vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, Lord said: that was on a patta on a joke of a ground. Axar also did well in WI. Its more about role than position. DK doesn't want to bat when he has to consolidate a bit. I don't think that was ever the case. He pretty much did that in every innings for RCB.
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 2 minutes ago, Lord said: that was on a patta on a joke of a ground. Axar also did well in WI. Its more about role than position. DK doesn't want to bat when he has to consolidate a bit. Axar did in one dayers where you have a lot of balls. Nott in T20. Lord 1
Lord Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said: I don't think that was ever the case. He pretty much did that in every innings for RCB. Even there Shahbaz used to bat ahead of him at 6
Lord Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said: Axar did in one dayers where you have a lot of balls. Nott in T20. He can bash SLA and leggies without taking time. Anyway even if he failed it was a free wicket. Only scenario is if he got stuck. Thats unlikely
maniac Posted October 25, 2022 Author Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, Lord said: that was on a patta on a joke of a ground. Axar also did well in WI. Its more about role than position. DK doesn't want to bat when he has to consolidate a bit. Bhai my problem was not with a pinch hitter or left-right combo. Common sense bhi koi cheez hoti hai. Unless TM saw something in Axar, how many of us think he can clear the ground at will at the MCG with the range he has. His go to shot is swipe to midwicket and those are some of the longest boundaries in the world. He would have perished the same way like the Pakistani middle order. in crisis situation your best bet is to back a specialist bat. Either Pandya or DK should have come in. Even a couple of small partnerships means Axars utility would increase in the end where one fluke 6 or 4 would have helped in a close game like Ashwin’s batting ability helped in the end. That doesn’t mean Ashwin should bat higher than where he was in the game because he has good batting acumen.
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, Lord said: Even there Shahbaz used to bat ahead of him at 6 Shabaz has a list A average of 47 FC average of 42. He was always a genuine all rounder.
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, maniac said: Bhai my problem was not with a pinch hitter or left-right combo. Common sense bhi koi cheez hoti hai. Unless TM saw something in Axar, how many of us think he can clear the ground at will at the MCG with the range he has. His go to shot is swipe to midwicket and those are some of the longest boundaries in the world. He would have perished the same way like the Pakistani middle order. in crisis situation your best bet is to back a specialist bat. Either Pandya or DK should have come in. Even a couple of small partnerships means Axars utility would increase in the end where one fluke 6 or 4 would have helped in a close game like Ashwin’s batting ability helped in the end. That doesn’t mean Ashwin should bat higher than where he was in the game because he has good batting acumen. I cannot believe how so many are seriously over-rating this guy's batting potential overlooking his extreme limitations and range. Imagine him facing hard length balls. Not like he set the world on fire against Maharaja. Do we have sufficient evidence he can own left armers and leggies at will? I would gladly take Nitish Rana over him. maniac 1
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 (edited) I am, not even a fan of promoting jaddu who is 10x better than Axar. He owned Hazlewood in Australia. Edited October 25, 2022 by vvvslaxman
Lord Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, maniac said: Bhai my problem was not with a pinch hitter or left-right combo. Common sense bhi koi cheez hoti hai. Unless TM saw something in Axar, how many of us think he can clear the ground at will at the MCG with the range he has. His go to shot is swipe to midwicket and those are some of the longest boundaries in the world. He would have perished the same way like the Pakistani middle order. in crisis situation your best bet is to back a specialist bat. Either Pandya or DK should have come in. Even a couple of small partnerships means Axars utility would increase in the end where one fluke 6 or 4 would have helped in a close game like Ashwin’s batting ability helped in the end. That doesn’t mean Ashwin should bat higher than where he was in the game because he has good batting acumen. With both spinners turning the ball in to lefties, it wasnt bad to send the only lefty we have. Shadab ended up bowling a frugal spell. Maybe Axar could have tonked him a bit. Even if he got out, its bit of a free wicket I agree DK should take more responsibility. Maybe we can try Pant but DK has done better in the leadup to the WC
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 I think he conned everyone of us with that Windies bashing. Even i kinda fell for it. But over the next few matches he exposed his limitations. No real sense of timing. No range. It is a case of creating artificial batting depth nothing more. That Nawaz guy is very powreful. If we have someone like him i won't mind sending him up. Lord 1
maniac Posted October 25, 2022 Author Posted October 25, 2022 2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I cannot believe how so many are seriously over-rating this guy's batting potential overlooking his extreme limitations and range. Imagine him facing hard length balls. Not like he set the world on fire against Maharaja. Do we have sufficient evidence he can own left armers and leggies at will? I would gladly take Nitish Rana over him. Exactly. I don’t get it. We are criticizing Dravid etc for blindly looking at numbers and match ups but then defending their decision with things like pinch hitter and left-right combo etc. where is common sense? unless Axar is going to hit a 60(35) in some upcoming innings to embarrass me like Wade etc this is plain foolish. Not Axar’s fault though.
Lord Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 6 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: Shabaz has a list A average of 47 FC average of 42. He was always a genuine all rounder. How are these relevant to T20? T20 numbers are very similar
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 (edited) 4 minutes ago, Lord said: With both spinners turning the ball in to lefties, it wasnt bad to send the only lefty we have. Shadab ended up bowling a frugal spell. Maybe Axar could have tonked him a bit. Even if he got out, its bit of a free wicket I agree DK should take more responsibility. Maybe we can try Pant but DK has done better in the leadup to the WC Shadab bowls better googly than leg spin, Same way Nawaz pretty much darted everything on to right handers pads which would mean ball going away from left hander. This match up works only when the batsman is skillfull and all round player. Also don't forget they had IFthikar the off spinner. Edited October 25, 2022 by vvvslaxman
Lord Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 5 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I cannot believe how so many are seriously over-rating this guy's batting potential overlooking his extreme limitations and range. Imagine him facing hard length balls. Not like he set the world on fire against Maharaja. Do we have sufficient evidence he can own left armers and leggies at will? I would gladly take Nitish Rana over him. He's a backup after all, only there because Jaddu got injured. No one is saying he has great power or range, but batting all RHBs especially v SLA and leggie can be risky. His bowling was more worrying to me but I expect that to improve
maniac Posted October 25, 2022 Author Posted October 25, 2022 2 minutes ago, Lord said: With both spinners turning the ball in to lefties, it wasnt bad to send the only lefty we have. Shadab ended up bowling a frugal spell. Maybe Axar could have tonked him a bit. Even if he got out, its bit of a free wicket I agree DK should take more responsibility. Maybe we can try Pant but DK has done better in the leadup to the WC You think they would feed spinners to Axar? now please don’t steal my idea to say it was Chanakya planning to make Pakistanis waste some fast bowling overs for Pandya and DK later on If Deepak Chahar or Thakur were promoted it would make more sense as Thakur has played cameos in Australia before and Chahar played an outstanding knock in SA. Axar is very raw and unproven in these conditons.
Lord Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 1 minute ago, maniac said: You think they would feed spinners to Axar? now please don’t steal my idea to say it was Chanakya planning to make Pakistanis waste some fast bowling overs for Pandya and DK later on If Deepak Chahar or Thakur were promoted it would make more sense as Thakur has played cameos in Australia before and Chahar played an outstanding knock in SA. Axar is very raw and unproven in these conditons. lets say they don't and Axar gets out after an over or so. That means they'd have to bowl spinners later on. No 4th pacer.Bowling spin in death is always huge risk as we saw. Him being left hander was big reason he was promoted. Ideally Sundar could have been there
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 3 minutes ago, Lord said: He's a backup after all, only there because Jaddu got injured. No one is saying he has great power or range, but batting all RHBs especially v SLA and leggie can be risky. His bowling was more worrying to me but I expect that to improve Even Jaddu could not get going against Nawaz in Dubai eventually got cleaned up by him. We assume all left arm spinners always turn into left hander. They don't have to. They can just slide it on. Axar patel's record against spinners in T20. I couldn't differentiate between left arm and right arm. We hardly have any offies anyway.
vvvslaxman Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 6 minutes ago, Lord said: lets say they don't and Axar gets out after an over or so. That means they'd have to bowl spinners later on. No 4th pacer.Bowling spin in death is always huge risk as we saw. Him being left hander was big reason he was promoted. Ideally Sundar could have been there I think that is a dangerous strategy. They could always have used Iftikar and be done with it. Babar was scared more of Pandya after those 3 sixes. Not necessarily he will be scared of Axar.
maniac Posted October 25, 2022 Author Posted October 25, 2022 17 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said: I cannot believe how so many are seriously over-rating this guy's batting potential overlooking his extreme limitations and range. Imagine him facing hard length balls. Not like he set the world on fire against Maharaja. Do we have sufficient evidence he can own left armers and leggies at will? I would gladly take Nitish Rana over him. having said that watch for Tripathi in the future. Have a feeling he will or is having a SKY type revival in T20. @Ankit_sharma03 can expand on it.
adi B Posted October 25, 2022 Posted October 25, 2022 Will never understand how we are still sticking with DK after being an eternal Underachiever and Done nothing of note in his entire career over a potential ATG sitting in the dug out . Absolutely crazy!! Wait till he does a blunder with the gloves as well,his keeping has gone to dogs Lord and maniac 1 1