So the word "Mandir" can be used,how about saying islamist militants did what they did after the bomb blast scene.....atleast a dialogue saying that "Quran dissaproves the acts of such militants" would have been good enough. but there are masked words like Khudah ki Raksha etc. Either there has to be full censorship or none at all,can't have different benchmarks fo r different things. As a Hindu I wasn't offended but if someone was full right to them.
I watched the movie and I did not find any part of it to be offensive. I am sure millions of people who have watched it share similar feelings. A few VHP goons can't decide what I should be watching and what not. If they found it offensive they have the right to express it but not by vandalizing and threatening theaters. Thankfully they are right about one thing, vast majority of Hindus are generally very tolerant. That is what stopping these goons from making India a Hindu version of Pakistan.
I watched the movie and I did not find any part of it to be offensive. I am sure millions of people who have watched it share similar feelings. A few VHP goons can't decide what I should be watching and what not. If they found it offensive they have the right to express it but not by vandalizing and threatening theaters.
How many such incidents have been reported? Da Vinci code had been completely banned by govt. intervention. Not disputing some goons will always cause a ruckus
There is absolutely nothing wrong with expressing your feelings peacefully. You can go out and protest peacefully too. You can go to the court and file a complaint against it if it hurt your feelings and let the court decide on it. I am completely fine with it and in fact I encourage it. But you have no right to vandalize public and private property over it and try to force your will on others and threaten people who don't share your views. This does not look too peaceful to me--- "PK controversy: Bajrang Dal and Vishwa Hindu Parishad members attack theatres screening 'PK' in Ahmedabad and Bhopal" http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/entertainment/hindi/bollywood/news/PK-controversy-Bajrang-Dal-and-Vishwa-Hindu-Parishad-members-attack-theatres-screening-PK-in-Ahmedabad-and-Bhopal/articleshow/45676657.cms
i never said what they did was right. However there are hindutwadavis as you put it who are non violent and seek to protest in a non violent manner. and for the record, The barang dal's ethos is protection of hindu culture through any means possible. There is nothing specific about tolerance. Why do i get the feeling you just made things up ? the Bajrang dal are effectively the muscle of the VHP. They are bound to use force. I can understand maybe the VHP saying that.Never the bajrang dal.
I watched the movie and I did not find any part of it to be offensive. I am sure millions of people who have watched it share similar feelings. A few VHP goons can't decide what I should be watching and what not. If they found it offensive they have the right to express it but not by vandalizing and threatening theaters. Thankfully they are right about one thing' date=' [b']vast majority of Hindus are generally very tolerant. That is what stopping these goons from making India a Hindu version of Pakistan.
For this very reason, we will never be a hindu version of pakisatan, but we may for sure turn into Islamic republic of India within the next 100-200 years.
How many such incidents have been reported? Da Vinci code had been completely banned by govt. intervention.
That was wrong, I don't support that either. Nor do I support banning the Stananic Verses or Lajja. But that does not mean that I would support VHP goons vandalizing theaters. Two wrongs don't make one right.
i never said what they did was right. However there are hindutwadavis as you put it who are non violent and seek to protest in a non violent manner.
Thought I made that already clear. I am only against the use of force, you are free to do peaceful protest.
Why do i get the feeling you just made things up ?
What?
Subramanian Swamy Twit ARY which financed the Aamir Khan promotional of PK in Dubai was founded by a Karachi based Pakistani named Abdul Razak Yakub
Subramanian Swamy @Swamy39 · 8h 8 hours ago Who financed the PK film? According to my sources it is traceable to Dubai and ISI. DRI must investigate
That's a serious allegation from a well known guy
For this very reason' date=' we will never be a hindu version of pakisatan, but we may for sure turn into Islamic republic of India within the next 100-200 years.[/quote'] Unnecessary fear mongering, similar to what Islamists use "Islam khatre mai hai!"
That's a serious allegation from a well known guy
Yes they should investigate it and if not then the producers of the movie (Vinod Chopra and Rajkumar Hirani) should file a defamation law suit against him. He is accusing them of an act of espionage (taking money from a foreign(not to mention enemy) intelligence agency). His second tweet was very weak though. A Pakistani company ARY sponsoring a promotional event in Dubai does not mean anything.
Subramanian Swamy is one of India's premier lawyers...You think he will just say something out of thin air without fear of legal consequences. Hope the producers take him up on it
"Jo Dar Gaya, woh Mandir gaya".... There's a dialog in the movie PK. Could anybody explain what was the context of this dialog? Was it necessary to drive home some logic? What would've happened if Aamir said, " Jo Dar gaya, woh Masjid/Church gaya"?
Asterix Dada, Have you seen the movie? Let me ask you a hypothetical counter question: Would you be just as annoyed if the other AK ( Akshay Kumar) had uttered the same lines? In all likelihood Aamir Khan just regurgitated these rubbish lines written by the dialogue/script writers handed down to him. That team consists of Rajkumar Hirani, Abhijit Joshi and S Nambiar. And arguably, Bollywood, after probably only the Indian Army and the Legal apparatus/ Judiciary, is the most inclusive and tolerant industry in the country. Bollywood always has senseless songs with random references to Deities and religions. That is because we as a people have a lot of references to Dieties, religion and mythology in our day to day life. Na jaanu mullah qazi, na jaanu Kaaba Kashi main to hoon Prem piyassa re Rishi Kapoor lip-synced to these in a song in Bobby in the 70s. Makes me feel that as society we were a lot more tolerant then. I just can't imagine anyone penning such lyrics today.
Subramanian Swamy is one of India's premier lawyers...You think he will just say something out of thin air without fear of legal consequences. Hope the producers take him up on it
He is not a lawyer. Although he has indeed done some good work exposing many scams he has always come across as a loose cannon to me. Do you seriously feel, the producers need money from ISI to fund their film? It is not even a highly expensive movie. Also why would ISI fund this movie? I think Swamy ji just had a few pegs too many. :hysterical:
How many such incidents have been reported? Da Vinci code had been completely banned by govt. intervention. Not disputing some goons will always cause a ruckus
Da Vinci code was banned? I remember seeing it in the theatre and not being too impressed. Infact, the only reason I remember the movie was because of this lady with her wailing infant right next to me. Even the book was/is available in bookstores.
Would you be just as annoyed if the other AK ( Akshay Kumar) had uttered the same lines?
Khans are soft targets. For many of these hardliner they must keep proving their patriotism. When Aamir Khan did Sarfaorsh, Lagaan, Mangal Pandey or even Rang De Basanti, he was patriotic now he has suddenly become anti- Hindu, anti national. He must be taking money from Pakistan. :cantstop: Funnily he is just an actor, the whole creative team from the writer, director to the producer of the movie are all Hindus. :giggle: I wonder if Aamir Khan took money from RAW to show Pakistani terrorists in Sarfaorsh. :hysterical:
Aha! Could you tell us which was the last major case this 'premier lawyer of India' fought? Which major business conglomeration has him on the legal counsel? PS: M.Stat doesn't make a person a premier lawyer. Just a geek. :P
True I am as dumbfounded by this question as I was dumbfounded after watching P.K as to what the message was?
Khans are soft targets. For many of these hardliner they must keep proving their patriotism. When Aamir Khan did Sarfaorsh, Lagaan, Mangal Pandey or even Rang De Basanti, he was patriotic now he has suddenly become anti- Hindu, anti national. He must be taking money from Pakistan. :cantstop: Funnily he is just an actor, the whole creative team from the writer, director to the producer of the movie are all Hindus. :giggle: I wonder if Aamir Khan took money from RAW to show Pakistani terrorists in Sarfaorsh. :hysterical:
+1... On the movie though, I think this satire on religion will only do good for Indians.
He is not a lawyer. Although he has indeed done some good work exposing many scams he has always come across as a loose cannon to me. Do you seriously feel, the producers need money from ISI to fund their film? It is not even a highly expensive movie. Also why would ISI fund this movie? I think Swamy ji just had a few pegs too many. :hysterical:
Yes not by education or profession but you have the right to represent yourself in the court of law in India and based on that,he has been part of many high profile legal battles earning the respect of some actual high-profile professional lawyers-Jethmalani included His wife is a prominent lawyer as well,on top of that he is shrewd,intellectual and a brilliant acedemic with a fantastic resume.....so he is not dumb to get entangled in dumb stuff just for the sake of it. ANyway topic is not about Swamy...It is about the hypocritical nature of the mesage in the film