'I'm still in awe of Sunny' -Akram

Sunil Gavaskar was one of the biggest batsmen then, and of course now as well - great legend. When I started playing for Pakistan my dream was to get Sunny Gavaskar out. I remember Imran Khan talking about him all the time, about his technique, Javed Miandad talking about him, Zaheer Abbas - everybody talked about one batsman - Sunil Gavaskar. His technique, his temperament, and for me getting his wicket was the ultimate. I remember, in 1987 I bowled a quick spell - I was beginning to bowl quick at that time. It was the Chennai Test, the first Test match. Sunny got some runs there, 70-80 odd runs. The ball was reverse-swinging, I bowled a couple of bouncers, and I still remember, after 20-odd years, that he went on the front foot and then he came all the way back - the ball followed him, it was an inswinging bouncer. He bent back all the way and he could see the ball pass him. He had so much time and his head was so still as a batsman that he never gave me his wicket in Test matches. Only time I got him [Akram dismissed Gavaskar two times in ODIs] was in Hyderabad in 1987. It was a one-day game. I bowled a bouncer which hit Kris Srikkanth in his eye, and Sunny bhai edged me to second slip. It was a grassy wicket, and I think that was the only grassy wicket in India in one-day cricket. That was a dream come true for me. I didn't say anything to Sunny bhai. Obviously at that time I was very young, I was in awe of him, and I am still in awe of him. He is a legend for me. I remember the tours when I was very young, when India used to come to Pakistan. I remember three or four names from there - Sunny Gavaskar, Chetan Chauhan, and left-armer Karsan Ghavri. These were the names who regularly featured in the Indian team whenever they played in Pakistan. Sunny's technique was incredible. He always played the ball very late and he never gave away his wicket, and that was the beauty of his batting. He would always be there on the crease. It