express bowling Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 6 minutes ago, maniac said: Future T20 XI Venkatesh Iyer Prithvi Shaw (a fit version and hope he can still bowl leg spin) Kishen Pandya/ Abhishek Sharma (fully fit and bowling) Rahul Pant Thakur D.Chahar/ Axar (depending on conditions) Bishnoi Tyagi Bumrah Umran Malik 12th man: Shreys Iyer as back up for Rahul I really like this team except that I will send Pandya at 6 and Rahul at 4, Pant at 5. And choose Samad in place of Abhishek. Umran, Bishnoi, Tyagi and Venkatesh are the above average ones who haven't debuted yet. And Shardul definitely should be groomed for No.7. Give him more chances to bat up the order and utilize Axar at 8. maniac 1
Lord Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 7 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Of course right seamers among youngsters. Guys like Ishant/Bhuvi/Shami are not long term prospects. Even Umesh has a shelf life in the limited overs. Bhuvi soon to be 32 is definitely not going to play the next world cup. We should get the next gen bowlers ready. Don't bet on it express bowling 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 6 minutes ago, express bowling said: While that has generally been true, especially 15 months back, Shami has been a prolific wicket taker in both IPL 2020 and IPL 2021. He may be expensive at times but he almost always picks wickets in every format. Problem is that Kohli probably tells his pacers to bowl defensive lines and length with the new white ball. Shami, sans his attacking lines and lengths, is nothing. He is not a good defensive bowler. If Maradona played as a goalkeeper, would be have succeeded !! Have you noticed how Siraj, despite bowling wonderfully in IPL 2021, have got very few wickets with the new ball when bowling under Kohli. This is because he has bowled his stock balls shorter than he normally does in tests. This defensive line and length plan can spell disaster for every attacking pacer. Reason shami struggles he is very predictable with his lengths His hard length isnt strong at death Yorkers arent as consistent as others also lacks variation Now he did well last yr coz UAE had a lot of help same this yr but he also was carted in sharjah by tewatia coz his basic issue at end remained same. Now dew is here so the movement wnt be there for 2nd or last phase which has been a problem. shami lacks skill set for this format , he has been saved by movement in UAE legs which wont save him everywhere
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 3 minutes ago, Lord said: at death,first spell was good. this cant be an excuse, when u play as main bowler u cant have a weak area unless ur in england where they have so many options to save someone like Woakes U NEED TO BE GOOD IN ALL PHASES 3 minutes ago, Lord said: Eco wouldnt win games when you need early wickets defending a low score.Specially when dew sets later and batsmen are set. Anyway as I said it wasnt as terrible call as Bhuvi who looked lacklustre all IPL. Atleast it is arguable and there's some basis Bhuvi lacks fitness not skill set in t20
maniac Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 Just now, express bowling said: I really like this team except that I will send Pandya at 6 and Rahul at 4, Pant at 5. And choose Samad in place of Abhishek. Umran, Bishnoi, Tyagi and Venkatesh are the above average ones who haven't debuted yet. And Shardul definitely should be groomed for No.7. Give him more chances to bat up the order and utilize Axar at 8. Not sold on Samad yet but yes should be kept in the scheme of things. Here is the problem with Pandya at 6-7, even the best hitters in the world need 1-2 balls to settle down. This is why Pandya looks so out of touch coming in over no.18 and 19. However let him go big at 4 even if he takes an over to get going. If he fails and you need some consolidation send in Rahul/Iyer type proper bats who play aggressive cricket and if they come in 18 and 19 doesn’t matter they have to throw their bats around and they have enough striking skills to not do worse than Pandya. Pandya is a must if he bowls or if he bats in top 4. Playing him at 6-7 messes up the balance. Thats just my line of thinking.
Lord Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: this cant be an excuse, when u play as main bowler u cant have a weak area unless ur in england where they have so many options to save someone like Woakes U NEED TO BE GOOD IN ALL PHASES Bhuvi lacks fitness not skill set in t20 lacks pace and is not in form.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 5 minutes ago, maniac said: That’s because I have Kishen and Pandya at 3-4. Their role is not to bat long and get a quick 30(15) type knock. Rahul and Pant can also consolidate a little if required or go from ball 1. yea but still u play better players at top - kishen and pandya are not better player then rahul or pant (Abhi wo sirf grass is greener on other side wala syndrome hai) kishen bhi hoga expose 5 minutes ago, maniac said: Our problem is not opening but approach after powerplay. Rohit is the only guy who changes gear, Virat and Rahul both tend to slow down after 6 overs. My approach is totally different. That’s why I have Iyer as a backup to Rahul who is a proper bat. u cnt give proper bats 14-15 ball na..... We need all 7 batsman who has every gear and some kind of depth so they can bat fearless
express bowling Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 3 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: Reason shami struggles he is very predictable with his lengths His hard length isnt strong at death Yorkers arent as consistent as others also lacks variation Now he did well last yr coz UAE had a lot of help same this yr but he also was carted in sharjah by tewatia coz his basic issue at end remained same. Now dew is here so the movement wnt be there for 2nd or last phase which has been a problem. shami lacks skill set for this format , he has been saved by movement in UAE legs which wont save him everywhere As I have said many times earlier, Shami isn't ideal for T20s. But he is a wicket taker. If picked, he must be used as an attacking bowler and not as a defensive bowler. That's my point. Lord 1
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 Just now, Lord said: lacks pace and is not in form. thats due to fitness, im not his favour of his selection but im just talking about skill set where shami falls in t20 ...ill prefer him over bhuvi in ODI but not t20
Lord Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 1 minute ago, express bowling said: As I have said many times earlier, Shami isn't ideal for T20s. But he is a wicket taker. If picked, he must be used as an attacking bowler and not as a defensive bowler. That's my point. exactly express bowling 1
Lord Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 Pandya would be good choice at 4 as he smacks spinners but we first need a death overs hitter which he does express bowling 1
maniac Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 Just now, Lord said: Pandya would be good choice at 4 as he smacks spinners but we first need a death overs hitter which he does bhai death over hitting in T20 is not a big deal, I am sure even Iyer can throw his bat around with 2 overs to go and he can hit big as well. Just an example, not suggesting him. We need momentum in the middle. Death pe har koi ghuma dega. If you are decent bat with skills you will come up. Same 50-50 chance as Pandya or any other hitter.
Lord Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 4 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: thats due to fitness, im not his favour of his selection but im just talking about skill set where shami falls in t20 ...ill prefer him over bhuvi in ODI but not t20 in form I'll prefer Bhuvi in T20 too.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 Just now, express bowling said: As I have said many times earlier, Shami isn't ideal for T20s. But he is a wicket taker. If picked, he must be used as an attacking bowler and not as a defensive bowler. That's my point. yes he is but he leaks also like anything, in ODI a longer format u can comeback which is why his eco in ODI is alright but their is no comeback in t20 Siraj didnt pick wkts but his eco was good, in t20 dot balls are gold Bhuvi who also isnt that much of a wkt taker but at his best he didnt leak much which is why always was a better bowler then shami in t20 Even as wkt taker ill prefer chahar who on his day has ran through top orders (not that this condition suits him) ...............i wanted siraj n avesh for uae Thakur has been a wkt taker in these condition n has better skill set for middle over phases and decent in PP n death + batting All im saying even if u want to select a wkt taker their are better options then shami coz his wkt taking skill come at a price of eco which is lethal in t20. He is a poor choice to begin with
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 3 minutes ago, Lord said: Pandya would be good choice at 4 as he smacks spinners but we first need a death overs hitter which he does he needs to improve against hard length and he has someone like Virat to talk to who is damn good at hitting hard length
Lord Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 Just now, maniac said: bhai death over hitting in T20 is not a big deal, I am sure even Iyer can throw his bat around with 2 overs to go and he can hit big as well. Just an example, not suggesting him. We need momentum in the middle. Death pe har koi ghuma dega. If you are decent bat with skills you will come up. Same 50-50 chance as Pandya or any other hitter. nah lengths etc will be different so you need different hitting technique and innovation for that to say convert yorkers in full toss etc.Specially when you don't have much time to get eye in.
express bowling Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 10 minutes ago, maniac said: Not sold on Samad yet but yes should be kept in the scheme of things. Here is the problem with Pandya at 6-7, even the best hitters in the world need 1-2 balls to settle down. This is why Pandya looks so out of touch coming in over no.18 and 19. However let him go big at 4 even if he takes an over to get going. If he fails and you need some consolidation send in Rahul/Iyer type proper bats who play aggressive cricket and if they come in 18 and 19 doesn’t matter they have to throw their bats around and they have enough striking skills to not do worse than Pandya. Pandya is a must if he bowls or if he bats in top 4. Playing him at 6-7 messes up the balance. Thats just my line of thinking. Still, relatively speaking, Hardik can start hitting rather quickly when he is in form. Pant needs a bit more time to settle in and I want him to play more overs too. Samad has the ability to hit 140 k+ deliveries and should be groomed with more care.
Ankit_sharma03 Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 2 minutes ago, maniac said: bhai death over hitting in T20 is not a big deal, ohh it is, it is one the toughest toughest role in world cricket Why do u think MI backed pollard for years (ppl forget how inconsistent he was, every yr MI fans use to cry to drop him) why do u think KKR is ready to play russell on one leg 3 minutes ago, maniac said: I am sure even Iyer can throw his bat around with 2 overs to go and he can hit big as well. no u cant just throw bat and become a 6-7 number t20 player................its a very difficult skill Either u need power or range, if ur lucky like maxi, butler, rahul or abdv ull be blessed with both . Iyer has none ..............KL has both but he is too good to be wasted at 6-7
express bowling Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 5 minutes ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: yes he is but he leaks also like anything, in ODI a longer format u can comeback which is why his eco in ODI is alright but their is no comeback in t20 Siraj didnt pick wkts but his eco was good, in t20 dot balls are gold Bhuvi who also isnt that much of a wkt taker but at his best he didnt leak much which is why always was a better bowler then shami in t20 Even as wkt taker ill prefer chahar who on his day has ran through top orders (not that this condition suits him) ...............i wanted siraj n avesh for uae Thakur has been a wkt taker in these condition n has better skill set for middle over phases and decent in PP n death + batting All im saying even if u want to select a wkt taker their are better options then shami coz his wkt taking skill come at a price of eco which is lethal in t20. He is a poor choice to begin with That's ok. But now that we are stuck with this squad, we should use our resources more aptly. maniac 1
maniac Posted October 27, 2021 Posted October 27, 2021 1 minute ago, Ankit_sharma03 said: no u cant just throw bat and become a 6-7 number t20 player................its a very difficult skill Either u need power or range, if ur lucky like maxi, butler, rahul or abdv ull be blessed with both . Iyer has none ..............KL has both but he is too good to be wasted at 6-7 Iyer is not 360 but he is one of the hardest strikers of the cricket ball in world cricket. You should see his 6’s. Kind of like Ganguly, if he hits it he won’t get caught in deep most often.