Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 It's clear the pitches in the series are going to be spicy. We saw that in Aus A games, in Aus ODIs against Pak, and at Perth. Plus the next matches are at Gabba which is seam friendly, Day/Night Test at Adelaide where seamers get help, and MCG which is helping seamers these days. Keep one of Sundar or Jadeja as the spin bowling option and 5 pace options - Nitish + 4 pacers. Better to bring in Akash Deep or Shami as well in place of a batsman (preferably Kohli). It's not as if Kohli is gonna do much anyway. The extra pacer will score as many as Kohli does, will probably not drop sitters, and will allow us to manage the overs of our pacers better else we risk outbowling Bumrah. Better to play fire with fire instead of picking a batsman who's only good on paper.
Lord Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 We aren't even using 4th pacer and you are talking about 5 pacers. Most innings will be short so 3+ Nitish is fine. What we need is to beef up batting as much as possible. Remove deadwood like Paddikal,KL even if Kohli cant be dropped. Jurel and Sundar have best techniques so should be batting higher up the order. Norman, adi B, Laaloo and 1 other 4
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 1 minute ago, Lord said: We aren't even using 4th pacer and you are talking about 5 pacers. Most innings will be short so 3+ Nitish is fine. What we need is to beef up batting as much as possible. Remove deadwood like Paddikal,KL even if Kohli cant be dropped. Jurel and Sundar have best techniques so should be batting higher up the order. Nahin, we can't afford Bumrah to bowl 10+ overs a session. If we had another pacer, he would've bowled. Bumrah didn't risk Nitish as we had a lowish total on the board and didn't want to remove any pressure. It's not as if we have Tendulkars waiting on the sidelines. Get in one more pacer so we don't make it easy for Aus and the additional pacer will anyway add more value. No point sticking with a batsman just for the sake of it when you can get similar kind of performances with the bat from a bowler + wkts.
singhvivek141 Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 8 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: It's clear the pitches in the series are going to be spicy. We saw that in Aus A games, in Aus ODIs against Pak, and at Perth. Plus the next matches are at Gabba which is seam friendly, Day/Night Test at Adelaide where seamers get help, and MCG which is helping seamers these days. Keep one of Sundar or Jadeja as the spin bowling option and 5 pace options - Nitish + 4 pacers. Better to bring in Akash Deep or Shami as well in place of a batsman (preferably Kohli). It's not as if Kohli is gonna do much anyway. The extra pacer will score as many as Kohli does, will probably not drop sitters, and will allow us to manage the overs of our pacers better else we risk outbowling Bumrah. Better to play fire with fire instead of picking a batsman who's only good on paper. Bhai, kindly hold on your horses. We haven't won this test, we are just ahead at the moment, anything can happen tomorrow, all results are possible. We dont have many pace allrounders to begin with, if we had players like Kallis, Pollock, Brian McMillan...I would have agreed to play 5 proper pacers here. But we don't have that luxury. Prasidh, Bumrah, Siraj are non existent batters.....Harshit, Akash may tonk some runs but we can't expect them to give us runs consistently. Nitish is the only allrounder in pace dept at the moment. Our batters barely reached 150 despite batting Nitish at 8. Lord 1
Serpico Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Maybe if Hardik Pandya was available, we could have done that saransh 1
R!TTER Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 Let's wait how this test unfolds. The bigger issue is fat arse coming back to the side. With him plus BRat, we'll lose more tests than we'll win
Number Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 3 minutes ago, Lord said: We aren't even using 4th pacer and you are talking about 5 pacers. Most innings will be short so 3+ Nitish is fine. What we need is to beef up batting as much as possible. Remove deadwood like Paddikal,KL even if Kohli cant be dropped. Jurel and Sundar have best techniques so should be batting higher up the order. Agarkar and co. need to take a big call. Tell Kohli that he will be dropped midway series which will dent his reputation, so we give you an option to get niggled out here and we will give you a farewell series in India on flat tracks. Lord 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 4 minutes ago, singhvivek141 said: Bhai, kindly hold on your horses. We haven't won this test, we are just ahead at the moment, anything can happen tomorrow, all results are possible. We dont have many pace allrounders to begin with, if we had players like Kallis, Pollock, Brian McMillan...I would have agreed to play 5 proper pacers here. But we don't have that luxury. Prasidh, Bumrah, Siraj are non existent batters.....Harshit, Akash may tonk some runs but we can't expect them to give us runs consistently. Nitish is the only allrounder in pace dept at the moment. Our batters barely reached 150 despite batting Nitish at 8. Irrespective of what happens in the Test, we've to play 5 pacers. It's clear an additional pacer will add more value than an additional batsman. With Rohit coming in the next Test and with 2 walking wkts in the top 4, there'll be even more pressure on our bowlers. We'll need an extra pacer else we'll run Bumrah into the ground. He already bowled 10 overs in a single session yesterday. Get in Shami or Akash Deep as well so they can continue to maintain pressure with Nitish & Sundar to give them a breather. This is gonna be a low scoring series and it'll all come down to our fast bowlers. I would rather put this series in our pacers' hand than rely on has beens and other batters.
R!TTER Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 1 minute ago, Ultimate_Game said: we've to play 5 pacers. No way that goes unpunished, and do you have any good alternatives down the order? Who can bat & bowl?
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 5 minutes ago, Number said: Agarkar and co. need to take a big call. Tell Kohli that he will be dropped midway series which will dent his reputation, so we give you an option to get niggled out here and we will give you a farewell series in India on flat tracks. Agarkar is useless. Hopefully Rohit has a word with him and asks him to feign an injury for rest of the series and then he can have a farewell series in India against WI. At the moment India is fighting with one hand tied behind their back. It's even worse than playing with 10 players coz you'll still need to account for Kohli dropping sitters after a single digit score. His actual contribution is actually negative. That's why better to get someone like Akash Deep in. He'll probably score more and we'll have someone more competent in the slips.
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 Just now, R!TTER said: No way that goes unpunished, and do you have any good alternatives down the order? Who can bat & bowl? Every alternative is better than Kohli at the moment. Will score the same amount but won't drop sitters in the slips and will get wkts.
Lord Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 12 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Nahin, we can't afford Bumrah to bowl 10+ overs a session. If we had another pacer, he would've bowled. Bumrah didn't risk Nitish as we had a lowish total on the board and didn't want to remove any pressure. Bumrah bowled because he was on top. Could have bowled NKR else. 12 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: It's not as if we have Tendulkars waiting on the sidelines. Get in one more pacer so we don't make it easy for Aus and the additional pacer will anyway add more value. No point sticking with a batsman just for the sake of it when you can get similar kind of performances with the bat from a bowler + wkts. Additional pacer won't bowl much. Even 4th pacer won't bowl until a partnership develops.What value will 5th pacer add. We still have likes of Sarfaraz, Easwaran and Jaddu who can come in for non performing batsmen.
R!TTER Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 I don't see Kohli dropped and RGS being picked; heck, his batting is even worse these days! So unless there's a clear understanding of how they overcome these two duds, I'd say both will play.
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 1 minute ago, Lord said: Bumrah bowled because he was on top. Could have bowled NKR else. Additional pacer won't bowl much. Even 4th pacer won't bowl until a partnership develops.What value will 5th pacer add. We still have likes of Sarfaraz, Easwaran and Jaddu who can come in for non performing batsmen. If we get similar pitches let's play fire with fire. Let us make life uncomfortable for Aussies and don't give them any respite. Akash Deep will give us that control and if we get Shami back, we get another genuine wkt taker! Much better than a batsman who'll average just a tad more than a specialist bowler anyway.
saransh Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 If we had a Pandya type player then yes I would agree. This series will be decided by whose lower order batsman better! Both teams have good fast bowling and **** to order. The better lower middle order will decided the series fate express bowling 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 1 minute ago, saransh said: If we had a Pandya type player then yes I would agree. This series will be decided by whose lower order batsman better! Both teams have good fast bowling and **** to order. The better lower middle order will decided the series fate The problem is that Travis Head, Smith and Labuschage will fire at some time and will put up a score. But likes of Kohli won't. So may as well bolster our pace bowling further and make it even more difficult for Aussie batsmen and minimize the chance that they fire. Our only hope is our fast bowling so may as well back them fully. I've no hope from our batting so may as well live and die by the sword - our pace bowling.
R!TTER Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 (edited) 8 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: But likes of Kohli won't. Then just ask him to stay at the wicket. Do a pujara and take body blows and take blows on your b**** unless you want to make more kids of course Edited November 22, 2024 by R!TTER
Number Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 9 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said: Agarkar is useless. Hopefully Rohit has a word with him and asks him to feign an injury for rest of the series and then he can have a farewell series in India against WI. At the moment India is fighting with one hand tied behind their back. It's even worse than playing with 10 players coz you'll still need to account for Kohli dropping sitters after a single digit score. His actual contribution is actually negative. That's why better to get someone like Akash Deep in. He'll probably score more and we'll have someone more competent in the slips. Rohit, Gambhir and Agarkar need to have a talk. Tell him that the kind of rut he is in, there is no coming back from it. He is not just damaging team's cause but his own reputation, average as well so it is better to go away now than retiring with average below 45 and reputation of a mid level batsman.
Number Posted November 22, 2024 Posted November 22, 2024 15 minutes ago, R!TTER said: I don't see Kohli dropped and RGS being picked; heck, his batting is even worse these days! So unless there's a clear understanding of how they overcome these two duds, I'd say both will play. KLR isn't great but he still did much better than what Rohit could have done here in my wildest dreams. Once both Rohit and Kohli are in the lineup that will make 2 walking wickets in top 4. Puts the whole batting line up under pressure. So Gambhir needs to pick his phone and ring Jay Shah, that I can only allow one of them in the XI. Ultimate_Game 1
Ultimate_Game Posted November 22, 2024 Author Posted November 22, 2024 2 minutes ago, Number said: Rohit, Gambhir and Agarkar need to have a talk. Tell him that the kind of rut he is in, there is no coming back from it. He is not just damaging team's cause but his own reputation, average as well so it is better to go away now than retiring with average below 45 and reputation of a mid level batsman. We've a great chance this series as this is probably Bumrah's last Aus tour. The best chance we have is if Kohli runs away just like he did the last series or someone actually has the balls to drop him. Else we'll end up losing the series. No matter how great your bowling, you can't win with a tailender batting at 4. Plus you've to account for a couple of drops as well on top of that.