What amount would you need to generate to lead a comfortable life in India?

Why would you change batteries after 18 months. A battery lasts at least 3-4 years. I recently changed after 4 years 2 luminous batteries for 18 K.
My bad luck coupled with laziness in replacing distilled water screw up the batteries earlier than usual :((
That shite always happens :cantstop: I also had to replace my batteries within 24 months becoz i forget refill distilled water regularly
He was part of the Organization I worked for earlier. I/We had invited him to do a presentation for our Clients in Hyderabad ( he was based out of Bangalore ). This was on a Testing Quality metrics tool that he and his team had developed. He had come and that was when I met him. Don't know him personally though. World is small :two_thumbs_up:
Small world indeed ! :) I Met him in a wedding few years back , infact the girl who was getting married is an HR of the Org you talking about . When I got introduced wasnt aware he is as a stand up comedian . I was like whos this moron cracking PJs haha Sort of have a common social circle here so meet him often.

15-20 lakhs in mumbai middle class 20-50 upper middle class Its all relative. The biggest issues in mumbai are lodging expenses. If you have your real estate situation sorted out then you can easily live a comfortable life at sat 10-12 lakhs. A 2 bed will cost something like 2-3 crore in most suburbs. Rest like Honda civic etc not much of an issue probably the same everywhere.

Since the word "middle-class" has been mentioned often ; Just to provide some perspective , quoting from the press release of the 68th round survey of NSS on consumer expenditure in India 2011-2012 : "Only about 10% of the urban population reported household MPCE (monthly per capita consumption expenditure) above Rs.4610 and only 5% reported MPCE above Rs.6383. " Avg Household size= 5 . Consumption expenditure of 95% of Indian households is less than Rs.31,915 per month.

i think thats the problem... this level of "reporting" does not add up against actual consumption
That's simply becoz 90% Indians don't pay tax and dont show their real income . But that's not the reality
i think thats the problem... this level of "reporting"
By reporting they are referring to the data collected by the National Sample Survey. I have not so far encountered any criticisms regarding the credibility of their data. It is an exhaustive survey report on consumption expenditure in India which was released in 2013.
does not add up against actual consumption
are you citing some other data/report on "actual consumption" expenditure ? Or just referring to your own perception ? Perhaps if somebody has access to NCAER's report on their national survey on Household income and expenditure . It may provide a broader picture.
That's simply becoz 90% Indians don't pay tax and dont show their real income . But that's not the reality
Tax is irrelevant here. As income is not considered . The NSS survey is on household consumption expenditure on food and Non-food items.

I have already mentioned expenditure data released by NSS. Regarding Income , As Per NCAER (National Council of Applied Economic Research) : Households having an annual income of over Rs 12.5 lakh belong in the TOP 1 % of India's population . Our perception of middle-class may be very different to the ground reality in India. http://www.business-standard.com/article/economy-policy/the-case-of-the-growing-one-per-cent-indians-112012400073_1.html

My son is only two and a half, so there is no issue about disruption in education etc., which I feel is grossly overrated anyways because the things that kids capture from a diverse education is much more valuable than making sure they ace their exams. But that can be a topic for another thread. The way I view it is that both mine and my wife's parents are getting old and here is an opportunity in life to shake out of the comfort zone and spend a good two years with them. If not for me, but certainly for my wife and son since my wife has made it clear she has no inclination of working for that time and would like to spend some time off (Gosh! When will guys take time off!). Financially, we will be losing my wife's salary but given the cost of living and the numbers being discussed in this thread we will be pretty well off.
That was the one driving force for us to move. Too much of a comfort zone in US job, unless you keep moving every 5-6 years, if you are stuck in a big corporation, life gets too easy here. Now, I have to prove, I can work with diverse culture of people and get work done, one more thing in your resume to sell anywhere. Even for kids, we overrate elementary education till eighth or ninth grade. Kids in India start IIT-JEE Prep in 7th grade. Some even earlier. Kids should grow up learning on their and mostly from peers.
Nothing beats experience of living in Indian on a Dollar/Euro salries. They really life king size. In my organization there are few brits who are in India for 2-3 years. Looking at their lavish lifestyle I commented that for you guys colonial era never seemed to have ended :cantstop:, They live in DLF Golf Course Apartments where apartment rent itself would be around 2.5 lakhs with an armada of domestic help mail, cook, driver etc. Some of them joke that now we are too spoilt to live back in London on usual salaries, Opposite of this experience is living in US/Europe on Indian salaries that many indian IT folks go through. :((
Yeah, I don't see any issues monetarily. My concerns are more about coping with the jhik jhik of day to day life in India. I've never really worked in India either - have only worked with teams based out of India. The experience hasn't been very positive on that front both from the perspective of quality and work culture. On the personal front, there are a lot of positives but needless interaction with relatives is a big drawback for my personality. And frankly, I don't even know how to start setting up a bank account in India. I don't have an Aadhar card, but I've heard despite the SC ruling it is pretty much required. So the first step will be to procure that I guess or not? Lots of learnings and ground work to be done in the next couple of months. Luckily, I am being provided an apartment for my first 3 months and extendible to 6 if I pay which should give sufficient time to understand and navigate the rental market.
That was the one driving force for us to move. Too much of a comfort zone in US job' date=' unless you keep moving every 5-6 years, if you are stuck in a big corporation, life gets too easy here. Now, I have to prove, I can work with diverse culture of people and get work done, one more thing in your resume to sell anywhere. Even for kids, we overrate elementary education till eighth or ninth grade. Kids in India start IIT-JEE Prep in 7th grade. Some even earlier. Kids should grow up learning on their and mostly from peers.[/quote'] How do you find working in India? As I mentioned above that is the biggest challenge I see for myself and a reason why I took on the assignment. My experience of working with Professionals based out of India has not been very positive. Motivation, self-drive, and commitment are in the bottom half of a ranking table in general. Don't take me wrong. There are really strong people I've worked with as well. Adherence to timelines, identifying and presenting issues and obstacles ahead of time are crucial components I've found missing in the work culture in India.

^ dont come with lot of expectations , you will likely be even more frustrated at the end of your 2 years stay here . Your assessment of the work culture here pretty much spot on . I think you said your office is some were near south mumbai? The good thing is its easily the best part of Mumbai , bad thing though is if your planning to stay anyhwhere close its going to cost you a a lot more . A good 2BHK may cost 1-1.2 Lac . You really dont want stay anywhere far not more than 3-4 KM distance in Mumbai , the daily commute is going to kill you .

^ dont come with lot of expectations , you will likely be even more frustrated at the end of your 2 years stay here . Your assessment of the work culture here pretty much spot on .
I agree. Outty, you should seriously reconsider if the stay can be avoided. If you are the person who enjoy being alone with a glass of wine and listening favourite music, India is surely not the place. If still it is unavoidable and you want to take the challenge, come with open mind and try not to get frustrated easily. Try to talk with everyone whoever wants to talk to you on any matter. Do not be judgemental of a person because of his political beleif or the cricketer he loves or the Bollywood celebrity he admires. Going on a cab, talk to the driver about his hometown and how he is raising his children. Watch the people celebrating different festival and try to enjoy with them, take this as a learning experience, I am sure you will enjoy it.
^ dont come with lot of expectations , you will likely be even more frustrated at the end of your 2 years stay here . Your assessment of the work culture here pretty much spot on . I think you said your office is some were near south mumbai? The good thing is its easily the best part of Mumbai , bad thing though is if your planning to stay anyhwhere close its going to cost you a a lot more . A good 2BHK may cost 1-1.2 Lac . You really dont want stay anywhere far not more than 3-4 KM distance in Mumbai , the daily commute is going to kill you .
I am not coming with a lot of expectations. I know it's going to be tough. I'll just follow the Dhoni process and let results take care of themselves. I might win the WC or get whitewashed. Yeah, rent is going to expensive. But there is no way I am going to commute for more than 20 minutes in Bombay. The traffic is just horrible. One of the plus points is that I will be working staggered hours of 1-10, which is a negative for family life.
Yeah, I don't see any issues monetarily. My concerns are more about coping with the jhik jhik of day to day life in India. I've never really worked in India either - have only worked with teams based out of India. The experience hasn't been very positive on that front both from the perspective of quality and work culture. On the personal front, there are a lot of positives but needless interaction with relatives is a big drawback for my personality. And frankly, I don't even know how to start setting up a bank account in India. I don't have an Aadhar card, but I've heard despite the SC ruling it is pretty much required. So the first step will be to procure that I guess or not? Lots of learnings and ground work to be done in the next couple of months. Luckily, I am being provided an apartment for my first 3 months and extendible to 6 if I pay which should give sufficient time to understand and navigate the rental market. How do you find working in India? As I mentioned above that is the biggest challenge I see for myself and a reason why I took on the assignment. My experience of working with Professionals based out of India has not been very positive. Motivation, self-drive, and commitment are in the bottom half of a ranking table in general. Don't take me wrong. There are really strong people I've worked with as well. Adherence to timelines, identifying and presenting issues and obstacles ahead of time are crucial components I've found missing in the work culture in India.
I agree, the biggest challenge is to go through the daily life - commute to work, and back, buying groceries and setting up the house. It would take atleast 6 months to set up and get adjusted to the daiy routine. Conveniences near home will help ease this time. You dont want to commute moree than 30 mins to any place. My work here is more oriented towards legacy technology in India and others have been trained well. But, in general, people are eager to commit even before planning or scheduling. I have to work with local 3rd party vendors like TCS, Infys, they are a challenge. They don't get margins in Indian work, they assign them to trainees or fresh hires and try to squeeze as much as possible. There is no professionalism in handling overseas clients as well. I don't have a high expectations of enjoying work here. I am more interested in improving my own life setup (work/family).