The Ashes 2023

zen

Ashes and Diamonds  

26 members have voted

1. 1. Who will triumph?

This poll is closed to new votes

• Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.
  • Poll closed on 07/07/23 at 04:00 PM

Just now, MechEng said:

Not exactly bazball, but Shikhar Dhawan in his debut test and Dhoni plundered that Aussie attack in Chennai. Australia mein kuch nahin ukhaad paye dono

That was one player and he was tonking spinners.Dhoni too tonking spinners. This score is against 3 legitmate great fast bowlers plus Green who is not bad. You score 600 runs in 100 plus overs. No team has done it.

Just now, wazza said:

Oh depends on who india pick ofocurse. 

I was going with bumrah prasidh siraj harshit or hangerakr

That would be a deadly attacj^ 

But if we are sticking with dravball selections as you mentioned then no.

I have no hopes from Bumrah. He is back from injury. It took a while for Bumrah to hit the strides fater his last injury. This time it might take longer. Or  he might not be that effective. Also he needs a massive support. All the other guys are inexprienced.

2 minutes ago, putrevus said:

When you are getting bombarded from word go, you tend to lose it.

They scored 600 runs in 107 overs, I have never seen this kind of batting by any team.

They scored 657 in 101 overs against Pak at Rawalpindi not too long ago. This is a much better bowling attack though.

That was one player and he was tonking spinners.Dhoni too tonking spinners. This score is against 3 legitmate great fast bowlers plus Green who is not bad. You score 600 runs in 100 plus overs. No team has done it.

We have to factor in form. We are thinking about Hazlewood from 2 years back. he is returning from injury. He is not even half as good as he was.  Cummins is playing his 5th test in 6 weeks. Starc blows hot and cold. This is not a great attack given the situation and pitch condition. They also lack a spinner. You cannot blindly go with 5 seamers anywhere in the world.

Just now, Forward Defence said:

They scored 657 in 101 overs against Pak at Rawalpindi not too long ago. This is a much better bowling attack though.

Australian attack is not some run of the mill attack. IMO they are still the best fast bowling attack in the world. To score 600 runs in 107 overs against them is just crazy.

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

We have to factor in form. We are thinking about Hazlewood from 2 years back. he is returning from injury. He is not even half as good as he was.  Cummins is playing his 5th test in 6 weeks. Starc blows hot and cold. This is not a great attack given the situation and pitch condition. They also lack a spinner. You cannot blindly go with 5 seamers anywhere in the world.

aus is blind; full of arrogance and hubris

1 minute ago, vvvslaxman said:

Still they are better than any team's attack.I would take them over any teams current fast bowling attack. If they are this bad against England's batting imagine the plight of other teams. 

2 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

Yasir Shah has a 117 in Australia lol Aussie pitches reward positive cricket. Pant thrives on playing positive cricket. Even Gill's counter attack set us up.

Pakistan still got whitewashed and Pant/Gill were not batting like England right now, also don't expect Gill to bat like that everytime. 

The way Crawley batted with so may edges flying and inside edges going for four, Australia will not be this easy harder bouncier wickets.

7 minutes ago, putrevus said:

Starc, Pattinson and Siddle are spinners? Bhai aaj jyada England-nama ho gaya hai tera.

11 minutes ago, putrevus said:

How ate they great? One great bowler. 2 average bowlers. Green is. Nobody still

Still they are better than any team's attack.I would take them over any teams current fast bowling attack. If they are this bad against England's batting imagine the plight of other teams. 

I don't think so. In terms of variety this is definitely not the best.  I say SA attack is better. Jansen. Nortje, Rabada, Maharaja

Just now, vvvslaxman said:

I don't think so. In terms of variety this is definitely not the best.  I say SA attack is better. Jansen. Nortje, Rabada, Maharaja

oliver, harmer as well

You kidding me. This aus attack is average as.

The only reason they do well is due to their good batting unit 

Give india Smith and labushgane and think about how well rested indian bowlers would be to bowl with high intensity given the assurances that come with their batting ability. Just think for once. 

If India had one batsman like Smith we wouldn't lose any final.

Just now, vvvslaxman said:

No I don't think so, Jansen will be bullied for his lack of pace. Maharaj will tonked out of the attack.

Variety is not important over quality .

13 minutes ago, vvvslaxman said:

I have no hopes from Bumrah. He is back from injury. It took a while for Bumrah to hit the strides fater his last injury. This time it might take longer. Or  he might not be that effective. Also he needs a massive support. All the other guys are inexprienced.

Who cares about him though 

We will have harshit prasidh tyagi hangerakr. Way more exiting than ever. Just unleash them. 

Just now, Vijy said:

oliver, harmer as well

Yup. Well rounded attack. Overall India is also better. England can own Australia in Australia as well.  But England can never do that in India.

Just now, putrevus said:

No I don't think so, Jansen will be bullied for his lack of pace. Maharaj will tonked out of the attack.

Variety is not important over quality .

What lack of pace. He can bowl when he wants to. He was clocking 140k easily in NZ. The bounce he generates is insane

Just now, MechEng said:

Warner needs to play this as if it's his last innings.

it is not though. Aus will not drop warner; they will allow him to retire at his leisure