Singh bling Posted May 24, 2016 Posted May 24, 2016 Quote http://m.thehindu.com/news/cities/bangalore/parents-suicide-daughter-taunted-husband-arrested/article8608982.ece This is Indian legal system , 2 adults marry with their wish , parents of daughter commit suicide , husband arrested and sent to 14 days judicial custody for abetment.On one hand we keep hearing how 2 adults have right to marry irrespective of what their family say on the other hand police just arrest you and judge send you in custody because someone did not agree with marriage and commit suicide Under_Score and tweaker 2
Texy Posted May 25, 2016 Posted May 25, 2016 Those people deserved to die with their antiquated thoughts and cultural practices. It's 2016 ffs. Under_Score 1
mishra Posted May 25, 2016 Posted May 25, 2016 3 hours ago, Texy said: Those people deserved to die with their antiquated thoughts and cultural practices. It's 2016 ffs. Exactly, I am sure there are over 50% of Indian parents who do not believe in intercaste marriage. Your solution will solve population crisis. 17 hours ago, sarchasm said: A terrible situation made worse by the law and law enforcers. Agree, girl has lost her parents, husband in prison, while in laws must be totally against her for atleast next 10 years. Under_Score 1
Singh bling Posted May 25, 2016 Author Posted May 25, 2016 1 hour ago, mishra said: Exactly, I am sure there are over 50% of Indian parents who do not believe in intercaste marriage. Your solution will solve population crisis. Agree, girl has lost her parents, husband in prison, while in laws must be totally against her for atleast next 10 years. arrey yaar us aadmi kaa bhee socho , apni marzi se shaadi ki aur jail mein baitha hai.Koyi crime banta hi nahi hai In laws against or not is not written in news Under_Score and tweaker 2
Book_Worm Posted May 26, 2016 Posted May 26, 2016 What about the times when kids committ sucide when they fail in exams and cannot take the parental pressure or even cases when a girl/boy commits sucide beacuse their parents are forcing the, to marry someone else rather than the ones they love. I don't remember parents being sent to jail for this crime. beetle, Singh bling, Under_Score and 1 other 4
mishra Posted May 26, 2016 Posted May 26, 2016 4 hours ago, Book_Worm said: What about the times when kids committ sucide when they fail in exams and cannot take the parental pressure or even cases when a girl/boy commits sucide beacuse their parents are forcing the, to marry someone else rather than the ones they love. I don't remember parents being sent to jail for this crime. I doubt if parents dont get booked for it.
mishra Posted May 26, 2016 Posted May 26, 2016 22 hours ago, Singh bling said: arrey yaar us aadmi kaa bhee socho , apni marzi se shaadi ki aur jail mein baitha hai.Koyi crime banta hi nahi hai In laws against or not is not written in news This is a case of no win situation. Whatever you do will look unjustified. Allthough groom is legally not responsible for all this, but socially he is. Morally may be, may be not Also, its upto court to release the groom, Police acted legally to make arrest as the case involved death.
Singh bling Posted May 26, 2016 Author Posted May 26, 2016 6 hours ago, mishra said: This is a case of no win situation. Whatever you do will look unjustified. Allthough groom is legally not responsible for all this, but socially he is. Morally may be, may be not Also, its upto court to release the groom, Police acted legally to make arrest as the case involved death. Then stop saying that 2 adults have right to marry even if their families are against it. Father, mother , sister or brother of either side may attempt or commit suicide, better to tell people truth than non existant theories beetle 1
beetle Posted May 28, 2016 Posted May 28, 2016 It was stupid of the police to arrest the groom when the girl also accepted consensual marriage. Unmarried adults have a right marry irrespective of other factors.I won't be surprised if police was influenced by other means. The court should admonish the police for arresting the guy. Tomorrow some one can commit suicide because the family member did not vote according to his/her choice. Will they arrest in this case too. I hate this aspect of our so called culture. Elders just do not want to let go of the right to control their younger relatives. They just want the children to blindly follow what they say. They don't raise children ....they raise slaves ,to their wishes . Texy is right.Good riddance to such idiots. Hope the guy gets released soon and the police gets a danda from the court.
mishra Posted May 31, 2016 Posted May 31, 2016 On 26/05/2016 at 5:10 PM, Singh bling said: Then stop saying that 2 adults have right to marry even if their families are against it. Father, mother , sister or brother of either side may attempt or commit suicide, better to tell people truth than non existant theories In west, after age of 18 the so called adults generally start paying rent to their parents if they live in the same house and they themselves pay for their own education via loan or bursary. In India its parents who bear all the costs for these so called adults till they really become adult. Let GOI take care of everyone over 18+ before he gets employed or alternatively come up with a guideline for a legal contract in which parents can specifically mention what they want in return of paying for these so called adults.
Singh bling Posted May 31, 2016 Author Posted May 31, 2016 1 minute ago, mishra said: In west, after age of 18 the so called adults generally start paying rent to their parents if they live in the same house and they themselves pay for their own education via loan or bursary. In India its parents who bear all the costs for these so called adults till they really become adult. Let GOI take care of everyone over 18+ before he gets employed or alternatively come up with a guideline for a legal contract in which parents can specifically mention what they want in return of paying for these so called adults. In India too sons join professions of their fathers, there is no freedom ,that's why we see domination of communnitties in several trades . Also sons take care of elder parents till death.So Indian children contribute in different way GOI will go bankrupt if takes care of everybody over 18, Its stupidity to ape culture of other nation without having its type of economy
mishra Posted May 31, 2016 Posted May 31, 2016 37 minutes ago, Singh bling said: In India too sons join professions of their fathers, there is no freedom ,that's why we see domination of communnitties in several trades . Also sons take care of elder parents till death.So Indian children contribute in different way GOI will go bankrupt if takes care of everybody over 18, Its stupidity to ape culture of other nation without having its type of economy They join it because parents/society supports them and doest say that now you are 18 so not my responsibility. Just goes to support my original point that parents do take more responsibility. On second Thats my point. Its Hippocratic from GOI to have western laws without western kind of liability/accountability. Situation like this will keep arise. After all parents will have expectation too.
beetle Posted June 1, 2016 Posted June 1, 2016 On 5/31/2016 at 6:31 PM, mishra said: They join it because parents/society supports them and doest say that now you are 18 so not my responsibility. Just goes to support my original point that parents do take more responsibility. On second Thats my point. Its Hippocratic from GOI to have western laws without western kind of liability/accountability. Situation like this will keep arise. After all parents will have expectation too. What expectations? That children will only do what parents want all their lives....including deciding who to marry ? That is not a relationship...it is bondage. Parents bring children into the world without asking their children if they want to be born to them.It is their duty to raise them to adult hood.Indian parents should ask children to take loans for education instead of holding it over their head as life long emotional blackmail. Indian parents can choose to let their children get married in court or temple instead of inviting the whole town . Parents have the choice of not having children....children do not have that choice. Parents take care of children and the only thing children owe them is to take care of them when they can no longer take care of themselves. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Your generalization about the west is like some one saying that all Indians kill their children in honor killing .Too much generalization. nikred and Book_Worm 2