India announced ODI squad for the England series

Jaiswal has played 6 ODIs and scored 285 runs with 2 100s with an average of 71+ and a SR of 98! He's the best batter in the team and yet this is how he has been treated while carrying 40 year olds!

No other team (barring Pak) will ever treat their future star this way. Oh by the way Gambhir's love-child Sundar is in the squad as well. Here I was hoping that selectors may surprise us and include Sooryavanshi as well and find out that Jaiswal's dropped after making an unbeaten 100 :facepalm:

14 minutes ago, Gollum said:

Sundar is there why? For his blazing 15(22) in death overs, his 4 wicketless overs at 7 rpo per match, his sloth like fielding? Kis quota mein khel raha hai yeh banda. 

Replacement for Shri Shri Ravindra Jadeja ji :((

2 hours ago, Sooda said:

They have Kishan who does both open the batting and back up keeper. They don't need Jaiswal and can pick an extra paceman instead. It makes sense. Unfortunately for Jaiswal 

Dropped Vada pav and Virat.  They are going to be failed in World Cup 

7 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

We have a superior version in Axar. And I am sure even Krunal will do better than this malnourished guy. 

7 minutes ago, Gollum said:

We have a superior version in Axar. And I am sure even Krunal will do better than this malnourished guy. 

Apparently Gambhir doesn't like Axar anymore and there's bad blood between the two. And yup, Krunal is the closest we have to Axar, not Sundar.

18 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Jaiswal has played 6 ODIs and scored 285 runs with 2 100s with an average of 71+ and a SR of 98! He's the best batter in the team and yet this is how he has been treated while carrying 40 year olds!

No other team (barring Pak) will ever treat their future star this way. Oh by the way Gambhir's love-child Sundar is in the squad as well. Here I was hoping that selectors may surprise us and include Sooryavanshi as well and find out that Jaiswal's dropped after making an unbeaten 100 :facepalm:

Vaibhav has no chance now... They will see how he plays in T20 cricket first up.

Wild card pick for 2027 WC if all goes to plan.

Would like to see him in a Asia Cup type setting firstly next year

3 minutes ago, Lone Wolf said:

Vaibhav has no chance now... They will see how he plays in T20 cricket first up.

Wild card pick for 2027 WC if all goes to plan.

Would like to see him in a Asia Cup type setting firstly next year

There's nobody in world cricket with so much upside and potential than Sooryavanshi. If I were the selector I would be thinking of how to get Sooryavanshi into the squad and here we have our bozos kicking out Jaiswal as well. How difficult is it to drop Rahul in favor of Ishan and get Sooryavanshi in, and drop fatso Rohit to fit in Jaiswal?

At least make some bold calls coz this team will reach SF max and then lose just like this core team has done. Unless we move away from Rohit, Kohli and KL, nothing will change. Plus you have to factor in Kohli's drops as well compared to someone like Ishan grabbing everything.

50 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Hes even worse. Axar should be the main guy and youngsters like Brar/Suthar can be tried

58 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Heck.  Sundar is worse choice than over the hill Jadeja.. same batting limitations for both but Jaddu still bowls regularly and fantastic in the field.

We drop someone to get another better. But we are going backward. 

We dont need either of them. Keep them for Test matches. Thats where they belong.

3 minutes ago, cricspirit said:

Heck.  Sundar is worse choice than over the hill Jadeja.. same batting limitations for both but Jaddu still bowls regularly and fantastic in the field.

We drop someone to get another better. But we are going backward. 

We dont need either of them. Keep them for Test matches. Thats where they belong.

They're Test players and being forced in shorter formats. If they really want someone who can backup Axar, it should be Krunal. He's the like for like replacement for Axar and not Sundar.

12 minutes ago, Lord said:

Hes even worse. Axar should be the main guy and youngsters like Brar/Suthar can be tried

Not Brar. Krunal is much better. In the shorter term I would back Krunal and then go with Harsh Dubey, Suthar, Parag or Vipraj in the longer run.

11 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

Not Brar. Krunal is much better. In the shorter term I would back Krunal and then go with Harsh Dubey, Suthar, Parag or Vipraj in the longer run.

Krunal is okay in T20 only.

He is also not a big hitter and poor in fielding. We need to back youngsters more

2 minutes ago, Lord said:

Krunal is okay in T20 only.

He is also not a big hitter and poor in fielding. We need to back youngsters more

He's still better than Sundar and can bat aggressively. It's just that he's pushed up the order to stop a collapse when early wkts fall. And he isn't a bad fielder either. Much better than Sundar in both counts while being a much better bowler. I'm looking in short term and Krunal is the best option for that. In the longer run, Suthar, Harsh Dubey, Parag, Vipraj etc. can come in but for right now, Krunal is the best we've got and not Sundar.

But our bigger problems are with batting with 40 year olds taking up the prime spots and selectors not doing their job. When someone like Jaiswal is dropped after scoring an unbeaten 100 and averaging 71, it shows all that's wrong with our selection.

24 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

He's still better than Sundar and can bat aggressively. It's just that he's pushed up the order to stop a collapse when early wkts fall. And he isn't a bad fielder either. Much better than Sundar in both counts while being a much better bowler. I'm looking in short term and Krunal is the best option for that. In the longer run, Suthar, Harsh Dubey, Parag, Vipraj etc. can come in but for right now, Krunal is the best we've got and not Sundar.

But our bigger problems are with batting with 40 year olds taking up the prime spots and selectors not doing their job. When someone like Jaiswal is dropped after scoring an unbeaten 100 and averaging 71, it shows all that's wrong with our selection.

Being better than Sundar is lowest benchmark. I am comparing him to younger options.  

With WC being in SA. I can’t see how he will be effective. 

6 minutes ago, Lord said:

Being better than Sundar is lowest benchmark. I am comparing him to younger options.  

With WC being in SA. I can’t see how he will be effective. 

He'll be effective just like Axar. He doesn't rely on spin and bowls fastish deliveries to keep batters pinned in the crease. Will be helpful as he doesn't depend on conditions like traditional spinners such as Kuldeep.

49 minutes ago, Ultimate_Game said:

He'll be effective just like Axar. He doesn't rely on spin and bowls fastish deliveries to keep batters pinned in the crease. Will be helpful as he doesn't depend on conditions like traditional spinners such as Kuldeep.

He is a defensive bowler who relies on gimmicky tricks. That works in T20s but can be milked easily in ODIs