Should a player be played on current form or past reputation?

maniac

On 12/5/2017 at 11:54 PM, maniac said:

Rahane has looked totally out of sorts in this series.

Now sure he might look like a million bucks in South Africa and start hitting 100s for fun but that is only a guess at this stage and the only credible evidence for that is past performance.

So should a player be played on what his past records are despite him looking totally out of sorts and out of form at the moment? This is a high profile series and can’t afford assumptions.

Nice topic maniac. If it interests you, kindly start a poll.

10 hours ago, jalebi_bhai said:

Nice topic maniac. If it interests you, kindly start a poll.

It is very subjective I guess based on the responses so poll may not work.

2 minutes ago, Laaloo said:

Well we've played Dhoni in T20s for 10 years now based on his form and past reputation whatever that was.

I would cut him some slack and say 7 years.

in 2007 he had a reputation of being a big hitter and also won as captain so deserves it in 2009....failed but chalo 1-1...3rd time the charm should have played in 2010 but that should have been it.