BacktoCricaddict Posted August 7 Posted August 7 (edited) 17 minutes ago, Lord said: Google is an extreme example. Could one life have been saved if a meritorious doctor performed the surgery instead of someone getting very low marks? If yes, is giving the seat to that candidate for representation worth sacrificing that life? We might not have become Amrika but maybe we would retained a lot of talent if we valued it and be in progress We are, of course, operating under the assumption that test-taking excellence is a strong predictor of competency as a healthcare provider. Is this really the case for the entire range of test scores? Or is there a minimum threshold test-score above which test performance doesn't really predict competency? Edited August 7 by BacktoCricaddict
kepler37b Posted August 7 Posted August 7 On 8/4/2026 at 9:27 PM, randomGuy said: National Survey Estimates 1. Pew Research Center (India Survey, 2021) According to Pew's nationwide survey of nearly 30,000 Indian adults, the caste distribution among Hindus mirrors the national average: General Category / Forward Castes: ~27% to 30% Brahmins: ~4% Other Upper / General Castes (Rajput, Kshatriya, Vaishya/Bania, Kayastha, Khatri, etc.): ~23%–26% Other Backward Classes (OBC): ~35% to 43% Scheduled Castes (SC / Dalits): ~22% to 25% Scheduled Tribes (ST / Adivasis): ~9% 2. NSSO & National Family Health Survey (NFHS) Data Data from the National Sample Survey Office (NSSO) and socioeconomic analyses project the overall General Category population (all religions) at 24% to 30.8%. When filtered specifically for the Hindu population, the upper/general caste proportion is generally estimated at 25% to 28%. ^^ this is from hindu population.. If Hindu UC are 25% of Hindu population, it is equivalent to 20% of overall Indian population. This caste reservation issue should not go beyond a point. Otherwise, enemies of Sanatan and enemies of India will totally exploit. Ajeet Bharti, dixit and all their listeners should realise. Many GC's and OBC's want to identify themselves as "lower" for benefits. For example vellalars, that own lot's of land and factories, from which Vijay Joseph comes, identify themselves as BC's.
BacktoCricaddict Posted August 7 Posted August 7 11 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Many GC's and OBC's want to identify themselves as "lower" for benefits. For example vellalars, that own lot's of land and factories, from which Vijay Joseph comes, identify themselves as BC's. This encapsulates the entire issue. It's not that there are reservations. It's how it is being misused.
randomGuy Posted August 7 Posted August 7 8 minutes ago, kepler37b said: Many GC's and OBC's want to identify themselves as "lower" for benefits. For example vellalars, that own lot's of land and factories, from which Vijay Joseph comes, identify themselves as BC's. I don't think there is more affluent and strong community in India as jats in Delhi and they are classified as OBCs in Delhi (In Haryana as GCs). at the end of the day, these are not as big a issue to create problems for so-called hindutva govt. which we need as a bare minimum(compare it with alternatives), in these demographically dangerous times with foreign agencies, Islamist neighbours, dangerous technologies being used against Hindus.
Lord Posted August 7 Posted August 7 26 minutes ago, BacktoCricaddict said: We are, of course, operating under the assumption that test-taking excellence is a strong predictor of competency as a healthcare provider. Is this really the case for the entire range of test scores? Or is there a minimum threshold test-score above which test performance doesn't really predict competency? I am talking about setting a minimum threshold too which can’t be too far from the last general candidate’s score. Current even negative marks are working BacktoCricaddict 1
randomGuy Posted August 7 Posted August 7 37 minutes ago, Lord said: Google is an extreme example. Could one life have been saved if a meritorious doctor performed the surgery instead of someone getting very low marks? If yes, is giving the seat to that candidate for representation worth sacrificing that life? We might not have become Amrika but maybe we would retained a lot of talent if we valued it and be in progress Bhai I am yet to delve into doctors numbers but 50% CS/IT/ECE engineer freshers in India can't find jobs. Every company IndianIT/GCC/BPO screens candidate with written test, interviews etc. So, an engineering degree obtained through quota can't simply gift you a job. You have to study hard to get the degree and then to get a job and then to sustain in the job. Quota is largely nullified. India has decent healthcare. Jan-aushadhi kendra, ayushman Bharat. As for surgery, You take second opinion, you ask for reviews, you read reviews on practo. Since I don't know about medical field , I put your question to AI, it feels to the contrary - "There is no empirical evidence or scientific data indicating that doctors admitted through caste-based reservations (quotas) cause higher patient mortality or deliver inferior medical outcomes. Standardized Graduation and Licensing Requirements Reservation in India applies strictly to admission cutoffs into medical institutions, not to graduation requirements or clinical standards. Uniform Testing: Every medical student—regardless of admission category—must fulfill identical coursework, clinical training, rotations, and pass the exact same professional examinations set by the National Medical Commission (NMC). No Exit Quotas: Licensing and graduation standards are uniform. A student who does not meet the minimum required marks or clinical competency in internal examinations cannot pass or practice medicine. Socioeconomic Background vs. Entrance Cutoffs Critics of reservation often point to lower qualifying score thresholds for reserved categories in competitive entrance exams like NEET. However, educational research emphasizes key distinctions between entrance testing and clinical performance: Access to Resources: Entrance exam scores strongly correlate with socioeconomic status, urban location, and access to expensive private coaching, rather than raw aptitude or future bedside skill. Academic Catch-Up: Studies on affirmative action in medical education (both in India and internationally) demonstrate that initial gaps in test scores tend to narrow or disappear as students progress through standardized medical school curricula. Impact on Public Health Access Research in public health shows that expanding access to underrepresented communities often improves broader health outcomes: Serving Underserved Populations: Doctors from marginalized social or rural backgrounds are statistically more likely to return to or work in primary health centers, rural districts, and medically underserved areas where doctor shortages are most acute. Reducing Disparities: Caste-based and socio-cultural discrimination in healthcare settings frequently deters marginalized groups from seeking timely medical care. Greater diversity within the medical workforce improves trust, patient communication, and healthcare utilization among disadvantaged populations."
BacktoCricaddict Posted August 7 Posted August 7 56 minutes ago, Lord said: I am talking about setting a minimum threshold too which can’t be too far from the last general candidate’s score. Current even negative marks are working That is sad. My lens is that of an advisor for premedical students in the US who must take the MCAT. Detailed studies show that, beyond a certain point (~ 60th percentile), MCAT scores don't predict success in medical school, getting residencies etc. So, someone who is in the 60th percentile is just as likely to do well as someone in the 95th percentile. Below the 60th percentile, there is a perceptible drop in success rates. Beyond all of that is the soft-skills / compassionate side of medicine. No test score can predict that. Lord 1
Lord Posted August 7 Posted August 7 1 hour ago, BacktoCricaddict said: That is sad. H My lens is that of an advisor for premedical students in the US who must take the MCAT. Detailed studies show that, beyond a certain point (~ 60th percentile), MCAT scores don't predict success in medical school, getting residencies etc. So, someone who is in the 60th percentile is just as likely to do well as someone in the 95th percentile. Below the 60th percentile, there is a perceptible drop in success rates. Beyond all of that is the soft-skills / compassionate side of medicine. No test score can predict that. Just for reference
BacktoCricaddict Posted August 7 Posted August 7 5 minutes ago, Lord said: Just for reference It's very concerning at the MBBS --> MS level. Because by that point, the test should consist of field-specific questions and, if by then they have not proven themselves ... Lord 1
Lord Posted August 8 Posted August 8 12 hours ago, coffee_rules said: Everybody is talking to JanG these days, even 77 year-old to young . Rahul Gandhi Mohan Bhagwat says people should give up creamy layer by themselves. What a joke. most will not even return extra money they get from the bank by mistake. Remember those days? coffee_rules and bsriharsha 2
coffee_rules Posted August 26 Posted August 26 Manu smriti mandir ka ghanta hain.. har koi bajaraha hain kal aaj aur kal Lord 1