zen Posted June 16, 2021 Posted June 16, 2021 (edited) A thread on the top 10 Bollywood paisa vasool masala entertainers of all-time. To create this list, I considered the following: 50s-60s: This era focused mainly on family, serious (rona dhona) and romantic films so the choices were limited from the top of the mind recall ... I have not seen many films from this period recently apart from romance and rona dhona ones like Arzoo, which of course still holds up well, and Waqt, where Raj Kumar's part shines. From the top of the mind recall, there is Ram aur Shyam as well Background score: This was an important factor (if not the most) for films that released post Sholay. For e.g. Amar, Akbar & Anthony is a good film but misses out because its background score is dated (dhan dhan dhan). Songs are pretty good though ... An ordinary background can immediately make a film dated Notable omission(s): Deewar as usually only the AB parts are more watchable now. The kids growing up segment is yawn (I just skip it). AB has recreated elements of the Deewar's role in many other films ... Karma, I like this film and can also make it to the list, but narrowly left it out due to the overuse of "har karam apna karenge" song/theme Avoided films post 1990 as I liked those when they were released but hardly find myself revisiting them now (don't recall if I rewatched any recently) Films were chosen based on relatively recent viewings. For e.g. there are films like Ganga Jamuna, which can probably make the list, but I would need to rewatch to see how they hold up now (not trying to make a list based on films watched a long time ago) Below is the list in the order of release: Awara: Once Raj Kapoor enters the frame, the film is unbelievably good. When you consider that it was shot in early 50s, more kudos to it ... Has inspired tons of Bollywood films Shree 420: A follow up to Awara. Many find it difficult to separate these two films so included here as well Johny Mera Naam: An all out entertainer with a memorable background score ... Some segments of the film are inspired by the 007 book Diamonds Are Forever (the 007 film with the same name too is only loosely based on the book and it was released after JMN) Apradh: A surprise inclusion and closest to what I was seeking as I had difficulty in arriving at the 10th film ... Got marks over some of the the other films for being a nicely put package including extensive shooting in Europe and race sequences, the first for the industry ... It is a simple film with a focused story so holds up well ... Feroz Khan does well in his debut as a director Dharmatma: Ånøther Feroz Khan film ... Probably has the best background score among Bollywood films ... Shot in Afghanistan, another first in Bollywood Sholay: No explanation required Don: A timeless film with memorable dialogues ... Also has a great background score Qurbani: Again no explanation needed ... A timeless classic ... Many consider it as Feroz Khan's best Vidhaata: It is a raw film with a bit of a "Western films" spirit but holds up well for the action and drama it creates esp. b/w Dilip Kumar & Amrish Puri (After they meet, the film goes to next level)... Has a good collection of actors too Agneepath: More of a gangster film in the mode of Scarface than a masala film but it sports certain masala elements too ... Probably it is closest to a Hollywood film among those in this list Which one is your favorite from the above? I guess, for many it would be Sholay Edited June 17, 2021 by zen
zen Posted June 17, 2021 Author Posted June 17, 2021 (edited) 46 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: You forget the best of all Amar Akbar Anthony If you “read” the OP, you will get the answer! PS see point 2 Edited June 17, 2021 by zen
coffee_rules Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 17 minutes ago, zen said: If you “read” the OP, you will get the answer! PS see point 2 Why is that a criteria? Paisa vasool is wholesome entertainment, I still enjoy the movie, nothing comes close to it as a masala potboiler, background score to goli maro!, until Coolie, all MMD movies were good entertainers nevada 1
zen Posted June 17, 2021 Author Posted June 17, 2021 (edited) 17 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Why is that a criteria? Paisa vasool is wholesome entertainment, I still enjoy the movie, nothing comes close to it as a masala potboiler, background score to goli maro!, until Coolie, all MMD movies were good entertainers It is a good film but to be in the 10, you need to check most boxes including background score. Many ppl watch films multiple times if they have a good score. There is no excuse for a late 70s film to use such a dated score PS Coolie is a good time pass film too Edited June 17, 2021 by zen
zen Posted June 17, 2021 Author Posted June 17, 2021 1 hour ago, Khota said: Yes! It will always be Sholay. Is it your all-time favorite Bollywood film?
Khota Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 7 hours ago, zen said: Is it your all-time favorite Bollywood film? Absolutely. Nothing comes closer. Dharmendra, Amitabh, Sanjeev and Khan what a cast.
LordPrabhzy Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 9 hours ago, coffee_rules said: You forget the best of all Amar Akbar Anthony Bollywood secularism started then itself but we didnt notice... Two kids adopted by a Muslim imam and Christian priest- both shown as good hearted religious people ( attributed to their religion which is overly shown in Akbar's and Anthony's character) Third kid adopted by a 'Hindu' police man but no mention of his religion at all and has not part in his character development raki05 and coffee_rules 2
bharathh Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 Paisa vasool I term as things that I can keep watching any number of times... Personally - I feel that Tamil movies esp the masala ones have better repeat value than Hindi. Hindi masala is boring 1. 3 Idiots 2. Andaz apna apna 3. Jab we met 4. Dil Chahta hai 5. Queen 6. Chak De India coffee_rules 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 13 hours ago, zen said: Which one is your favorite from the above? I guess, for many it would be Sholay yup sholay
Ankit_sharma03 Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 Half ticket (kishore kumar)- had that film released today it wud have been the biggest money spinner coffee_rules and nevada 2
Ankit_sharma03 Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 6 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Baahubali not a bollywood film or else eega cud have also been in that list as well
coffee_rules Posted June 17, 2021 Posted June 17, 2021 (edited) On 6/16/2021 at 10:40 PM, zen said: It is a good film but to be in the 10, you need to check most boxes including background score. Many ppl watch films multiple times if they have a good score. There is no excuse for a late 70s film to use such a dated score Maybe that is your criteria, but in India, the paisa vasool types go for story, script, acting, star cast, comedy interludes, soundtrack as wholesome masala entertainment and for repeat value. They don’t care much for background score. But whatever rocks your boat. In that criteria, the following gets mention, Tridev Yudh ( was a stylish entertainer) Mohra Trishul Rocky Chor Machaye Shor (old one) Chalti Ka Naam Gaadi Edited June 19, 2021 by coffee_rules Gambit and raki05 2
zen Posted June 17, 2021 Author Posted June 17, 2021 Btw, an old thread of mine on Bollywood’s impactful (not necessarily masala) films: