Calm Down. Pakistan Just Had A Good Day and Nothing More.

Khota

20 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

it is an overreaction, count the threads and ppl asking for number of heads...adhi se zyaada team bahar krne ke idea ban rhe hai. Wait wasnt everyone happy with the team...ab kya hua ?? 1 match men apni judgment pe confidence chala gaya

Its about caring or not caring.............its a game n someone will loose and shorter the format the better a weaker team has a chance.

Didnt we loose 2007 Wc with a good bunch of players .............sometimes u will loose

Didn't we all expected we will not win this WC due to kohli not being good in Wc as captain

No, not everyone was happy with the entire squad. Moreover, changes were wanted after the 2nd tranche of the IPL too. And the playing 11 selection did not make everyone happy either.

BUT

that's not the main issue.

The main issue is winning crunch games, whatever the personnel.

If we don't win ICC tournaments and India-Pakistan matches, most people will stop watching cricket and do something else with their lives.

1 minute ago, express bowling said:

No, not everyone was happy with the entire squad. Moreover, changes were wanted after the 2nd tranche of the IPL too. And the playing 11 selection did not make everyone happy either.

1-2 everyone will always be unhappy and that u can find with every squad

Even eng missed out on parkinson and nz on milne 

BUT

that's not the main issue.

The main issue is winning crunch games, whatever the personnel.

If we don't win ICC tournaments and India-Pakistan matches, most people will stop watching cricket and do something else with their lives.

Wnt be same whole life............u win some u loose some

We have had a long streak against pakistan and it had to end one day. About crunch ICC games ......u need captain (in before anyone jumps but u need team also, we had dhoni for 7 yrs n all..........well one reason alone wnt be enough)

5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

1-2 everyone will always be unhappy and that u can find with every squad

Even eng missed out on parkinson and nz on milne 

Not just a matter of 1 or 2 ... important aspects were kept weak, like no batting all-rounder, no bowling all-rounder at 8 in the playing 11,  too many consolidators in the top 3 and weak frontline pacers apart from Bumrah.

Wnt be same whole life............u win some u loose some

We have had a long streak against pakistan and it had to end one day. About crunch ICC games ......u need captain (in before anyone jumps but u need team also, we had dhoni for 7 yrs n all..........well one reason alone wnt be enough)

The casual fan is not interested in all these intricacies.

We haven't won a World Cup or a World T20 in the last 10 years ... and we have lost 2 of the last 4 matches we have played against Pakistan, although we are supposed to be much stronger nowadays.

Friends I have all over India are losing interest in cricket. Many of them sat down to watch yesterday and got a tight slap on the face. 

They will not listen to your reasons. .. they will do something else. 

It would have been different if we had won yesterday.

5 minutes ago, express bowling said:

Not just a matter of 1 or 2 ... important aspects were kept weak, like no batting all-rounder, no bowling all-rounder at 8 in the playing 11,  too many consolidators in the top 3 and weak frontline pacers apart from Bumrah.

only place we lacked was pacers

batting all rounder - who?? hain kon ?

We selected kishen 

3 minutes ago, express bowling said:

We should have added Venkatesh Iyer after the 2nd tranche of the IPL.

And why was Shardul benched !

ur calling 3 guys at top 3 consolidator who have s/r AROUND 140 AND kl rahul 140+

iyer had 128 in IPL

He hasnt been tested at the role which he ll play for team which wud be lower middle order . Iyer needs to be seen for a longer time 

Yup shardul was a poor call 

ur calling 3 guys at top 3 consolidator who have s/r AROUND 140 AND kl rahul 140+

No, I am calling Kohli and Rohit of 2021 as consolidators.

Rahul is good.

Only one among Rohit and Kohli of 2021 should play.  Past SRs are not that material. 

iyer had 128 in IPL

He hasnt been tested at the role which he ll play for team which wud be lower middle order . Iyer needs to be seen for a longer time 

Yup shardul was a poor call 

Lack of a 6th bowler is an even bigger punt than trying a rookie in great form.

Only one among Rohit and Kohli of 2021 should play.  Past SRs are not that material. 

the last series they played for india

kohli 147

rohiit 144

This is Rohit from 2017

year 2017 9 9 0 283 118 31.44 165 171.51 1 1 0 30 16
year 2018 19 18 2 590 111* 36.87 400 147.50 2 3 3 51 31
year 2019 14 14 0 396 85 28.28 286 138.46 0 4 0 33 22
year 2020 4 4 1 140 65 46.66 93 150.53 0 2 0 11 7
year 2021 4 4 0 91 64 22.75 64 142.18

its been good in terms of s/r 

Kohli 

year 2016 15 13 7 641 90* 106.83 457 140.26 0 7 0 70 9
year 2017 10 10 2 299 82 37.37 196 152.55 0 2 1 32 8
year 2018 10 9 2 211 61* 30.14 173 121.96 0 1 1 10 8
year 2019 10 10 4 466 94* 77.66 315 147.93 0 5 0 29 23
year 2020 10 9 1 295 85 36.87 208 141.82 0 1 0 18 10
year 2021 6 6 3 288 80* 96.00 206 139.80 0 4 1 25 10

Although i say rohit has been a massive underachiever in t20 but kohli has been bloody good 

If u wanna find replacement well it needs to be well thought out ones, too many random names specially gaikwad n iyer if basis is intent coz their s/r were 132 and 128 

the last series they played for india

kohli 147

rohiit 144

This is Rohit from 2017

year 2017 9 9 0 283 118 31.44 165 171.51 1 1 0 30 16
year 2018 19 18 2 590 111* 36.87 400 147.50 2 3 3 51 31
year 2019 14 14 0 396 85 28.28 286 138.46 0 4 0 33 22
year 2020 4 4 1 140 65 46.66 93 150.53 0 2 0 11 7
year 2021 4 4 0 91 64 22.75 64 142.18

its been good in terms of s/r 

Kohli 

year 2016 15 13 7 641 90* 106.83 457 140.26 0 7 0 70 9
year 2017 10 10 2 299 82 37.37 196 152.55 0 2 1 32 8
year 2018 10 9 2 211 61* 30.14 173 121.96 0 1 1 10 8
year 2019 10 10 4 466 94* 77.66 315 147.93 0 5 0 29 23
year 2020 10 9 1 295 85 36.87 208 141.82 0 1 0 18 10
year 2021 6 6 3 288 80* 96.00 206 139.80 0 4 1 25 10

Although i say rohit has been a massive underachiever in t20 but kohli has been bloody good 

If u wanna find replacement well it needs to be well thought out ones, too many random names specially gaikwad n iyer if basis is intent coz their s/r were 132 and 128 

Notching up good numbers in low key games mean very little.

Everyone can see that Kohli is not the strokeplayer that he once was, when the quality of bowling is good or the situation gets tough.

I will keep Rohit as the captain and sheet anchor though.

I hope Kohli proves me wrong in the crunch games of this tournament. Would be happy if that happens.

Notching up good numbers in low key games mean very little.

and IPL numbers matters ?? coz that what ppl are basing their assessment on with their s/r 

Calling them anchor is wrong ...they anchor a phase. We all saw kohli s/r from 16-20 over its among top 3-4 in world.  

U can call bavuma, smith kind of player anchors but rohit n kohli anchor only in phases ..........they can blast off if needed 

I hope Kohli proves me wrong in the crunch games of this tournament. Would be happy if that happens.

he has been so good in last t20 Wc, even if he has one bad one whats wrong.............sachin didnt have all good Wcs either

If anything its rohit who has to show performances in Wc

Acc to me its a good batting unit which thats needs 2 things patience and role clarity. (my only issue is rohit not finding his method, but its his captaincy thats stopping me )

19 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said:

and IPL numbers matters ?? coz that what ppl are basing their assessment on with their s/r 

Calling them anchor is wrong ...they anchor a phase. We all saw kohli s/r from 16-20 over its among top 3-4 in world.  

U can call bavuma, smith kind of player anchors but rohit n kohli anchor only in phases ..........they can blast off if needed 

he has been so good in last t20 Wc, even if he has one bad one whats wrong.............sachin didnt have all good Wcs either

If anything its rohit who has to show performances in Wc

Acc to me its a good batting unit which thats needs 2 things patience and role clarity. (my only issue is rohit not finding his method, but its his captaincy thats stopping me )

While selecting someone, I look at how he is playing currently. That is current form and ability as per my assessment.

Neither IPL league stage numbers nor low key bilateral numbers carry much meaning for me.

You don't have to agree with me. 

Edited by express bowling
9 hours ago, rkt.india said:

Playing Pandya wasn't the reason we lost. We lost because we were 3/2 in less than 3 overs and scored 39/3 in first 7 overs. We were 60 in 10 overs. Pandya barely got to play 8-10 balls.

It was not the main reason but if he scored 30 runs the game could have swung.

4 hours ago, ravishingravi said:

Indeed. Pakistan were on the ball from the start. They deserved to win totally. It was as clinical as it gets, given that they had no match practice. 

What I find amazing is that anyone with little sense could have predicted whats coming in the first few overs ? Everyone could have said that Shaheen will bowl a full inswinger.  And both Rahul and Rohit fell for it. 

That is a lack of startegy on coaching. The village idiot should have instructed them to do better but daaru is more important.

2 hours ago, Mariyam said:

NZ, Afghanistan and the Scots could have a good day against us too. Nothing more.

:((

Negativity does not help in sports.

I have seen enough sports that when you step on the field you only think that you would win.

32 minutes ago, express bowling said:

While selecting someone, I look at how he is playing currently. That is current form and ability as per my assessment.

Neither IPL league stage numbers nor low key bilateral numbers carry much meaning for me.

You don't have to agree with me. 

IPL numbers are very important. They are the most standardized numbers.

India might well come back and win it all, we never know. The disappointing thing has been the team selection and tactics.

Bhuvi has no business to play for India. Period. His good days are behind him and even no namers are going after him in IPL. Thakur could be a real game changer if he plays consistently. He is the X-FACTOR for us whether anyone agrees or not.

Kishan is in red hot form. You have 20 overs and you need to maximize them. For all the heroics that Pant displayed in test arena, he's not been a great T20 player in the last 2-3 years.  We need guys with full of confidence and gusto to come in and take on the opposition. At least Kishan could have replaced useless Pandya.

Wrong lines and lengths - the bowling was completely off. When defending a small total like 150, you need early wickets. I can understand holding off Bumrah for the end but we needed to attack them with 4 overs of Bumrah and Shami. I feel we let them off with some easy overs of Bhuvi where we could have attacked and extracted at least 1-2 wickets and set cat among pigeons.

Overall, a very average outing with half the players looking disinterested and playing just because they have experience. We need to be proactive against New Zealand (which we will be not) to stay alive in this competition.