BTW this is the 1st South Indian film I have seen (saw bits and pieces of a few others but never seen a whole movie till now). Any other good historical/fantasy/epic films which I should watch? (I would prefer those that have Hindi dubbing)

WHo are Renna and sienna...Sienna I am assuming Cena but who is Renna. Also get Rhonda Rousey in place of Tamanna :blush: Even if Rajamouli does nothing and shows a blank screen he will still make money on Part 2 with all the hype and hysteria part 1 has generated....and guess what Rett might finally appreciate the artistic thought behind showing just the blank screen and compare it with some international cinema and also might appreciate that a blank screen looks the same even in a cam rip :yay:
:hysterical::hysterical:
BTW this is the 1st South Indian film I have seen (saw bits and pieces of a few others but never seen a whole movie till now). Any other good historical/fantasy/epic films which I should watch? (I would prefer those that have Hindi dubbing)
Watch Magadheera by the same director ( if you have not already seen the dubbed hindi version ). There is a flashback part set a few centuries ago. The Tamil folk here can add more but a new movie called 'Puli' by Tamil superstar Vijay and Sridevi is releasing in Sep. The trailor was released yesday and surpassed records of Bahubali. It is also a fantasy film and there are claims by Puli makers that the VFX/CGI will surpass Bahubali. U9kCY9psgOc Maybe Rett can give his views on the Puli trailer ( comparing with 300, Bahubali, Troy ) and extend the life of this thread :P
U9kCY9psgOc Maybe Rett can give his views on the Puli trailer ( comparing with 300, Bahubali, Troy ) and extend the life of this thread :P
In the preview, Sridevi reminded me of this: w-XO4XiRop0 :P
The Telugu version of MayaBazaar .

One of the best "dark fantasy" related films is Pan's Labyrinth (Spanish-Mexican collabration) .... Amazing, gripping and original (esp. for a non-Hollywood film) .... With the resources available now, if today's Ind film-makers can achieve such levels (including a high percentage of originality), I would be extremely happy! RbffV5LZfZI ^ English trailer

I have heard about people watching Bahubali multiple times in theaters' date=' some even 3-4 times, not heard the same about Bajrangi yet.[/quote'] seriously ??? Man,this is crazy if you ask me .
11249053_1467748703542700_88107501_n.jpg This is the craze in Ganesh idol design in Maharashtra and Hyderabad and almost all parts of India for the upcoming Ganesh Chaturdi :two_thumbs_up: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/city/indore/Bahubali-Ganesha-idols-to-adorn-city-pandals/articleshow/48639734.cms There are movies and then there is Bahubali :dance: In National awards, we need to have a category called 'Bahubali' award - given to visionary directors that transcend established boundaries :agree: :pray:
The Telugu version of MayaBazaar .
It might prove to be difficult for people just entering South Indian films... one of classic Telugu cinema's most renowned films, but it needs a bit of cultural context, etc.
It might prove to be difficult for people just entering South Indian films... one of classic Telugu cinema's most renowned films' date=' but it needs a bit of cultural context, etc.[/quote'] Not at all, thats the beauty of good cinema.
Not at all' date=' thats the [b']beauty of good cinema.
Amen to that bro. Your recommendation is pretty spot on... I'd say there were some pretty good mythological-themed Telugu movies from that era, although Mayabazar is in a class of its own.
I find this an interesting take on a certain scene in the movie. Haven't seen the movie yet' date=' but have to agree with the gist of what the author is saying here.
Expected from Mariyamjee - Typical 'Hindu male is Evil personified' - no matter that the film was set in unknown times with unknown customs, unknown cultures and claims no historical basis. Anyway - here is what a woman feels http://swarajyamag.com/culture/baahubalis-avantika-popular-cinema-and-indian-feminism/
What are we women complaining about? The searing dance between the leads or Avantika’s falling for the man? What we fail to notice is Avantika is an ace swordswoman. Is it possible that she misses to injure a man who is unarmed on purpose? Or was it done deliberately because the entire sequence was that of lust and attraction? I, like everyone else, found the female lead suddenly transform into a coy woman who entrusts her dreams to her man. However, to call the film a show of masculinity is wrong. Also, I did not hear any man sitting in the theatre sigh when Prabhas lifts the Shiv Ling. It was us, women, screaming and rooting for him.
In the past years, there’s been this surge of movies crossing the 100-150 crore benchmark. However, it is difficult to find too many strong women protagonists in these films. Women have either lost out to the more gharelu (homely) heroine or have needed a heroes hand to catch a train, or fight a cop. And then of course we’ve had rosy dialogs like ‘pyar se de rahe hai rakhlo/ warna thappad maar ke bhi de sakte hai’(You better keep it when I’m offering it with affection, or I could even slap you and force you to accept it). Or it gets even better with ‘jab aurat hovat hai tees, oo saali ban javat hai cheez’ (When a woman turns thirty, she becomes a commodity).
------------------------------------- Anyway, what about Jodha Akbar movie ? Why is there no article called 'Rape of Jodha'? Maybe because the politically correct “secular†expectation is to celebrate a movie which asks us to be grateful to a bunch of Persianised Turkic-Mongol invaders and celebrate their love for coercing Hindu women into submission. According to this narrative, it is perfectly acceptable for a filmmaker to portray a Hindu princess as having willingly offered herself to a Mughal after marrying him under political compulsion and after having been unfairly accused of infidelity. We are also expected to demonstrate our faith in “liberal values†by buying the “seductionâ€, not rape, of Jodhaa by Akbar in a swordfight. It wouldn’t count as “rape†for these guardians of feminism because the Stockholm Syndrome apparent in such an equation is to be blithely ignored

I have no idea what you are on about. But do not attribute your narrow minded parochial world view to me. I do not know what this article has to do with any religion. Or why you feel the need to drag in religion into this discussion. Hypothetically, had it been Rett who had posted this article would you have still gone down the secular/sickular/hindu/muslim path? That speaks volumes about you. Hindu male is evil personified? Could you find me any post/comment of mine where I have suggested anything to this effect. What are you even talking about?

Of all the things you could have posted about the movie ( without watching mind you ), you found what you posted the best? Who are you trying to fool here? If you had cared to follow my posts in the entire forum ( which I doubt - based on your appearance in selected threads at selected times for selected opinions to promote selected agenda ) - the response would be same whether it was posted by Mariyam or Shriram - I would not count on your acknowledging it though. This is a film about visual extravagance, the biggest budget Indian movie ever, biggest collections, Best war scene ever, great suspense for the sequel,etc - so many things but you HAD to pick up the FRINGEST opinion - without even watching the movie. And this Mariyamjee - speaks volumes about YOU. BTW - the article you posted is already part of thread IIRC - can't be bothered to check. P.S. Do you justify 'rape of Jodha'? Or 'refuse to comment'?

Forgive me for not sharing your enthusiasm over Bahubali and not going through the last 60,000 of your posts on the topic. I came across the article, and posted it in the relevant thread. You found a need to associate it with religion, make an analogy to Jodha Akbar etc. Not I. That post in fact, wasn't even directed at you. I was sharing an article I read online. In retort, you've started calling me names and whatnot. Furthermore, you find the need to make ridiculous personalized comments like "Expected from Mariyamjee - Typical 'Hindu male is Evil personified' " I don't know what you are trying to convey here. Could you clarify? Where did you concoct this from?

Did you watch Jodha Akbar?
What do you mean?
I mean what I posted mariyamjee - based on all your posts in various threads. If you keep posting/asking all crap questions, then I am sorry - I don't have time