singhvivek141 Posted November 5 Share Posted November 5 Greetings everyone, Although we are currently experiencing disappointment due to our Test team's recent failures against New Zealand on home soil, I kindly request that we all maintain our optimism and celebrate the upcoming festivities with utmost joy and enthusiasm. I am uncertain about the number of individuals here who celebrate Chhath, I just know about @raki05 bhai. Nevertheless, on behalf of myself, I extend my heartfelt wishes to all ICFers and our Indian Cricket team for a joyous and prosperous Mahaparv Chhath. May we receive the blessings of Chhathi Maiya and be granted the opportunity to once again emerge victorious against the Australian team on their home ground for the third consecutive time. Jai Chhathi Maiya!! Gollum, Tillu, raki05 and 2 others 5 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
raki05 Posted November 5 Share Posted November 5 Happy Chhath to everyone!! Jai Chhathi Maiya. singhvivek141, Mariyam and Gollum 3 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted November 18 Share Posted November 18 Belated wishes! It is specific to Bihar region, I presume. How do you celebrate it? I thought it was about worshiping the Sun god. On 11/5/2024 at 6:07 PM, singhvivek141 said: Greetings everyone, Although we are currently experiencing disappointment due to our Test team's recent failures against New Zealand on home soil, I kindly request that we all maintain our optimism and celebrate the upcoming festivities with utmost joy and enthusiasm. I am uncertain about the number of individuals here who celebrate Chhath, I just know about @raki05 bhai. Nevertheless, on behalf of myself, I extend my heartfelt wishes to all ICFers and our Indian Cricket team for a joyous and prosperous Mahaparv Chhath. May we receive the blessings of Chhathi Maiya and be granted the opportunity to once again emerge victorious against the Australian team on their home ground for the third consecutive time. Jai Chhathi Maiya!! singhvivek141 and raki05 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted November 18 Author Share Posted November 18 (edited) 29 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: Belated wishes! It is specific to Bihar region, I presume. How do you celebrate it? I thought it was about worshiping the Sun god. Yup, mostly Bihar and East UP (Purvanchal region). It's actually it's a 4 day festival, started this time on 5th Nov. On 5th and 6th Nov I did waterless fasting and only ate once in the evening (only poori and a sweet kher). After eating on 6th Nov evening, whole night and the next day I.e. 7th it was a waterless fasting, On 7th Nov in the evening we burn a lamp and prayto the setting sun while standing in the river. Post sunset we have to ensure that the lamp doesn't get burn out till next sunrise, hence we need to keep on pouring ghee to the lamp whole night, basically I ended up sleepless. On 8th early morning before sunrise, we again need to enter the river, and then keep on praying the sun God till it rise. The four day fast ends when the Sun is out. It's a big festival here, the atleast 5 different kind of fruits has to be there as part of offering to the sun God. Along with the other sweets which is to be distributed as a prasadam to known and unknowns who wish to get blessed from the God and chhati Maiya (she is known as the goddess of energy). Edited November 18 by singhvivek141 Gollum, Lord, raki05 and 1 other 3 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted November 18 Share Posted November 18 9 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Yup, mostly Bihar and East UP (Purvanchal region). It's actually it's a 4 day festival, started this time on 5th Nov. On 5th and 6th Nov I did waterless fasting and only ate once in the evening (only poori and a sweet kher). After eating on 6th Nov evening, whole night and the next day I.e. 7th it was a waterless fasting, On 7th Nov in the evening we burn a lamp and prayto the setting sun while standing in the river. Post sunset we have to ensure that the lamp doesn't get burn out till next sunrise, hence we need to keep on pouring ghee to the lamp whole night, basically I ended up sleepless. On 8th early morning before sunrise, we again need to enter the river, and then keep on praying the sun God till it rise. The four day fast ends when the Sun is out. It's a big festival here, the atleast 5 different kind of fruits has to be there as part of offering to the sun God. Along with the other sweets which is to be distributed as a prasadam to known and unknowns who wish to get blessed from the God and chhati Maiya (she is known as the goddess of energy). TFS, seems quite tough. I can’t even do intermittent fasting, but waterless! Impossible! Amazing such traditions are kept alive by Hindus for centuries. Jai Chhati Maiya raki05 and singhvivek141 2 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
singhvivek141 Posted November 18 Author Share Posted November 18 4 minutes ago, coffee_rules said: TFS, seems quite tough. I can’t even do intermittent fasting, but waterless! Impossible! Amazing such traditions are kept alive by Hindus for centuries. Jai Chhati Maiya It's indeed tough, even tougher when you've to do it in isolation. Though when you see hundreds of folks along with you praying together in the cold water. Somehow a you feel different amount of strength and endurance within yourself which helps navigate it through. Sad part is now even in my village police were patrolling coz some "samuday vishesh" folks tried to corrupt the festivities in a neighbouring village, and were comprehensively beaten and hospitalized by the Hindus. Hence police was on a high alert. raki05 and coffee_rules 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
coffee_rules Posted November 18 Share Posted November 18 10 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: It's indeed tough, even tougher when you've to do it in isolation. Though when you see hundreds of folks along with you praying together in the cold water. Somehow a you feel different amount of strength and endurance within yourself which helps navigate it through. Sad part is now even in my village police were patrolling coz some "samuday vishesh" folks tried to corrupt the festivities in a neighbouring village, and were comprehensively beaten and hospitalized by the Hindus. Hence police was on a high alert. It was so sad to see Hindus performing Chhath pooja in polluted foam of Yamuna in Delhi. I hope Kejriwal gets defeated in the 25 elections. Samuday vishesh can’t be helped , nowadays every Hindu festival and Shobha yatra is getting vandalized by them. Hindus congregating more and more will put an end to these patthar premis! singhvivek141 and raki05 1 1 Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...