India vs Pakistan, their last world cup encounter in England

Don't have much memory of this match. Few things noted

1) Sanju Manju was doing the commentary along with Ravi bot. Didn't realize he started his stint that early. Colin Croft always one of my favorite commie

2) Mohanty was giving a torrid time for Ijaz Ahmed. Unlucky not to pick up more wickets. Effective when there is swing on offer

3) Back then Prasad despite his slow pace had these two deliveries, off cutters, more importantly, leg cutters. Not sure why bowlers don't bowl them anymore. Let us not confuse slower balls that we see with back of the hand is not leg cutter. Leg cutters come at normal speed may be slightly less than seam up.

4) Inzamam almost got run out first ball. survived 2 more times lol

5) Srinath's incoming deliveries remind me of Bumrah's deliveries. But Bumrah has more variation, a lot of thinking in his bowling

6) At best Srinath and Kumble can walk into our current bowling line up. 

7) As you can see even on a good batting pitch you can find the edge in England at a certain length. So India has to have a slip as and when we can.

All the indian fans in England must have gone delirious.

Probably the only Indo-Pak game in UK where padosi fans outnumbered us. Don't know why, it seems the neutral English supporters too were supporting them. 

5 hours ago, vvvslaxman said:

Don't have much memory of this match. Few things noted

1) Sanju Manju was doing the commentary along with Ravi bot. Didn't realize he started his stint that early. Colin Croft always one of my favorite commie

2) Mohanty was giving a torrid time for Ijaz Ahmed. Unlucky not to pick up more wickets. Effective when there is swing on offer

3) Back then Prasad despite his slow pace had these two deliveries, off cutters, more importantly, leg cutters. Not sure why bowlers don't bowl them anymore. Let us not confuse slower balls that we see with back of the hand is not leg cutter. Leg cutters come at normal speed may be slightly less than seam up.

4) Inzamam almost got run out first ball. survived 2 more times lol

5) Srinath's incoming deliveries remind me of Bumrah's deliveries. But Bumrah has more variation, a lot of thinking in his bowling

6) At best Srinath and Kumble can walk into our current bowling line up. 

7) As you can see even on a good batting pitch you can find the edge in England at a certain length. So India has to have a slip as and when we can.

All the indian fans in England must have gone delirious.

Pakistan were favorites going into the game and I remember Akram had said that it was more of a practice game for them as they had more or less qualified for the Semi Finals.

6 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

Pakistan were favorites going into the game and I remember Akram had said that it was more of a practice game for them as they had more or less qualified for the Semi Finals.

Yes with every Pakistani wicket,Indians were mocking them saying,"abe practice maych hai yaar"

10 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Yes with every Pakistani wicket,Indians were mocking them saying,"abe practice maych hai yaar"

If I am not wrong fixer Azhar was accused of fixing the Zimbabwe game which we lost to them.

This wasn't a batting pitch encountered these days. Even padosi ARs are occasionally swinging the ball much later. Our current batting would be 70/5 with Dhoni in tuk tuk mode against such bowling & conditions. 

54 minutes ago, Switchblade said:

If I am not wrong fixer Azhar was accused of fixing the Zimbabwe game which we lost to them.

Maybe,but Agarkar bowled badly in that match and for all his capability with the bat,he failed with that too when too few runs were required to win

57 minutes ago, Suhaan said:

Maybe,but Agarkar bowled badly in that match and for all his capability with the bat,he failed with that too when too few runs were required to win

We needed 6 or 7 runs and Srinath I remember got out trying to slog and then Prasad was dismissed by Henry Olanga. It waa very disappointing to watch. Had we won that game then we would have carried two points going into the super six. 

6 hours ago, Switchblade said:

@Rightarmfast any memories of this game you would like to share with us.

Against Pakistan or Zimbabwe? Pakistan I remember we were all scared of Shoaib Akhtar. However, for all their might, the Pakistani bowlers kind of fizzled out and it was Prasad once again who was the hero against Pakistan. I vaguely remember that he took a few wickets within a span of few balls.Also there was a run out. Don’t recall.

against Zimbabwe, sachins dad had just passed away and he was not there for the match. The indian team fell like nine pins, with Srinath and robin failing to convert a win!