Kalia_Test Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Mods - Kindly let this thread remain for a couple of days atleast. Then you can merge with the "What are you reading now" thread. I remember a few members who liked the Shiva trilogy by the author and even I found it a refreshing take on Indian mythology. This new book "Scion of Ikshwaku" is the first book on new 'Ramchandra' series. Has anyone read it and how does it compare with the trilogy? Use spoilers if needed pls Worth buying for 230 odd bucks for paperback?
Sachin=GOD Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 I liked the Shiva Trilogy. Looking forward to this book but since this is a part of series, I'll have to wait a long while for the next book(s) so I won't buy it right now. Will wait for the whole series to come out before buying.
BeautifulGame Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Yeah same doubts. Will read it anyway but the Amazon reviews seem a bit negative so far. I loved the Shiva triology apart from the ending
Kalia_Test Posted June 23, 2015 Author Posted June 23, 2015 Yeah same doubts. Will read it anyway but the Amazon reviews seem a bit negative so far. I loved the Shiva triology apart from the ending I can't seem to remember but was it not about an attempt to recreate shooting Tripura 3 cities at one shot or something like that? What exactly did you not like? maybe I will also remember My memory is fading :((
gattaca Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Isnt the shiva triology has shiva smoking weed ? was this banned in India ?
Kalia_Test Posted June 23, 2015 Author Posted June 23, 2015 Isnt the shiva triology has shiva smoking weed ? was this banned in India ? Even in Shiv Puran, Shiva smokes weed :dontknow:
BeautifulGame Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 I can't seem to remember but was it not about an attempt to recreate shooting Tripura 3 cities at one shot or something like that? What exactly did you not like? maybe I will also remember My memory is fading :(( Parvathi dying (I always like happy endings :beee:) then instead of some great war he just took Brahmastra and destroyed the whole city IIRC. It felt like an abrupt ending from memory
BeautifulGame Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Isnt the shiva triology has shiva smoking weed ? was this banned in India ? No but why would it be banned in India ?
gattaca Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 No but why would it be banned in India ? Because people in India are a bit sensitive to these kind of stuff. Dont we ban everything like satanic verses, davinci code.
vayuu1 Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Good book ,download the torrent ,worth reading, this will be another series like melhua , though melhua is better.
vayuu1 Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Parvathi dying (I always like happy endings :beee:) then instead of some great war he just took Brahmastra and destroyed the whole city IIRC. It felt like an abrupt ending from memory The character was sati not parvati, really disturbing, also rudra killing parvateshwar and his love and the whole city was bit sad.
Malcolm Merlyn Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Because people in India are a bit sensitive to these kind of stuff. Dont we ban everything like satanic verses' date=' davinci code.[/quote'] Neither is banned in India. And Shiva is offered Ganja as prasad in pooja.
flamy Posted June 23, 2015 Posted June 23, 2015 Because people in India are a bit sensitive to these kind of stuff. Dont we ban everything like satanic verses' date=' davinci code.[/quote'] Bhang is not banned during Shivratri :dontknow: Om Namah Shivaya :canabis:
Precambrian Posted June 24, 2015 Posted June 24, 2015 Shiva trilogy was pretty good. Read the sample chapter in Amazon and must say I am underwhelmed.
Sachin=GOD Posted June 24, 2015 Posted June 24, 2015 asura is a good book on ravanayana :D Yes. The author has written really well from the perspective of Asuras.
Sachin=GOD Posted June 24, 2015 Posted June 24, 2015 asura is a good book on ravanayana :D The author of Asura also wrote Ajaya - take of the Kaurav clan. It's a 2 part series and the 2nd book of coming out next month. I'm buying the 1st one today. Let's see how it is....
Temujin Khaghan Posted June 24, 2015 Posted June 24, 2015 The author of Asura also wrote Ajaya - take of the Kaurav clan. It's a 2 part series and the 2nd book of coming out next month. I'm buying the 1st one today. Let's see how it is.... its good but not near the quality of asura. the second part released recently.
Detonator Posted June 25, 2015 Posted June 25, 2015 Not sure about Scion of Ikshwaku. Will buy and post a review later. I would suggest "18 days" by Grant Morrison (DC comics). Brilliant take on Kurukshetra. The artwork is just out of the world. Pandavas Kauravas Karnan with Shakthi bow Arjunan with Gandiva bow. Other pandavas in background. Check out Bhima and his mace