I probably like over 100 masala films (for e.g. Amitabh worked in over 70 films from Zanjeer to Hum, most of them are good. Then you have Dilip Kumar, Dev Anand, etc., films too), but the aim here is NOT to make a laundry list (most ppl already know about these films) but to streamline the choices (so pros and cons come in) to discuss the best (not favorite) 10 as highlighted in the OP :facepalm:

having Vidhaata in top 10 is a :nono: You included only dramatic movies, so background score becomes big. Movies like AAA are more fun, For me, Dharmatma and Qurbani  has no repeat value, but will sit and watch AAA/Angoor anyday. Of course dramatic scores are classier than slapstick background score. Nobody got your OP

29 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

having Vidhaata in top 10 is a :nono: You included only dramatic movies, so background score becomes big. Movies like AAA are more fun, For me, Dharmatma and Qurbani  has no repeat value, but will sit and watch AAA/Angoor anyday. Of course dramatic scores are classier than slapstick background score. Nobody got your OP

Buddy, that is not the point. I am big into reincarnation films so Mehbooba is one of my big favs (considered a cult classic now) and will pick it over a film like AAA (like AAA too but relatively speaking) 

I would not include it in the 10, much like AAA, because some of its segments look like a TV serial now. Similarly for AAA, some of its segments are like a serial (even ignoring its background score) 

Sholay is not one of my top favorites at this point (May change in future) because I have watched it many many times so every rewatch can produce diminishing returns. However, as a Bollywood masala entertainer, it is almost perfect (considering its competition), therefore, on the list. Similarly, you may not be much into Qurbani but it still feels like a modern film relatively speaking and technically brilliant 

The films should be judged on quality and relevance in 2021. This is not about a laundry list of favorites 

17 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Here's my top 10

Anupama

Naya Daur

Pyaasa

Guide

Anand

Aradhana

Chasme Baddoor

Ijaazat

Bombay

Lagaan

Buddy, note that some of these films are not even paisa vasool masala “entertainers” films 

For e.g Anand is a serious socially inclined film about the journey of a sick man. Similarly Guide too, which can be considered arty. Considering the class of a Naya Daur or a Pakeezah, or a Madhumati, I would be hesitant to put them in “masala entertainer” category, and so on 

17 minutes ago, zen said:

Buddy, note that some of these films are not even paisa vasool masala “entertainers” films 

For e.g Anand is a serious socially inclined film about the journey of a sick man. Similarly Guide too, which can be considered arty. Considering the class of a Naya Daur or a Pakeezah, or a Madhumati, I would be hesitant to put them in “masala entertainer” category, and so on 

Exactly, your idea of paisa vasool differs from most. all have good soundtrack, acting, direction, entertaining is a personal preferrence. . My definition of Masala movies istime pass, that you watch repeatedly. JJWS has not much of repeat value than AAA/AAA/Govinda movies. For dramatic movies, Id rather watch the movies I listed above than a Vidhaata or Dharmatma.  Not agreeing with your idea of paisa vasool. np

23 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Exactly, your idea of paisa vasool differs from most. all have good soundtrack, acting, direction, entertaining is a personal preferrence. . My definition of Masala movies istime pass, that you watch repeatedly. JJWS has not much of repeat value than AAA/AAA/Govinda movies. For dramatic movies, Id rather watch the movies I listed above than a Vidhaata or Dharmatma.  Not agreeing with your idea of paisa vasool. np

Most ppl go by generally understood definition of masala entertainers which are showcased by films made by Manmohan Desai, Subhash Ghai, Raj Kapoor (though his films can blend arty elements with masala), Feroz Khan, Manoj Kumar (though some of his films can have arty touches), etc. ... If someone says Pather Panchali is a masala film per my taste (timepass), something is wrong/misunderstood 

In context of Hollywood/Foreign films, 

• 2001: A Space Odyssey is not a masala film, Star Wars is 
  • The Spy Who Came From The Cold is not a masala film, James Bond films are  
  • Vertigo is not a masala film, Basic Instinct is 
  • Kurosawa's Ran is not a masala film, Kingdom of Heaven is 
  • Gandhi is not a masala film, The Wolf of Wall Street is 

Repeat value to you is immaterial as this is not a favorite films discussion. You may like Gopi Kishan more than Sholay but it is not a better film than Sholay 

30 minutes ago, zen said:

Most ppl go by generally understood definition of masala entertainers which are showcased by films made by Manmohan Desai, Subhash Ghai, Raj Kapoor (though his films can blend arty elements with masala), Feroz Khan, Manoj Kumar (though some of his films can have arty touches), etc. ... If someone says Pather Panchali is a masala film per my taste (timepass), something is wrong/misunderstood 

In context of Hollywood/Foreign films, 

• 2001: A Space Odyssey is not a masala film, Star Wars is 
  • The Spy Who Came From The Cold is not a masala film, James Bond films are  
  • Vertigo is not a masala film, Basic Instinct is 
  • Kurosawa's Ran is not a masala film, Kingdom of Heaven is 
  • Gandhi is not a masala film, The Wolf of Wall Street is 

Repeat value to you is immaterial as this is not a favorite films discussion. You may like Gopi Kishan more than Sholay but it is not a better film than Sholay 

Why are defining some things that is universally known. You include dramatic masala movies and I include comedy masala movies, you complain they are not of quality. What decides quality of masala films? Dharmatma is quality, but Ram Balmram is not. It is all in your head. You think Apradh deserves in top 10, I think it is trash. I like Satte Pe Satta better, has good soundtrack, great background score for drama, and good action, acting, comedy etc, full on entertainer. 

There is  no quality associated with masala movies, but different genres (drama, action, comedy), different niche audience, cult following etc. Paisa vasool for you might be different for me. You should call  the OP top 10 dramatic masala movies. Hollywood reviewers also do associate quality with drama. There are no best actor in a Comedic role in Oscars. 

7 minutes ago, coffee_rules said:

Why are defining some things that is universally known. You include dramatic masala movies and I include comedy masala movies, you complain they are not of quality. What decides quality of masala films? Dharmatma is quality, but Ram Balmram is not. It is all in your head.

There is  no quality associated with masala movies, but different genres (drama, action, comedy), different niche audience, cult following etc. Paisa vasool for you might be different for me. You should call  the OP top 10 dramatic masala movies. Hollywood reviewers also do associate quality with drama. There are best actor in a Comedic role in Oscars. 

Quality is a differentiating factor and displayed by films mentioned in the OP including Sholey, Qurbani, etc. 

"Paisa vasool masala entertaining films" has a meaning. An Anand for e.g. is not one ... I would say you re-read the OP 

PS if a film leans excessively towards comedy theme, it may not necessarily be a "masala" film (a Chupke Chupke can be considered as an example) 

1 minute ago, zen said:

Quality is a differentiating factor and displayed by films mentioned in the OP including Sholey, Qurbani, etc. 

"Paisa vasool masala entertaining films" has a meaning. An Anand is not one ... I would say you re-read the OP 

Some of those don't fit into your original definition. It is laughable to consider Vidhaata and Dharmatma, Aprabh better quality films over Satte Pe Satta, Trishul or even Govinda type masala movies.  Everything is masala. 

1 hour ago, coffee_rules said:

Some of those don't fit into your original definition. It is laughable to consider Vidhaata and Dharmatma, Aprabh better quality films over Satte Pe Satta, Trishul or even Govinda type masala movies.  Everything is masala. 

No list is meant to or will satisfy everyone, so on that note, I am happy that you have issues with only 3 films ... Also note that I have been harsh on films like Karma for overusing "har karam apna karenge" song (mentioned in the notes above the list as an example of how I have picked the films, which have to be nearly spot on)  ... If you look at my notes, the films selected also do not have the boring main characters as kids growing up part except in Awara, Johny Mera Naam and Agneepath, which are passable 

Since you are a movie buff like me (I study films too), I hope that you see the positive reasons as to why the 3 films were picked: 

• Apradh: It is picked for its simplicity and focused story though the film can appear like two films with the first part focused on events in Europe and the second part on events in India. During my covid isolation, I relied on Bollywood masala films because it was difficult for me to focus on more serious or new films. When I watched Apradh, it surprised me as a nicely put focused package that is not seen in too many films. It appeared ahead of its time and still holds up well. 
  • Dharmatma: It received big marks for its background score, which is arguably the best in Bollywood (if you spend time to create such score when many Bollywood films recycle background scores, hats off to the filmmaker). Also it nicely adapts the Godfather story to Bollywood masala genre. The segments in Afghanistan are refreshing (they even show a temple in the land of Bayman Buddha). Again the story is in two parts, with the first focused on the Dharmatma and the second on Ranbir's quest for revenge for Reshma and Dharmatma. The villains are unique (not the shouting types but calculating one). When one set of villains are out of picture, another takes over (Kundan). 
  • Vidhaata: I know you have aversion to Ghai films. This one is a wonderful story of a man who wants to be a Vidhaata to his grandson, only to realize that there is only one true Vidhaata. Along with that story, it nicely captures mafia elements, the take on bonding w/ the caretaker, friendship, and so on. The action sequences have a western spirit with a respectable background score. Once Shamsher/Shobhraj and Jagawar meet on the plane, the film goes to the next level. A top masala entertainer from every angle. 

Btw, talking about Apradh, the song "aa naujawan", along w/ the intro theme of "yeh mera dil" from don, was used by the black eyed peas for "don't phunk with my heart":

On 6/18/2021 at 1:59 AM, Ankit_sharma03 said:

Hum aapke hai kon- i liked it way way more then overrated DDLJ n KKHH

Nadiya k paar was even better than hum appke hai kon which itself was remake of hum aapke hai kaun.