Cricketics Posted January 24, 2019 Posted January 24, 2019 If you are a points guy, this thread might interests you to talk all about points i have an SPG card from American Express and they are now merging with Marriott and coming up with some new piece of crap card called Bonvoy. Don’t know why company is going through so much hassle but I believe they are matching the status which could be good for some top tier members as they could have access to more hotels. Does any of you have SPG? I am thinking of now moving back to Chase Sapphire which is probably still the best travel card out there with no foreign transaction fee and decent points offering
zen Posted January 24, 2019 Posted January 24, 2019 (edited) SPG is a good card and you can transfer miles to your frequent flyer program as well iirc. Used to have American Express Gold Rewards Card as well which offers great flexibility. Now am using Aeroplan Edited January 24, 2019 by zen
Cricketics Posted January 24, 2019 Author Posted January 24, 2019 11 minutes ago, zen said: SPG is a good card and you can transfer miles to your frequent flyer program as well iirc. Used to have American Express Gold Rewards Card as well which offers great flexibility. Now am using Aeroplan Confused by this whole merger. I read that cards will be changed to Bonvoy around Feb 13th? Do I get my new Bonvoy card or do I have to apply for it again. I read somewhere that current spg holders will have to again apply for the card? Too much going on and its hard to figure out with this whole Bonvoy shyt.
someone Posted January 24, 2019 Posted January 24, 2019 Is priority pass worth it? They seem to be offering some 20% discount. Or any other cards or services with complimentary access??
Cricketics Posted January 24, 2019 Author Posted January 24, 2019 16 minutes ago, someone said: Is priority pass worth it? They seem to be offering some 20% discount. Or any other cards or services with complimentary access?? Don’t some credit cards already have priority pass? I know Amex Platinum comes with it I think. It could be worth it if you are a frequent traveller as they are located every airport pretty much and you will have lounge access everywhere om earth.
Clarke Posted January 24, 2019 Posted January 24, 2019 Naa, aukaad nahi. I do get spam calls about SBI IRCTC card though. Saala sarkari bank ki maa ki aankh wo bhi humein troll karti hai
zen Posted January 24, 2019 Posted January 24, 2019 6 hours ago, Cricketics said: Confused by this whole merger. I read that cards will be changed to Bonvoy around Feb 13th? Do I get my new Bonvoy card or do I have to apply for it again. I read somewhere that current spg holders will have to again apply for the card? Too much going on and its hard to figure out with this whole Bonvoy shyt. I do not have the SPG card anymore. Used it a long time back. Likely scenario is that you would be automatically moved
Cricketics Posted January 24, 2019 Author Posted January 24, 2019 6 hours ago, Clarke said: Naa, aukaad nahi. I do get spam calls about SBI IRCTC card though. Saala sarkari bank ki maa ki aankh wo bhi humein troll karti hai Bhai India ka batao kuch. Do companies offer good point system or have any other cash back or something like that.
Turning_track Posted January 25, 2019 Posted January 25, 2019 2 hours ago, Cricketics said: Bhai India ka batao kuch. Do companies offer good point system or have any other cash back or something like that. HDFC offers a card called diners club black card. They offer it to their priority customers & I've seen folks who regularly shop online, travel & book hotels abroad use this card. The cashback was 33% & during Flipkart, Amazon sale this card proved quite useful. But this card doesn't work in a few countries of South-East Asia. Also, if we don't get cashback & contact customer care for clarification they might not be able to help . HDFC regularly degrades the value of cashback points without informing customers & there are too many T&C. Cricketics 1
Cricketics Posted January 25, 2019 Author Posted January 25, 2019 1 hour ago, Turning_track said: HDFC offers a card called diners club black card. They offer it to their priority customers & I've seen folks who regularly shop online, travel & book hotels abroad use this card. The cashback was 33% & during Flipkart, Amazon sale this card proved quite useful. But this card doesn't work in a few countries of South-East Asia. Also, if we don't get cashback & contact customer care for clarification they might not be able to help . HDFC regularly degrades the value of cashback points without informing customers & there are too many T&C. Interesting and it sucks that they would drop points value without notifying customers in advance. here tier system changes but cards would inform you well in advance. There got to be more transparecy if cc companies want to promote it and get loyal customers.
Clarke Posted January 25, 2019 Posted January 25, 2019 4 hours ago, Cricketics said: Bhai India ka batao kuch. Do companies offer good point system or have any other cash back or something like that. Those joining offers, points etc are here as well. I dont think they are as lucrative. I recall making 400 dollars on applying new cards there. I'm not a big spender so i dont keep various cards for diff spending categories. Plus all cards here have mad interest rates, so mad that they talk in monthly terms, like 2.5/3 % per month. Cricketics 1
Cricketics Posted January 25, 2019 Author Posted January 25, 2019 59 minutes ago, Clarke said: Those joining offers, points etc are here as well. I dont think they are as lucrative. I recall making 400 dollars on applying new cards there. I'm not a big spender so i dont keep various cards for diff spending categories. Plus all cards here have mad interest rates, so mad that they talk in monthly terms, like 2.5/3 % per month. Cool, thanks for the info man. Glad you have settled down well in India and enjoying it.
Straight Drive Posted January 27, 2019 Posted January 27, 2019 On 1/25/2019 at 5:13 AM, Cricketics said: Bhai India ka batao kuch. Do companies offer good point system or have any other cash back or something like that. Jet Privilege is good. If you are frequent traveller then you can actually save a lot in flight tickets in an year. Worth it. But now the Jet Airways is in mess and they are planning to find a buyer for this scheme is suppose. Cricketics 1
Cricketics Posted January 30, 2019 Author Posted January 30, 2019 I booked flight for parents and there is this frequent flyer peogram from Air India. Can I still add their current flight to a flyer program to avail miles/points and sign them up as frequent flyers or is it too late. Their flight isn’t for next 20 days.
Cricketics Posted January 30, 2019 Author Posted January 30, 2019 I booked flight for parents and there is this frequent flyer program from Air India. Can I still add their current flight to a flyer program to avail miles/points and sign them up as frequent flyers or is it too late. Their flight isn’t for next 20 days.
Straight Drive Posted January 30, 2019 Posted January 30, 2019 1 hour ago, Cricketics said: I booked flight for parents and there is this frequent flyer peogram from Air India. Can I still add their current flight to a flyer program to avail miles/points and sign them up as frequent flyers or is it too late. Their flight isn’t for next 20 days. Better is to get the points added while taking the boarding pass. If that's not done, flight journey can be added within stipulated number of days after the journey date. I think the flight can be added only if the flyer program is active prior to the flight date. Cricketics 1