posted December 24, 2014 ^^ Yeah, but the ball tracker showed Murali-like spin on the ball, which is highly unlikely to happen at that pace, particularly when bowled from a wide angle...
Crookbond Posted December 24, 2014 Posted December 24, 2014 There is nothinbg wrong with Umpire's call . Hawkaye has doesnt have 100% accuracy so when it is in the margin of error area we stick with umpire's decision which is umpire's call. DRS is to eliminate howlers so umpire's call is necessary until Hawkaye is 100% perfect.Blindly using Hawkaye without umpire call will only result in farce like 2008 sri lanka series If the main point of the DRS is to eliminate howlers, it should be used for every single howler and not when the team thinks it is a howler.
bowl_out Posted December 24, 2014 Posted December 24, 2014 ^^Define a howler. There are some very obvious ones... But there are other not so obvious ones to some but obvious to others... That brings in another term into question - third umpire's call... He needs to decide whether it is a howler or not, and there is always subjectivity involved
Crookbond Posted December 24, 2014 Posted December 24, 2014 ^^Define a howler. There are some very obvious ones... But there are other not so obvious ones to some but obvious to others... That brings in another term into question - third umpire's call... He needs to decide whether it is a howler or not, and there is always subjectivity involved I am not the one who said that DRS should be used for a howler.