His Twitter profile is public. His profile reads "National Secretary BJP" and his handle name is "rammadhavBJP". That argument is pretty lame. Moreover, he didn't ask a question - he posted a lie about VP as a question. This isn't the first time Ansari was attacked as a VP. The same had happened on January 26 too. The worst part is that people hardly know about the man. I have met Ansari's wife and she teaches in a primarily Hindu origin school, wears a bindi like most Hindu women and doesn't espouse Hindu or Muslim values in the school where they teach. The VP has already issued a clarification.
Thats his occupation. This twitter profile also says Director India Foundation. In many social media websites such as twitter people list their occupation. Does not mean they speak in the authority of that occupation through their tweets. Now if Ram Mahdav calls a press conference and speaks to the media and asks the question from a BJP office then his capacity as national secretary then you have a point. One of his tweets is "How drones are changing the face of journalism". So he is re-tweeting this in his capacity as BJP general secretary? What his wife does or does not do is moot to the debate. I would like to see his clarification. Post the link if you want to. As i said before he is does not want to do yoga for health or religious reasons I am fine with it.

Why is Mr Ansari doing a second term as VP? I think Ram Maadhav's attack on him more down to Ansari's political association and ideology.

You are making an assumption for the part in bold. This is what I mean, people in India are becoming the assumption police. Most people I assume (my assumption) ask that question because he is a high profile person as empowered by our constitution who was missing. In reply to SG and Raghav Madhav asked the question on twitter, this is in a personal capacity to his followers, looks to me he wanted to gain more info. Its not as if he went to VP's house in his capacity as an envoy of the BJP and asked him this question. In partial response to the Sadhvis of the BJP, thats exactly what happened on twitter. The IAS officer was meeting Modi because of his position as an IAS officer. Its not as if Modi and him were invited to a private event. I dont goto my office in a tracksuit. VP's also have a personal lfe right? Your telling me his children/nephew-nieces forget to invite him to his grandchildren birthday he cant go to that cause he is VP and its beneath him? There is nothing stopping VP from performing yoga at his home in a personal capacity should be chose to. He remains free not to do it. But I would personally want a clarification from him on the same. Maybe he should have organised his own event (if he wanted to do yoga but was not invited). Certainly had the means to do so.
GB.. we are not talking about some family function here and dealing with govt organized high profile event. There are certain protocols are followed. Ram Madhav created an issue out of VP's absence. This was not a casual question and it was loaded with insinuations that being muslim Ansari deliberately avoided that. It was an attack on dignity of the VP office where people are being put to test for doing yoga or not, more so if they don't happen to be Hindu. What about his diatribe on RSTV? He put outright lies. What is your defence? He didn't know that RSTV and VP are related? There is some sensibility in BJP and at least they offered and apology on the same. But of course that apology is not enough. This hate-mongering guy should be seriously reprimanded.

It is downright laughable when people try to convice that Ram Madhav's communally vicious statement was actually an innocent remark. Whom you are kidding? As expected govt/bjp ended up giving communal overtone to whole yoga thing.

GB.. we are not talking about some family function here and dealing with govt organized high profile event. There are certain protocols are followed. Ram Madhav created an issue out of VP's absence. This was not a casual question and it was loaded with insinuations that being muslim Ansari deliberately avoided that. It was an attack on dignity of the VP office where people are being put to test for doing yoga or not, more so if they don't happen to be Hindu. What about his diatribe on RSTV? He put outright lies. What is your defence? He didn't know that RSTV and VP are related? There is some sensibility in BJP and at least they offered and apology on the same. But of course that apology is not enough. This hate-mongering guy should be seriously reprimanded.
He was wrong on RSTV. I will fully admit that. I am not going to blindly defend him. However i see no issue with him asking where the VP was. If you assume something out of that then the issue is at your end. Also lets not get ahead of ourselves. Ram Madhav was the leading BJP envoy in the negotiation to form the Kashmir government. It was his advise that brought Sajjid Lone into the BJP fold. That most certainly does not appear to be consistent with what you are accusing him of. You are again jumping to conclusions.

Yoga to be made compulsory in govt schools,teacher training course Yoga would now be taught as a compulsory subject not only from class VI to X in central government run schools but also as a training module in teacher education programmes. http://www.livemint.com/Politics/x3sU2Py9jZDIqiS6AvQoSP/Yoga-to-be-made-compulsory-in-govt-schoolsteacher-training.html I agree that Yoga is good for health. But why the hell does this Govt want to make everything compulsory :wall: just make it optional - jinko karna hai Woh karein, jinko nahi karna hai Woh na karein.

Smriti Irani has denied this.
Thats his occupation. This twitter profile also says Director India Foundation. In many social media websites such as twitter people list their occupation. Does not mean they speak in the authority of that occupation through their tweets. Now if Ram Mahdav calls a press conference and speaks to the media and asks the question from a BJP office then his capacity as national secretary then you have a point. One of his tweets is "How drones are changing the face of journalism". So he is re-tweeting this in his capacity as BJP general secretary? What his wife does or does not do is moot to the debate. I would like to see his clarification. Post the link if you want to. As i said before he is does not want to do yoga for health or religious reasons I am fine with it.
How is this in his private capacity? That burden of proof game is easy to play. By definition, when a person has a verified Twitter account - everything that their posts is public. In this case, Madhav's account is verified because of his position in Indian politics; he's not an artist. His personal or professional position is least of the concerns here. Let me tell you how the unnecessary drama unfolded T1 : Madhav Allegation Madhav makes two allegations - (1) RS TV not showing the yoga event and (2) Ansari not attending Ram-Madhav.jpg T2 : Lie1 caught VP's office issued a statement saying that he was not invited. According to protocol, VP attends when invited. T3 : Lie 2 caught RSTV CEO tweets out that falsifying Madhav's RSTV claim https://twitter.com/gurdeepsappal/status/612634702185398272 T4 : Madhav deletes his earlier tweet and posts this Ram-Madhav2.jpg T5 : That T4 is a lie too Ansari was not sick, he wasn't just invited. What do you conclude? Madhav is a chewtiya and it is no surprise he is the BJP National Secretary. His illustrious company includes Nobel Prize Winning laureates on xenophobia like Giriraj Singh and Yogi Adityanath. Finally, clarification of what from Ansari? VP doesn't attend events which he isn't invited BY PROTOCOL! Moreover, VP has entire right to deny an event without ANY clarification.
He was wrong on RSTV. I will fully admit that. I am not going to blindly defend him. However i see no issue with him asking where the VP was. If you assume something out of that then the issue is at your end. Also lets not get ahead of ourselves. Ram Madhav was the leading BJP envoy in the negotiation to form the Kashmir government. It was his advise that brought Sajjid Lone into the BJP fold. That most certainly does not appear to be consistent with what you are accusing him of. You are again jumping to conclusions.
He didn't ask "Where is the VP?". He said as a matter of fact that - "VP gave it a miss". Adding a question mark to the end of the sentence doesn't make it a question. You're being too lenient when this isn't the first time people have attacked Hamid Ansari.
In reply to SG and Raghav Madhav asked the question on twitter, this is in a personal capacity to his followers, looks to me he wanted to gain more info. Its not as if he went to VP's house in his capacity as an envoy of the BJP and asked him this question. In partial response to the Sadhvis of the BJP, thats exactly what happened on twitter. The IAS officer was meeting Modi because of his position as an IAS officer. Its not as if Modi and him were invited to a private event. I dont goto my office in a tracksuit. VP's also have a personal lfe right? Your telling me his children/nephew-nieces forget to invite him to his grandchildren birthday he cant go to that cause he is VP and its beneath him? There is nothing stopping VP from performing yoga at his home in a personal capacity should be chose to. He remains free not to do it. But I would personally want a clarification from him on the same. Maybe he should have organised his own event (if he wanted to do yoga but was not invited). Certainly had the means to do so.
Almost all senior IAS officers gave the event a miss - I read that in ToI & HT today. Ram Madhav didn't ask any question about that. You think a Govt function where the PM is the main guest is the same as birthday of grandchildren? Also, it is only in his own family functions that he can go in his personal capacity - everywhere else he has to go as the Vice President of India whether he (or the Govt) likes it or not. And again you are forgetting that he is the Vice President of India - he cannot go to such a HUGE function unless he has been invited by the Govt and arrangements (be it his name on the card or a seat on the stage etc) have been done. It would be extremely improper for the VP to 'unofficially' go to such an event (or for that matter any event). And why exactly would you want a clarification from him? The event was OPTIONAL, he was NOT INVITED so why is there any problem if he didn't do yoga? Why does Hamid Ansari have to give an explanation for missing a VOLUNTARY thing where the Govt didn't even invite him to any function. Also, since the entire event was Modi's brainchild and was organized by AYUSH ministry, the VP couldn't have done his own thing - they should/could have organized an event for him. There was an event for the President at Rashtrapati Bhawan - it was organized by Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga which is fully funded by the Govt of India, AYUSH Ministry. If the Govt could organize an event for the PM, President then why is it that the Vice President should have had to organize his own event in his personal capacity? They could organize functions in so many countries across the world, spend crores and crores on Ads but they can't invite the Vice President of India or organize an event for him? They either didn't want him to come or forgot about him. Either ways it is the Govt, and not the VP at fault here.

I am waiting for the day when there will be no "muslim posters - what do you think?", "hindu posters, do you think we are being sidelined even when we are majority?" Kab hoga hamara ek hi manzil? Kab banenge hum humsafar? :sad: On topic, Muslims believe in one God Allah and bow to only Him - not even parents, teachers or even their Prophet Mohammed...there is no concept of nation-state so no question of that too...Thats their belief...There are also other things - Hinduism believes in cycles - life is just an iteration, karma and adherence to dharma will decide if you ever get out of this cycle - Moksha means getting out of the cycle. Abrahmic faiths don't have the concept of cycles - there is one life and an afterlife. What you do here in your "one" life decides your fate. In Islam, if you are a Mushrikeen ( there is a better term but I forget ), i.e you equate anyone else with Allah like say Sun or Prophet or Father or Mother , then you will suffer in afterlife. Quite understandable if some muslims are apprehensive...Not about Yoga per se but what this could lead to.. I can do an Abrahmic vs Dharmic faiths post with the most fundamental divergences ( vs is a wrong term but all I meant is fundamental differences) to actually get an idea why there are protests ( leaving politics aside as politicians will obviously try to create the image that their entire faith is in danger )

He didn't ask "Where is the VP?". He said as a matter of fact that - "VP gave it a miss". Adding a question mark to the end of the sentence doesn't make it a question. You're being too lenient when this isn't the first time people have attacked Hamid Ansari.
He explicitly stated that he is asking two questions. It is a leading question, but it is still a question. However, in his tweets Madhav made no mention of Ansari's religion. Ironically, the defenders of Hamid Ansari have made it about his religion. Madhav was trying to score a (mistaken) political point by linking the VPs conduct with the RS TV's coverage. Ansari's religions was nowhere mentioned.
Almost all senior IAS officers gave the event a miss - I read that in ToI & HT today. Ram Madhav didn't ask any question about that. You think a Govt function where the PM is the main guest is the same as birthday of grandchildren? Also, it is only in his own family functions that he can go in his personal capacity - everywhere else he has to go as the Vice President of India whether he (or the Govt) likes it or not. And again you are forgetting that he is the Vice President of India - he cannot go to such a HUGE function unless he has been invited by the Govt and arrangements (be it his name on the card or a seat on the stage etc) have been done. It would be extremely improper for the VP to 'unofficially' go to such an event (or for that matter any event). And why exactly would you want a clarification from him? The event was OPTIONAL, he was NOT INVITED so why is there any problem if he didn't do yoga? Why does Hamid Ansari have to give an explanation for missing a VOLUNTARY thing where the Govt didn't even invite him to any function. Also, since the entire event was Modi's brainchild and was organized by AYUSH ministry, the VP couldn't have done his own thing - they should/could have organized an event for him. There was an event for the President at Rashtrapati Bhawan - it was organized by Morarji Desai National Institute of Yoga which is fully funded by the Govt of India, AYUSH Ministry. If the Govt could organize an event for the PM, President then why is it that the Vice President should have had to organize his own event in his personal capacity? They could organize functions in so many countries across the world, spend crores and crores on Ads but they can't invite the Vice President of India or organize an event for him? They either didn't want him to come or forgot about him. Either ways it is the Govt, and not the VP at fault here.
Great post :nice: Madhav was being an ass in this episode. No doubt. Instead of doing Yoga on Yoga Day which he seems to like, was he observing who came and who din't? Thank God the VP did not demean his office. :hatsoff: to VP for maintaining the dignity of office

What Ram Madhav posted was wrong and being a political entity whose tweets are followed by many, it was exceeding irresponsible of him to have posted the same. An apology cannot fully undo the harm, but at least he realized his mistake. That of course doesn't stop some xenophobic posters (as can ve seen in a few posts above mine) from hurling the choicest abuses against him or even his party (which even apologised for his comments). Ironically, these posters never complain about ISIS brutality, annihilation of Hindus in Kashmir, oppresive blasphemy laws in Islamic countries, etc. A Ram Madhav tweet is treated more contemptuously than ISIS beheading its hostages. No wonder such people choose to be either serial killers or fantasy villains.

How matter of ISIS comes into discussion related to Ram Madhav? Who are the fanboys of ISIS on this forum? You should realize that there is not so heated discussion on ISIS for two reasons 1. Everybody agrees on this forum that ISIS is most barbaric organization on the earth at the moment and must be crushed with all power possible. When everybody agrees on the same thing, how there possibly could be a prolong discussion? 2. ISIS brutality is matter of countries far-away. Ram Madhav is matter of our own country and party that governs our country. In between, how many posts you made condemning ISIS brutalities? Just a polite enquiry. You seem to have done your own "Ram Madhav" here :--D
Reading some of the posts above I got the impression that Ram Madhav may have murdered the Vice President. Upon quuckly looking up the news, I was relieved to find out that it was only a Tweet. For your polite inquiries, do check out Google.com or ICF's Search feature. And by the way, do show up in the AAP thread. People are asking about your "necessary expenditure" comment. Don't go AWOL this time the way you did when Prashant Bhushan and Yogendra Yadav were getting fired from AAP.

Modi has actually started some good campaigns including "Clean India" and "Yoga", but unfortunately many will only use these as publicity events The purpose of Clean India was to make everyone play his/her part in keeping Ind clean. However, we saw many use that as a photo opportunity The Yoga Day is about attracting people to do Yoga so that they remain fit. However, many would only use it as a photo opportunity and do Yoga once a year while continuing to remain unfit It is as if some folks have not graduated from their school days! A clean India and a fitter yourself is for your own good