Rajiv Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 I know no one gives *** but this is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cheti_Chand close to the other masak guddi guddi festivals B->
flamy Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 LOL! A Sindhi New Year! (sneakin in a day after the telugu, kannada and marathi new years) Happy Chetichand :D
Rajiv Posted March 28, 2009 Author Posted March 28, 2009 Mohenjo Daro came b4 all other shady communities ( predz mode ON )
Rajiv Posted March 28, 2009 Author Posted March 28, 2009 cmon peeps, I see other folks celebrating medu vada, vada pav festival? and the rest celebraing for no reasons..half indians? what a fail, so sad
cochise Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 Happy Chetichand to all Sindhis, Mohenjodaroites and Harrapites!
Sachinism Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 Cheti Chand is celebrated as New Year's Day by Sindhis, According to the Hindu calendar, Cheti Chand is celebrated on the second day of the Chaitra month known as Chet in Sindhi. Hence it is known as CHET-I-CHAND. It is the second day of month chaitra (i.e. a day after Ugadi and Gudi Padwa). The Sindhi community celebrates the festival of Cheti Chand in honour of the birth of Ishtadeva Uderolal, popularly known as Jhulelal, the Patron Saint of the Sindhis. This day is considered to be very auspicious and is celebrated with pompous and gaiety. On this day, people worship water – the elixir of life. Followers of Jhulelal observe Chaliho Sahab. It suggests that for forty long days and nights they underwent rituals and vigil on the bank of Sindhu. They did not shave, nor did they wear new clothes or shoes. They did not use soap or oil or any opulent thing. They just washed their clothes, dried them and wore them again. In the evening, they worshipped God Varun, sang songs in his praise and prayed for their solace and salvation. After 40 days of Chaaliho, the followers of Jhulelal celebrate the occasion with festivity as 'Thanks Giving Day' even till today. On this day, many Sindhis take Baharana Sahib to a nearby river or lake. Baharana Sahib consists of Jyot (Oil Lamp), Misiri (Crystal Sugar), Phota (Cardamom), Fal (Fruits), and Akha. Behind is Kalsh (Water jar) and a Nariyal (Coconut) in it, covered with cloth, phool (flowers) and patta (leaves). There is also a Murti (Idol) of Pujya Jhulelal Devta. hmmmmm
punjabi_khota Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 [ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3L-ISmiMfU]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=k3L-ISmiMfU[/ame]
punjabi_khota Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 cmon peeps' date=' I see other folks celebrating[b'] medu vada, vada pav festival? and the rest celebraing for no reasons..half indians? what a fail, so sad :hysterical::hysterical::hysterical:B->B->
nikred Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 Happy Chetichand to all Sindhis' date=' Mohenjodaroites and Harrapites![/quote'] :haha::haha::haha: Happy chetichand and Happy a-day-after-Ugadi too.
nikred Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 hmmm ......chetichand I need to wish my poor sindhi friend I am sure he will be pleasantly surprised.:icflove:
Rajiv Posted March 28, 2009 Author Posted March 28, 2009 :haha: kya yaar..jabhi time pass karne ka tha, koi aaya bhi nahin
fineleg Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 Happy Chetichand (first time I hear about this chetichand)
varun Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 hmmmmm :haha: I support any festival that worships moi :yay: Happy Chetichandanani
Shane Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 Forgive me for my lack of awareness regarding this festival Happy Chetichand to all the Sindhis from the Sindhi Society, Chembur and yaa to you too Rajeev Bhau :winky:
fineleg Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 :haha: I support any festival that worships moi :yay: Happy Chetichandanani :D Is it true that most of the -ani's are Sindhis??...I have a sindhi friend from school who's last name is Shahani. I wonder if it's Rajiv Shahani also? :)
nikred Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 :D Is it true that most of the -ani's are Sindhis??...I have a sindhi friend from school who's last name is Shahani. I wonder if it's Rajiv Shahani also? :) Never realised that......hmmm my friends last name is Gurunani.:D
fineleg Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 ^ yes, i dont think it always works. I know a gujju friend Sangani.
nikred Posted March 28, 2009 Posted March 28, 2009 ^ yes' date=' i dont think it always works. I know a [b']gujju friend Sangani. But then again I have another sindhi friend whose last name is Sachdev.