Lone Wolf Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 45 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: jadeja innings was a huge factor in loss Agreed. . entire lower order showed their inability to hit high pace. Someone like Shardul would have done better job as he isn't hurried by Pace at all. Lord 1
sandeep Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 6 hours ago, Adamant said: He will cite his t20I strike rate too, that's the advantage of being a GOAT t20i player, anyone criticising Kohli's batting in t20is has no clue of what he has been consistently doing for the team. He played way better than everyone else in the team, 100 ke andar nipat jaate. In t20is you can't say that he has been selfish,looks like you haven't watched enough t20is. In odis yes, he needs to take a more carefree approach now but that's only bcoz middle order is way stronger now, if any poster wanted him to do this four years ago than he was definitely wrong about that. Virat has been brilliant in t20is, no doubt about it. I am not criticizing Virat's individual brilliance, am aware of it. My point is slightly different, and you seem to have missed it. I am criticizing his leadership and tactical choices for Team India's batting unit, and what it has delivered in T20i games, as a unit. Look at his body of work. Indian team has absolutely world class batting talent to pick from, much higher quality and effective players at its disposal, but as a white ball batting team, as a team batting unit, we are not the best run producing batting unit. Why? Because the team doesn't even try to do that. They adopt a more conservative strategy. And that is a choice Virat as captain has made. For years. Even when its abundantly clear that if you score 337 in a 2017 Champions trophy game, even Sri Lankan batting will beat you with ease. I don't have time to get into specifics right now, and I can provide a better articulated explanation later in a continued discussion, but are you getting where I'm coming from?
Adamant Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 6 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: jadeja innings was a huge factor in loss Pandya ka ek shot bhi middle par nahi aaya tha, that Pandya who used to tonk spinners for fun is long gone.
Adamant Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 6 hours ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Jadeja ahead of panyda- blunder . We let imad n shadab go easily, hardik has mauled them shami is not a t20 bowler and bhuvi is nowhere close to his best, shardul is inform and conditions suit him- massive blunder. Tumhare galat sochne se galat sahi to nhin ho jata, bhuvi isnt even half as effective as he was. Shardul isnt competing with past bhuvi he is competing with current one who frankly shudnt havent been in 15 Jadeja ahead of current Pandya makes no difference, zilch. I agree that Shami isn't a good t20i bowler but just like Thakur he was in great form in IPL and that's why he was rewarded with selection, Shardul Thakur himself has a very mediocre bowling record in t20is. According to me the selectors hav not selected proper pacers for this t20 WC, Siraj, Harshal should have been there.
Adamant Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 3 hours ago, sandeep said: I am not criticizing Virat's individual brilliance, am aware of it. My point is slightly different, and you seem to have missed it. I am criticizing his leadership and tactical choices for Team India's batting unit, and what it has delivered in T20i games, as a unit. Look at his body of work. Indian team has absolutely world class batting talent to pick from, much higher quality and effective players at its disposal, but as a white ball batting team, as a team batting unit, we are not the best run producing batting unit. Why? Because the team doesn't even try to do that. They adopt a more conservative strategy. And that is a choice Virat as captain has made. For years. Even when its abundantly clear that if you score 337 in a 2017 Champions trophy game, even Sri Lankan batting will beat you with ease. I don't have time to get into specifics right now, and I can provide a better articulated explanation later in a continued discussion, but are you getting where I'm coming from? Okay, I agree with him being a mediocre captain. At the time of Ct 2017 we had no proper batsman apart from top three so I am not sure that playing attacking cricket would have helped. I think we overrate our youngsters a bit too much
sandeep Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 Just now, Adamant said: Okay, I agree with him being a mediocre captain. At the time of Ct 2017 we had no proper batsman apart from top three so I am not sure that playing attacking cricket would have helped. I think we overrate our youngsters a bit too much I think its got nothing to do with 'rating' youngsters. Its about misuse and misallocation of available resources. Smart captains make more than a dollar out of 50 or 60 cents. Kuptaan Wrong is making 70 cents out of 2 dollars. Lord and Ankit_sharma03 2
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 5 hours ago, Adamant said: Jadeja ahead of current Pandya makes no difference, zilch. Hardik has destroyed them in past. He can always destroy spin. He picks imad like no one coz imad n krunal are same bowlers. Anyone can get out but u gotta take ur best chance, he was ur best chance against them. Thats called matchups. Quote I agree that Shami isn't a good t20i bowler but just like Thakur he was in great form in IPL and that's why he was rewarded with selection, Shardul Thakur himself has a very mediocre bowling record in t20is. Shardul is very good in certain conditions- longer ground , two pace wkts, wkts with extra pace or even slow which uae has which is why he did well both times. He ll also do well in aus next time. U jst cant see blank record, record need to be properly anaylyzed Quote According to me the selectors hav not selected proper pacers for this t20 WC, Siraj, Harshal should have been there. Harshal non selection was fine ..he adds nothing to this attack. Siraj was a miss but then again he is captained by kohli in RCB so kohli shud have fought. If after so many yes kohli doesn't know that shami is not a t20 bowler well he lacks judgement. He again is doing samw blunder pref experience and ignoring format, form , fitness. In odi he did same blunder
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 5 hours ago, Adamant said: I think we overrate our youngsters a bit too much Coz this debate is wrong only young vs old . It shud be right player at right situation, condition, role , position. Every player has a use, for eg if we tour bangladesh and they give us same rank turners then 1st guy on my list wud be rayudu whom i have never rated. Right player in right place. This young vs old is overrated
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 28, 2021 Posted October 28, 2021 5 hours ago, Adamant said: Pandya ka ek shot bhi middle par nahi aaya tha, that Pandya who used to tonk spinners for fun is long gone. Against hard length , spin uski strength hai hard length uski weakness. Every batsman will struggle against his weakness but that doesnt mean it will be same against his strength.